Living color

I live in a house painted red with a wife shaded brown.

The living room is canary yellow aside from the part that’s painted blue.

The house painted red and the grass, which is green five months and brown for seven, are surrounded by a brick wall painted orange.

My hair is white, and I’m rarely blue. How could one be blue in a house painted red and a wife shaded brown? With black tresses no less.

The sky is blue, however. It’s blue for seven months for sure, and sometimes in the remaining five. If not, it’s gray due to rain, which is what makes the grass green for five months.

The rock sidewalk that curves through summer’s green grass is black. The flowers are yellow and scarlet, for the most part.

The neighbor’s apples that fall over the wall are red.

The butterflies come in many colors, and the hummingbirds shimmer. Our peaches are peach, our oranges are orange, and our pears are green like the damp grass in summertime.

The mountains are green for much of the year and when not, it’s not their fault. It’s lack of rain in Springtime, a season associated with green, but not in these parts, pardner.

Best of all is my wife shaded brown.  Heart-healthy, like chocolate.

12 thoughts on “Living color

  1. Dipping a toe back into the familiarity of Mexico, are we? The new blog has a writing style similar to that of Lee Child and his Reacher series. Good stuff.

    • Masked One: Thanks for the “good stuff.” As for dipping my toes back here, I will do that on occasion, but all the identifying marks of the old website will not reappear. I won’t even mention Mexico. (I hope that remark does not come back to bite me.)

      Two items below (You are my splendor and Water music) dealt directly with my life, too.

      • Most of them live in Honduras, so they need no papers. They know a little English and I know a little Spanish, so we communicate enough to get by on the rare occasions that we get to visit. I doubt any of them could read what either you or I write.

        Most of the ones who live here do not have their papers in order. Many are leaving Alabama because of the law that was passed, but they aren’t leaving the U.S.–they will simply go to Mississippi, Tennessee, or another adjacent state to work. That’s because they know the U.S. government has no intentions of enforcing its own laws. The U.S. government would rather spend time and tax dollars suing a state that passes a law that does just that.

        A bad policy for both groups.

        By the way, the Alabama law exempts “domestic help” and “yard workers.” Can’t have those Republicans getting caught with their pants down.

        • Ray: Alas, even my wife cannot read what you and I write in English.

          Regarding the Alabama law, and its exemption of maids and gardeners … incredible. Didn’t know that.

Comments are closed.