Vernal equinox

To mark the first day of Spring, we considered dressing in organic white cotton, placing pink petunias in our plaited hair and prancing like randy goats in the grass.   But we did not.

We did what we almost always do on weekday mornings.  We finished our coffee and muffins, then took an exercise walk, 30 minutes through the neighborhood.

Doing that early enough provides a bonus. We get to watch the aproned mamas walking their uniformed children to the school on the highway.

On returning home, we sit here on the terraza in rockers.  My child bride rips a grapefruit to shreds and downs it while I more delicately eat what’s available, often grapes.  And we look through this brick archway, feeling fine.

Another winter survived.

18 thoughts on “Vernal equinox”

  1. We had an all-night thunderstorm last night. Cooler this morning, too. In the 50s and high only in the 60s. One last hurrah for the cool air in South Texas before the life-sucking heat and humidity 🙂

    Like

    1. Carole: Move up here to the mountaintop. I have a very nice, furnished townhouse I’ll rent to you for an exceptional price. We never have life-sucking heat and humidity, though it does get a little yucky in April and May in the evenings.

      Like

      1. Very tempting. Very tempting. Definitely will keep that in mind. We will lighten our load by unloading a cottage in Canada come next year. We’ll miss it but when the time is right a rational decision is the only way.

        Like

    1. Babs: I’m here to please. Actually, this post is purely about the photo. The words are just filler. I used a setting on my camera that I’d never used before, and it came out well, if I do say so myself.

      Like

  2. We had 8″ of snow over the weekend. First real winter weather we’ve had this year, so I can’t complain too much. Stayed home and kept the fireplace going.
    Love the picture, warmed up my morning.

    Like

    1. Jackie: Yipes! Snow. I have never lived in snow in my life, and it seems I never will. There are both good and bad aspects to snow, I have heard. I have seen snow. I just have never lived in it.

      One of the best things about living here on this mountaintop is that it never snows. It never gets real hot or real, real cold. There are no hurricanes ever, no tsunamis, no tornadoes, no floods. It is very nice always if you don’t count the occasional shake of the earth, but even the quakes historically are pretty low-key in my area, just enough to stir the blood. Knock on wood.

      Like

      1. So did you feel the quake at noon today? F called immediately and said it was very long and intense.

        Hope y’all are OK.

        Saludos,

        Kim G
        Boston, MA
        Where it is an uncharacteristically warm, pleasant spring day that even hit 70-something this afternoon.

        Like

        1. Kim: Didn’t feel the quake at all. Didn’t even know about it till three hours later at my dentist’s office down the mountain in the state capital. She said it was quite strong there.

          Like

    1. Steve: My little camera, a Kodak EasyShare, which set me back $80 (Gringo bucks), ain’t nothing like your high-tech equipment, but it makes fine photos for the internet which is 99.99 percent of what I want. I simply switched to the setting it said to use when the light source is behind the target, which it was. Never had used that setting before.

      Like

  3. Nice mixture of cacti and what looks like some succulents — makes a nice photo composition. Playing with different camera filter/settings is a great pastime — never know what they will bring.

    A relaxing walk and a breakfast in your scenic setting with your child bride, a wonderful way to start the day!

    Like

Comments are closed.