The stinking rose

If you were with me right now, taking this photo with my Kodak EasyShare, you’d swear you were standing next to a stinky, Italian fishwife. Lordy, the reek of garlic.

My lovely wife bakes this — and scads of other things that invariably turn out fantastic. She uses no modern equipment, unless you count the black stove.

With no formal training, she began baking a few years back, and the results are all home runs.  Some folks say bread is difficult to make, but she has no problems with it.

She makes other breads and pastries too. Especially tasty are the banana breads and little pecan pies.

Our evening meal is always a big salad, which I make. When it’s available, I warm up a slice of garlic bread too. When we hit the sack later, we smell bad — but we’re smiling.

19 thoughts on “The stinking rose”

  1. “Bad smell” and “garlic” simply are words that do not go together. I was at breakfast yesterday when the dining room filled with the aroma of frying garlic. It was the perfume of ambrosia.

    Like

    1. Steve: There are two ways to smell garlic. One is very good, and one is very foul. One comes from a frying pan or other cooking surface. The other comes up from the gut.

      Like

  2. Yum, freshly baked garlic bread. I just had some to dip in the mussels fra diavlo sauce. The combination of those two smells, not good. But the taste is heavenly.
    When I remember I will chew a few sprigs of parsley afterwards, it helps — somewhat.

    Like

  3. My compliments to la Señora Zapata! She is a gem.

    I just made a dozen onion-poppy seed Kaiser rolls, and we just had to eat one each before they totally cooled. Just great!

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

  4. Well, OK, now that I’ve read your post the title makes sense. I just saw the picture of the bread and thought you were going to comment on the huge, stinky flower that is in bloom at some botanical setup.

    Like

  5. I love to make bread especially when it’s cold outside. It took a few failures before I finally got it right, but the ravens loved all my failures so it didn’t go to waste.

    Like

  6. Stinking Rose. Thank you, I have learned something new today!
    The Lady Z’s bread is so appetizing, a work of art!

    The last time I had fresh bread in Mexico was in Ojinaga, Chihuahua five years ago. Hot out of the oven from the little bakery. Went across the street to the tienda and bought a stick of pure butter, sat on the curb with my Dad and a friend and ate two loaves between us!

    Like

      1. I guess if the bread would have been laced with garlic we would have been stinkbait. As it was just plain bread we were doughbait! Wonder which would catch a catfish the quickest?

        Like

  7. Regardless of smell and/or source of that smell, garlic should be included in the basic food group as a fundamental to all gastric delights. Not to mention (but I am) the beneficial health benefits. Has your lovely wife been successful in finding appropriate flour for her bread?

    Like

    1. Larry: You are quite correct about the taste and health qualities of the stinking rose. Does my wife have trouble finding the appropriate flour? Sure. How not? It’s just plain flour.

      Like

Comments are closed.