What water does

Or to be more specific: What the summer rain does.

1. It gives you a menu of two mornings. Sunshine or gray. Since sunshine is guaranteed seven months of the year, the part-time, summer-gray option is good. It casts misty fog over the mountains, and that’s a fine feel.

2. It’s cooling. Summer mornings are somewhere in the 50s. I remember some of these mornings, some years, in which I saw my exhaled breath, a rare gift.

3. It makes the grass grow, which must be mowed. It makes all the garden grow, which must be tended to. This is a mixed blessing. It looks good, but it’s toil.

There is no ideal world, no heaven on earth, no Nirvana on tierra firma.

4. It inspires mosquitoes. No need to elaborate.

5. It’s evocative, and encourages one to put the stereo in repeat mode while playing Peter Kater and Nawang Khechog’s Dance of the Innocents.

* * * *

(Note: The photo was taken in Ecuador, not here.)

14 thoughts on “What water does”

  1. One of my fondest childhood memories is after it rained I put on my red boots, to puposely run and stomp in the puddles.
    Now it’s my favorite time to garden, it’s still misty, everything has such an earthy, fresh smell. And all the birds seem to appear and sing a melody. The pleasures only nature can encourage.

    Whenever I hear the unique sound of a flute playing, it reminds me of Ecuador. The Amazon river with its clear, rapid waters, the rain forest’s sounds, joined by its loyal mistiness, and the panoramic view of the Andes snowcapped mountains against a deep blue sky.
    The pleasures only nature can gift us.

    Like

      1. The Amazon River is awesome and even more so when in the rain forests. Never experienced something so extraordinary. I highly recommend.

        Like

    1. Steve: The creek in question is far, far better than some years ago when the city slaughterhouse dumped its leftovers directly into the water. Jesus, the smell. The slaughterhouse is gone now, dunno to where.

      Like

  2. Thursday we picked up some gringas at the airport. On the way to their hotel, Tlaloc let loose with one of his more impressive performances, flooding the streets to a depth of 4 inches in a matter of minutes. All of this topped with a spectacular display of thunder and lightening.

    It is indeed rainy season.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    DF, Mexico
    Where we fear leaving the umbrella at home.

    Like

    1. Don Cuevas: Didn’t know it did. If it was anything more than a little intrusion, let me know. There is a totally ad-free package. I just have never bothered with it. By the way, it was you, I believe, who saw an ad about a year ago on my previous WordPress theme, was it not?

      Like

Comments are closed.