Black, gold and green

I bought a black hat the other day, and it gives me a certain air. I’ve always been a white-hat sort of fellow, the good guy, but I’ve flipped to the seamy side now.

And I’m giving some thought to a gold tooth. The inspiration came from Don Luis, a car-wash guy down on the plaza.

He has a gold tooth, a mustache and a wicked smile. He also leaves your car like new, but that’s a different topic, not appropriate for today.

My black hat is a fine Mexican brand, Tardan, felt not straw, but it’s made in Ecuador, says the label.* The size is large because I have a big head. I’ve often noticed, you might be saying.

So, I’m thinking black hat, gold tooth, what more do I need? A tattoo to complete the ensemble? No problem. I already have a tattoo.

It’s a green snake wrapped around a skull on my left forearm for the last 40 years. So I’m all set except for the gold tooth, which merits additional thought.

A gold tooth, which I would install over to the side in a subtle way, is not something you want to rush into.

If only my beard were still bushy and black as it once was instead of trim and white as it is today.

It’s good to look formidable.

* * * *

* Outsourcing! And I thought only evil white people did that.

26 thoughts on “Black, gold and green”

    1. You saying, Norm, that the hat, the gold tooth and the tattoo ain’t gonna be enough? Drat. I was in Orleans Parish Prison overnight once. Maybe I should bring that up.

      Like

      1. Lip stick on a pig, dressing up will only get one killed. Formidable starts with the willingness to go and not caring a whit about what comes next. A rare thing.

        Like

  1. I opt for a fine looking pipe, in place of the gold tooth, and it never has to be lit. Wearing the black felt hat and a rolled up, sleeved shirt, to show off the snake tattoo, you would have the appearance of the bad guy, in a classy way.

    Like

  2. Sheesh! Next a pocket watch on a chain, complemented with a proper zoot suit. Going retro mi amigo? Next stop – second childhood? I do not think so as you are a man of the World – and should (as is your wont) take giant strides – versus mincing – through it!
    Dan in NC

    Like

  3. Something interesting flashed into my feeble head here a day after writing the post. The Mexican company, Tardan, that makes my new hat outsources! I have added a note to that effect at the bottom of the post.

    Just like American companies that send manufacturing overseas because it’s cheaper, Tardan does the same thing, having at least some of its hats made in Ecuador where, one imagines, it finds even cheaper labor than is available in Mexico.

    Like

  4. Maybe you should get a long black cape, and by also showing the tattoo you can sally forth as a DeathEater.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    DF, Mexico
    Wondering where you can find a Mexican Voldemort.

    Like

    1. Kim: Having never seen a Harry Potter movie nor read one of the books, I had no idea what a Death Eater is. I Googled it. Now I know. Thanks for raising my level of popular culture.

      I have yet to look up Voldemort, however.

      But I’ll be passing on the cape. Not the look I’m looking for.

      Like

      1. Harry Potter taught me Spanish! Seriously. Having read the series in English, I decided to tackle the first few books in Spanish. To that (and a lot of practice) I attribute my current fluency. (Which by the way is WAY better than when you met me in ’07.)

        Never underestimate the power of popular culture.

        Saludos,

        Kim G

        Like

  5. The spansh translation, almohada hablar, just doesn’t do it justice… But a good idea for a book — pillow talk in Spanish.

    Like

    1. Andean: As I imagine you know, lots of expressions cannot make the leap from one language to another. You just have to think of the sense of it, the concept, and say it in another way.

      I have learned over the past decade that language is a very tricky thing. People actually think differently in different languages. It’s not just a matter of substituting words. I imagine you know that too.

      Language differences cause many of the misunderstandings between cultures and nations.

      Like

  6. With my siblings, when in a conversation, we sometimes switch from one language to another, all depending on topic, or how we want to express what we are saying. We are always surprised when someone thinks we may be doing it purposely, and we are, but not for the purpose they assume. And it’s never easy to explain.

    It’s nice to hear you understand all that.

    Like

Comments are closed.