Hillbilly at peace

It’s a stunningly lovely day here, so I’m doing something I don’t do as often as I once did: Lying in the hammock with a good Kindle book.

We hear parts of the United States are searing and dry. But here on the mountaintop far below the Rio Bravo it is cool and soothingly moist, like a baby’s fresh butt wipe. Not moist now, however, as you can see from the scattered clouds and blue sky.

I just swept the terraza’s ceramic tile floor, and it likely will rain later today.

Life remains sweet, and I survived the feedback from yesterday’s post on blacks and Indians in my characteristically good-natured way, and most of the feedback was polite too, which is what makes The Moon one of your lovelier online locations.

Putting racial and ethnic hubbub aside, I’m swinging here with a superlative first novel, The Perfect Assassin, by a guy named Ward Larsen.

I am at peace, the Perfect Hillbilly.

12 thoughts on “Hillbilly at peace”

  1. You have QUITE the good life Señor! Disfrutalo — you deserve it!! I am currently at work under fluorescent lighting looking at a computer terminal 8 hrs a day, BUT it is air-conditioned! 😉

    Like

  2. OK, your comment, “Life remains sweet, and I survived the feedback from yesterday’s post on blacks and Indians in my characteristically good-natured way, and most of the feedback was polite too, which is what makes The Moon one of your lovelier online locations,” makes it tough to stay irritated with your blog for very long. Given your once-liberal days one suspects you enjoy stirring the pot as much as anything else. No doubt we’ll tussle more in the future.

    Like

    1. Brian: Don’t get irritated at the website. Get irritated at me. The Moon is just the messenger.

      As for stirring the pot, yes, it’s quite stimulating. Except for dreadful yard work, which I do less and less and the yard shows it, daily exercise in moderation and reading books, I really don’t have much else on my schedule.

      I guess I could start putting recipes and photos of my dog (if I had a dog, which I don’t) here. Stuff like that. It’s what most folks do. Yawn.

      As for my “once-liberal days,” I have mentioned my lefty positions on quite a few issues repeatedly, but nobody ever seems to notice. Oh well.

      Like

  3. Perhaps I should spend more time in my hammock.

    As for cooking discussions on blogs, I remember a disagreement about how beans should be cooked. You told an interesting tale.

    Like

  4. I prefer a little pot stirring to recipes and dog photos. However, I do enjoy the occasional photo of life in your Mexican town.

    Like

    1. Connie: Not going to be able to help you much with that, which was the focus of my previous website. This Moon thing is far more wide-ranging. But you know the town’s name, I imagine, just go to Google or Yahoo photos, and you’ll find photos galore.

      Like

Comments are closed.