Color update

Let’s put controversy and memories of old Southern times behind us and move on to loveliness, a topic that everyone agrees is a good thing.

There are links to photos of the Hacienda’s living room and kitchen elsewhere here, but those photos were taken years ago, and we have made changes.

These photos were shot this morning, making them very fresh.

The most notable change in the living room is that the furniture was reupholstered recently from the dull beige to a feisty red. That’s the loveseat over there, and you can just see the sofa’s arms at bottom. I shot the photo standing behind the sofa.

The individual chair of the three-piece set has been moved upstairs to open things up downstairs somewhat, making it even more roomy.

And here is the kitchen. The primary change from the old photo is the “chopping block” standing there in the middle. We had that table made by a carpenter after we took him a piece of wood-grain formica for the top.

My lovely wife makes her breads, pies and pastries atop that very table.

It’s great living here. I would envy myself if such a thing were humanly possible.

35 thoughts on “Color update”

  1. I love the colors! Someone in your family has excellent taste! I would love to import some of your colors up here to Canada but someone would probably try to lock me up if I did. Down there they are so natural.

    Like

    1. Croft: The person with the excellent taste is, well, you’re looking at him. One hundred percent.

      And this house would look absurd in Canada and in most of the United States too with the possible exception of some parts of New Mexico and Arizona.

      Some things simply do not travel. What works in one area does not work at all in another. It’s strange but true.

      Also, north of the border, even in these troubled economic times, our home would cost a million times more than we paid to build it here almost ten years ago, or even what it would cost to build it today.

      Like

  2. Love the living room. Beautiful !
    Quite frankly the tile work in the kitchen would make me feel dizzy/woozy just the way it is patterned. Love the way the light enters the room and the spaciousness of it.

    Like

  3. The feisty red touch to the furniture in the living room was just what the doctor ordered. Dull beige took away from the beautiful designed iron works on the stairwell.

    The “chopping block” makes a nice fit in the kitchen. Seems to be the perfect dimensions. Industrious person is the Lady Z. Chooses to make a little hard cash for herself from pastry sales.

    Impossible to envy oneself but nothing wrong with being proud. Especially when he has the pics for backup!

    Thanks! Always enjoy views of the “Hacienda”.

    Like

  4. As much as I like the red — and that is a lot, I still think the bannister best sets off the living room. And, in person, that kitchen tiles work perfectly.

    I am looking forward to seeing them again.

    Like

    1. Steve: I have mentioned this before, but I’ll say it again. When we decided to have that bannister railing made, I sleuthed through the internet and found that unusual design. I printed out a copy of the photo, and took it to a blacksmith who made it based just on the photo, which was not even a good photo due to the angle of the shot.

      His version is better than the one in the photo, and the fellow charged me just $200.

      We have since used the same design to make a balcony railing on the downtown casita. I don’t recall if that was done before you were here last year or not. Probably was.

      As for your upcoming visit, the entire town is a-twitter with anticipation. No joke.

      Like

  5. You can never go wrong with a “splash” of red in a room. In your case, a big splash! I like it a lot. The tile in the kitchen might drive me a bit nuts, but I am almost there anyway!

    Like

    1. Connie: I edit the comments A LOT. After doing that type of work for 30 years, I cannot stop myself or do I want to. But I never change the meaning. I just make it pretty. I have the prettiest comment section you’ll find anywhere in cyberspace.

      Like

    2. Now if folks would just stop it with those …………. between sentences. Never ceases to baffle me why they do that.

      This………….and………….that……….etc.

      Like

    1. Ellipsis (plural ellipses; from the Ancient Greek: ἔλλειψις, élleipsis, “omission” or “falling short”) is a series of dots that usually indicate an intentional omission of a word, sentence or whole section from the original text being quoted. An ellipsis can also be used to indicate an unfinished thought or, at the end of a sentence, a trailing off into silence (aposiopesis), example: “But I thought he was . . .” When placed at the beginning or end of a sentence, the ellipsis can also inspire a feeling of melancholy or longing. The ellipsis calls for a slight pause in speech or any other form of text, but it is incorrect to use ellipses solely to indicate a pause in speech.

      And it has three dots, not 30. And some folks put the 30 dots between each and every sentence. Drives this old editor around the bend it does.

      Like

  6. I am sorry. I just could not resist! Come on up here anytime as we are not too far across the Rio Grande. I know that you like visiting San Antonio and we are only about an hour north of there, as you know.

    Like

    1. Connie: Yes, I know exactly in what city you are lucky enough to live in, you fortunate thing. I wish we could afford to live there, but we cannot. Well, at least not without getting a job, and who needs that foolishness?

      I looooove San Antonio. We were driving up there yearly for a week until things got a little dicey on the highways on this side near the border, and I decided it was not worth even the relatively small risk just to eat in some good Texas restaurants and visit Academy Sporting Goods.

      Seems things have settled down now, so who knows? My wife is eternally nagging me to go. She likes all things Gringo, especially this Gringo.

      You may not know that I worked for just a few months on the Express-News in 1984. Would have stayed had my boss not been the greatest sumbitch who ever walked the face of the earth. So after about four months, I resigned. My then-wife and I almost cried when we packed up and headed to Houston.

      But I like Houston too. Heck, I just like Texas.

      Like

  7. No, I did not know that you worked at Express-News. I am assuming that is a San Antonio paper. I knew that you worked at the Picayune and the Houston Chronicle (Houston being my hometown). I have only been over here full time since January. We still have an apartment in Houston where my poor husband is still working until the end of the year when he retires forever!!! (Is three exclamation marks okay?)

    I am definitely a Gringa so I am sure your wife would like me, too! And, as you have noticed, sometimes I can even be a sarcastic Gringa!

    Like

    1. Connie! Walk out to the street, to a nearby news rack, and look inside. That’s the principle newspaper there in San Antonio. You must get your news from TV and the internet. Boy, times are changing in the United States.

      And yes, three exclamation points are okay, but be aware that only women use more than one, ever. Well, maybe gay guys use more than one. Dunno.

      Like

  8. I subscribed to The Houston Chronicle my entire adult life until I moved over here. I do miss reading the paper with my morning coffee. Now I just sit on my patio and watch the deer and birds. So far, I have not subscribed to our Austin American Statesman, but I may in the future.

    I do tend to use A LOT of exclamations marks. I suppose I use them to exhibit my joy, humor and astonishment. I will try to get a handle on that.

    Like

    1. Connie: Nothing at all bad about multiple exclamation points. It is, as you note, simply a way to express enthusiasm or LOTS of enthusiasm. But, if you pay attention, you will notice that it’s almost exclusively women who use multiple exclamation points. We men, when we use them at all, almost invariably stick to just one.

      Men and women are very different, in spite of what Gloria Steinem and Naomi Wolf would have us believe.

      Like

  9. I came back to respond to your post and it looks as if you have edited it. I was going to respond to the gay reference.

    I went back and looked at some of my facebook messages between my gay nephew and myself. He only uses one exclamation point. Sometimes, he adds one after a question mark?!

    He taught me how to make a heart with the keyboard. ❤

    Like

    1. Connie: So our rough evidence here indicates that even gay men use just one exclamation point! Having a question mark and an exclamation point together is another matter entirely.

      As for the heart, yes, that is a heart, sideways but a heart.

      I never use smilies or (what are they called?) emoticons or anything of that sort. Another one of my personal grumps, like the word blog. Yuckums.

      Like

    1. What, the heart? Sure it did. It’s just a sideways heart. Flip your head to the right. Maybe it was supposed to make one of those actual hearts. In that case, you’re right. It did not work.

      Like

  10. Well, you are going to think that I am a real dingbat. I did not even notice that it was a sideways heart. He sent a heart to me on Facebook and it was red and not sideways. After he told me how to do it, I sent one to him and when I posted it the heart looked like his. Oh well, must be a Facebook thing, not a bl*g thing. I do not use any of those little emoticons either, as you can see.

    Like

Comments are closed.