Not too smart

I don’t have a smart phone, and I don’t have a tablet.

And this morning Google, which I like because it has cute colors, told me that the two files I own (that I did not know about) are now stored in the new Google Drive.

These two unknown files of mine are now kept in a cloud.

I clearly live in a fog.

I have considered getting a smart phone, but I cannot justify the cost. The little cell phone I own does everything I need. It sends messages, which is 99 percent of what I do with it, mostly to my child bride, and I can also call people, which is rare.

The phone set me back about $25. I have no contract. I buy time with little scratch cards or at the supermarket checkout, as needed.

It has no camera because I already have a nice little Kodak. It does not play music, and I do not care. I have music in my Honda and in my home.

I don’t want music on the sidewalk because I might get hit by a car while dancing.

When Amazon, a company I really like, came out with the Kindle Fire, I seriously considered buying one. It has lots of colors. Then I thought to myself: You already waste too much time online. Do you want to waste even more?

So I have no Kindle Fire or any other tablet.

I am not one of those precious people who takes pride in being backward. I would like to own a smart phone and tablet, but I do not, for the reasons stated.

I realize my level of ignorance is soaring, which is disturbing.

But I can do everything I want and need to do. And at a good price.

And that cloud thing. I once got lost in a cloud in a small Cessna over a Louisiana swamp. It was no fun, so I have a thing about clouds.

The colors are nice though. My Kindle Reader has no colors. And if I lived near a Barnes & Noble, I likely would not have the Kindle either.

I wouldn’t see the need.

22 thoughts on “Not too smart”

  1. Google Docs (and now Drive, to my knowledge) shows docs there that you have accessed, even if you did not put them in Docs. In other words, it’s not
    limited to “your” documents.

    Are we rethinking our Kindle? eBooks are no longer the bargain they once were. And the state will actually have to go to some effort to peek into my dead tree library. It’s so sad that you KindlePeople will never experience the joy of fine binding. Or even touch A Hologram for the King

    Like

    1. Ms. Rose: If I “access docs,” I am not doing it intentionally. Google told me that I had three docs in that place. Two were mine, and one was not, something someone sent me, it appeared.

      Rethinking the Kindle? Not in a million years of Fridays. Love that thing. I hope to have some justification soon for buying the new backlit version that just came out. Then we will have three here at the Hacienda.

      And you are mistaken that Kindle books are no longer the bargain they once were. You will run into some that cost up to $15 or (very rarely) even a bit more now and then, but the great majority still are under $10. Plus, there are tons that cost less or are even free.

      As for the state knowing what I read, I don’t care.

      We KindlePeople like fine binding, truly. And visiting antique stores too. We just like convenience more, plus having tons of books instantly and economically available without having to ask friends and strangers to bring them down from above the Rio Bravo on their next vacation six months from now.

      As for touching a Hologram for the King (whatever that means), well, some joys will go unfelt.

      Like

  2. A Hologram for the King is Dave Eggers’ latest. Because Eggers is a sensible kind of guy who values paper-feel, he had the book printed at a small Michigan company instead of outsourcing it to Communist China.

    Like

    1. Ms. Rose: Didn’t know that, but now I do. Gracias.

      I like paper feel too. I like the leather touch of a good buggy whip to boot. And the smell, especially if the whip is new and fresh.

      And, of course, I favor sending little to Red China or to any other communists, real or otherwise, including the White House.

      Like

      1. It is a very sensual-feeling book. I love hard-bound books. But I deal with the realities of Melaque where I can get what I want on my Kindle. If President Obama wants to read over my shoulder, I guess that is just one of the many trade-offs I have made in my life.

        Like

  3. I used to have a driving need to own all things new – electronically speaking. Now, living in lands southward, I don’t have the same urgent desire to buy the newest device. I noted that tablets are everywhere in the States. I had a friend or two who counseled me to buy one, with fervent urgency One acquaintance has three tablets. Thus far, I don’t see the need.

    Like

    1. Ms. teguzchia: Last time I was in the U.S., way back in the Dubya administration, I was taken with all the electronic devices folks toted, plus people talking to themselves which turned out to be some kind of hands-off phone gizmo. I can only imagine what it’s like now.

      Like

    1. We have two Kindles. One has the keyboard and “handles” on the side to turn pages. The other you turn pages by swiping the page. It’s my first page-swiping thing. I like it. But, as I said, I’d like one of those new backlit models so I can read in bed with the lamp off while my child bride slumbers.

      Like

  4. When I lived SOB and commuted NOB, I would turn off my smart phone the minute I boarded the plane to MX and not turn it back on till I landed back on US soil. It was great.

    Reality: It would be challenging to work in Corporate America in the US and not use a smart phone.

    Hopefully, one day I will be back SOB will likely follow your model – electronic reader, laptop and some kind of basic phone for – well – the basics.

    Like

    1. Ms. Mommy: All the more reason not to work in corporate America. Anyway, don’t you know that all corporations are insidious? Barack told us so.

      So, we await your return to this side of the Rio Bravo.

      Like

  5. I love my Kindle Fire but never use it for anything other than reading. The no frills Kindle would be just fine. And the Fire has much a shorter battery life. Much easier to do the internet with a computer and keyboard. I’m still holding out on cell phones. I have a landline if I want to have an actual conversation. Otherwise, email does the trick. Texting might be something to look into.

    Like

    1. I would love to have an iPhone, but I can’t justify the contracts in which you end up paying for the thing forever.

      I think that iPads are cool, fun and all that, but in the final decision, I bought a MacBook Air, a “real” computer, with a physical keyboard and some serious processing power. I don’t, however, carry it with me and wirelessly surf the Net while seated at La Surtidora. For that I use my pocket sized iPod Touch.

      Saludos,
      Don Cuevas

      Like

        1. I agree, but I am in their thrall. (Funny, how we Apple FanBoys used to say that about Microsoft. Now that Apple is the world’s most successful company, it’s “evil”. But then, so is Google. They want to know EVERYTHING about us, and make it searchable. I love Google also, but not everything that they do.)

          I predict that the Last Battle at The End of Time will be between Apple and Google. Microsoft is now an also ran.
          Ha ha ha ha ha ha!!!

          Saludos,
          Don Cuevas

          Like

    2. Larry: Sounds like you should have bought a Kindle reader instead of the Fire if all you do is read on it. You paid more, and the battery lasts a shorter time. Not good economics.

      Got no cell phone?! Jeez, man, you live in the Stone Age. Actually, I held out on cell phones for quite a long time, but now I find it indispensable. I send messages to my wife all the time. Most say this:

      Where are you?

      Landlines, as you likely know, are slowly following paper books into the caves of history.

      I also have a Skype internet phone to call the U.S., which I do about three times a year.

      Like

      1. You have a separate Skype phone from the computer? That’s pretty techie, but seems redundant, when you can run Skype from a PC or Mac, an iPad, and iPhone, an iPod Touch, and I don’t know what else. Maybe from a wall clock, or at least a Smart TV.

        Saludos,
        Don Cuevas

        Like

  6. I have a pair of V-tech Skype cordless phones, which will free you from the tethers of your computer while you talk away on Skype. And I’ve got some good news for you — they’re for sale! Now, who’d like to buy them? Contact me at jjrose@jjrose.com

    Like

Comments are closed.