Hummingbird and the spiders

Life is good. At least for the hummingbird and me.

Not so much for the spiders.

It’s wonderful not having to work for a living, and not having had to do it now for almost 13 years.

Great to get up when you wish, have a bagel and cream cheese at your leisure, coffee too, and then sit on the downstairs terraza in clean, 60-degree air, gazing at pure greenery and smashing colors in September sunshine.

It was a bad morning for spiders, however, because they had over-reached, and I could not take it anymore. Broad spiderwebs stretched from aloe vera branches to brick arches, encasing macabre corpses of teeny-weeny victims.

I had overlooked this visual effrontery for many days, but this morning I took a broom to a number of spiderwebs, smacking them all to smithereens, them and their prey.

The morning vista is clear now.

The hummingbird is another matter. Every morning, and some afternoons too, she sits on the same little twig of the peach tree just over there within easy view.

The sun is behind her in the morning, and she spreads her tiny tail feathers wide, fanning them out and letting the sunshine accentuate her colors just for me. She holds that pose for quite a spell. You can’t beat that. Life is very good.

Well, not so much for the spiders.

But maybe I freed the souls of their victims. It’s good to play God.

* * * *

(Hummingbird photo by Greg Cope.)

16 thoughts on “Hummingbird and the spiders”

  1. Swarms of hummers here in GDL…I love them too…they’re extremely territorial little creatures…always fighting…just need to remember to take the feeders down at night so the fruit bats don’t drain them during the dark spell…saludos!

    Like

    1. Charles: No need for feeders here. Plenty of flowers to keep the little buggers happy. Yes, they are supremely territorial.

      I did put feeders out, quite successfully, during my years in Texas. I didn’t have to retrieve them at night, of course, because there are no fruit bats in Houston.

      Like

    1. Carole: Do what I did. Get rid of all your “stuff.” Pack a couple of suitcases. Step to the ledge and leap. Amazingly and unexpectedly for most, you will land in clover, and hummingbirds will be there.

      Like

  2. Have you considered the negative karma involved in killing all those spiders willy nilly? Particularly with the mind of playing god. You might sleep better at night without the worry of possibly waking up as a reincarnated arachnid. Oh, I know you’re going to tell me no worries but you might give it some thought. Us lefties tend to be softies as well. Particularly when it comes to the creatures. All of them seem to be here for a reason. I must admit, however, having maliciously killed a cockroach or two. I cannot take karmic blame for rat killing — I make my wife empty the traps.

    Spider moving lesson: Wrap the web around your broom, go over to your neighbor’s wall, and gently tap the head of the broom on the other side. The still living spiders will be just as happy building webs on the other side and your karma will be clean.

    Hawaii has very large cane spiders. You probably witnessed them in Puerto Rico. Nasty looking critters. Basically shy but they do eat the mosquitoes. Geckos are good mosquito eaters as well. I have heard bats are the best. Alas we have only one the Hawaiian hoary bat here with not much of a taste for mosquito… seems to prefer moths. Maybe it’s the texture of their wings.

    I’m pretty sure there is no bad karma in killing mosquitoes but I could be wrong. In which case, I have a lot of bad karma to make up.

    Like

    1. Larry: I do not make a specific effort to kill the spiders, just remove their abode, which is easy to do. I have found that after you make a few swipes at it the spider is difficult to locate, no doubt hanging on for dear life amid the straw of the broom.

      Yes, you lefties do tend to be softies or, as I view it, naïve, and therein lies the basic problem with putting you people in charge of governments. That and your tendency to require “kindness” — or else.

      I don’t recall any spiders in Puerto Rico, but I was soused much of the time. Here where I live now there are some pretty hunky spiders, and they have a talent for getting indoors.

      Like

  3. Living in the country we have all kinds of creepy crawlies. I don’t like spiders but I tend to leave them alone unless they are black widows, those I kill. The bats around here do a pretty good job of killing bugs and scorpions. During the months of October and November the tarantulas come out. I think they are pretty cool looking. I leave them alone.

    This morning I was watching a Golden Eagle eating his breakfast. I think he had a rabbit.

    The one thing I cannot tolerate are rattlesnakes. I had one in the carport yesterday. First one I’ve seen this summer. I shot it. Didn’t even think about Karma.

    Like

    1. Jackie: Ah, you’re a pistol-packing mama. Or rifle or whatever. I like that. Aim straight.

      I like the look of tarantulas too. I’ve occasionally thought of having one as a pet but have yet to do it.

      Once I was driving by my lonesome down some deserted dirt rode somewhere in the wide open spaces of West Texas. I pulled the car over and got out, just for the heck of it, stood there a moment, and then I heard a rustling noise atop the telephone pole right next to the car. I looked up, and a golden eagle took off. He had been sitting on the pole. Now that was nice.

      Like

Comments are closed.