Perfect

Walking out the door yesterday afternoon, heading downtown for a nice espresso on the plaza, I faced this scene, so I paused and photographed it.

The two buildings you see back there on the left are homes across the street. One is occupied, and the other is under construction and has been for a long time.

We are entering the best period to live in these parts, up on the mountaintop. It’s not cold, not hot and not wet. It’s just right. Bizarrely, Spring is our worst season.

Fall is heavenly. Perfect.

One day in 1999, not long before moving below the Rio Bravo, I was talking to a friend in Houston who owned an art gallery. He told me that he had lived in Puebla for a spell and what he remembered most were the air and color.

I have never been to Puebla, but the air and color here, especially in Fall, are wonderful. Plus, it’s almost always cool.

Just thought I’d share this slice of my good fortune with you.

31 thoughts on “Perfect”

  1. We have the same action going on here in Ohio. 75 for a high today, blue sky and puffball clouds. The leaves are changing, lots of bright reds, a bit of bright before the winter night.

    Like

  2. Que suerte tienes, Felipe! Thanks for the lovely photo. Espresso on the plaza sounds pretty good right about now. 35 degrees here on this Colorado mountaintop right now!

    Like

    1. Mike, I got suerte all over the place. Sounds like you do too. But 35 degrees in the first week of October seems a bit premature to me. I prefer the 60s we are basking in.

      Like

  3. There’s now espresso available in your hardscrabble village on the outskirts of (town).

    And when did you switch from café Americano to espresso?

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

    1. Señor Cuevas: I switched to expresso one to two years ago. I don’t really recall. Less liquid, more caffeine.

      I was not aware there’s espresso near me, but makes me no never mind. It’s just partly about coffee. I can drink coffee at home, which I don’t really do that much. It’s about sitting on the Plaza Grande and watching the beautiful babes pass while I sip my espresso. It’s a wonderful combination, a fine way to pass a bit of time.

      Like

      1. Babes? There are beautiful babes passing by? I have to check this out. Many thanks for the tip. 🙂

        Seriously, I think an espresso may have less caffeine than a strong Americano. The dark roast and method of extraction gives the espresso the flavor kick but the same dark roasting burns up the caffeine. The debate goes on: http://coffeefaq.com/site/node/18

        (I bet you didn’t know any of that or even care. For babe watching, a limonada will do the job as well.)

        Saludos,
        Don Cuevas

        Like

        1. Don Cuevas: Yes, beautiful babes all over the place downtown. I love it, and coffee just makes it all seem better.

          My child bride asked me just this morning the meaning of the word babe. After explaining it, I told her that she was one, and I was not lying.

          As for that coffee stuff, you’re right. I didn’t know any of that, and I don’t care. The intricate details of what passes through one’s mouth and into one’s stomach I leave to you. If it tastes good, I’m happy. I’m a simple man.

          As for lemonade instead of coffee, I require a minimum of the latter each day, or I get a little headache, which makes me cranky.

          I am not nice when I am cranky.

          Like

  4. Just downloaded ‘Girl Watcher’ by the O’Kaysions, my, my, my. What a lovely pastime in Mexico, while sipping expresso and enjoying the fall weather. What a life!

    Like

  5. What is that a statue of, on the top right of the wall? It looks like a monkey, but I am not sure.

    Fall weather in the NY area can vary. So far, days have been in the 70’s, nights in the 50’s. It’s been either a beautiful blue sky, a crisp day, or torrential rains. The leaves have not started to change color as of yet. It’s a great time of year to go hiking, the rivers are full and rushing. Great sound.

    Like

    1. Andean: It looks like a monkey because it is a monkey. Your eye is good. For some reason, full photos here almost never, if ever, get bigger on the screen when you click on them. I have no idea why. The smaller photos that I put on the left side of the posts do get way bigger when you click on them. It’s all a mystery to me.

      Sounds like New York weather is about the same as here right now. But we’ll be missing the blizzards come January and February.

      Like

      1. I’m glad you told me that. I’m always trying to enlarge your photos, will now save me the trouble.

        I love monkeys… that’s a great spot for the one you have.

        Like

  6. Babes On The Street

    In your younger days (circa your motorcycle pics) the babes were definitely interested and, if you were lucky, did a little flirting.

    (Fortunately for you, somewhere between these two stages, you met and married your child bride.)

    As you aged, you caught a glint of hostility towards the “dirty old man” looking their way.

    As you aged further and still had some hopes of fulfilling those fantasies they just ignored you as harmless.

    You’re not quite there yet but, a few more years, they will be smiling at you in a patronizing “poor old guy” kind of way. And they will address you as abuelo. Or worse yet, bisabuelo.

    However — at any age, no matter espresso or limonada, it is always enjoyable to watch those babes pass by.

    Like

    1. Larry: Let’s not forget guys like Sean Connery and Clint Eastwood, so there’s hope for some of us. My wife gets misty-eyed every time she sees Clint, and he’s something like 150 years old and talks to empty chairs.

      Like

      1. I forgot to take it to the last step:

        Once you truly reach “old age” all the babes you’ll see in the care home are even older than you. They’re the ones watching all the available guys wheel by.

        As to your wife, she seems to have a thing for older men anyway.

        Clint’s not quite 150 — I knew him when I was in my 20’s and he was only 10 years older than me. I’m pretty sure I haven’t reached 140 yet.

        As to empty chairs, Romney might as well have been talking to an empty chair the other night. My man did not do so well I have to admit. Maybe it’s the underwear.

        Like

  7. The columnist Gustavo Arellano of Ask a Mexican wrote about “Mexican regional stereotypes: People from Durango have a cowboy mentality; Michoacanos are trashy; and those from Sonora are rugged individualists. Sinaloans are nuts; folks from Jalisco are stuck up; and gente de Veracruz are talkative. Los de Oaxaca are stubborn; Chihuahua residents are tall and light-skinned; and people from Guerrero are born outlaws.” Maybe he is disparaging the Babes of Michoacan by calling them trashy in their skin tight clothes. The nerve.

    Like

    1. Interesting, Andres, thanks. But we Michoacanos are trashy!? Of all the nerve! You and I know we have the most beautiful babes in the country even though those from Sinaloa have a very big reputation for that too. And, of course, being narcos.

      Like

  8. Thus far, October has been divine in Honduras. It’s usually the wettest month of our year. Thus far, mild with a smattering of rain here and there. Not perfect, but almost.

    Like

    1. Laurie: I wonder why October is wet there and usually dry here. But then I wonder at this rainy season phenomenon entirely, something that does not happen above the Rio Bravo. And I wonder why you keep changing your moniker on comments too. Laurie is easiest to understand and gets my vote. I wonder a lot.

      Like

      1. The moniker changes sometimes when I comment on other Word Press blogs. For some reason, one in particular always wants my password, and it often only accepts my other moniker, Teguzchica, with the password. Then I head here and I cannot change it. I do like her blog as she offers great photos of the Florida panhandle.

        Like

  9. Here is a classic song by the folk singer, Pete Seeger: On the Bay of Mexico – on Youtube. I nominate it as the official song of expats in Mexico.

    Like

Comments are closed.