Days of the Dead

Today and tomorrow are the Days of the Dead when greedy capitalists and clueless communards briefly put aside their bold differences in deference to the departed.

This morning we will buy stinky marigolds on the nearby plaza, and we will leave them tomorrow about noon on the downtown grave of my child bride’s brother, gone since many years ago.

Today we will dodge the tourist hordes as best we can, and tonight we will walk to the nearby cemetary of our ancient neighborhood to see how the celebration fares.

It varies from year to year. Sometimes it even rains, really mucking things up.

Let us pray for no rain.

15 thoughts on “Days of the Dead”

  1. The 31st was always a kid’s day here in Ohio. These days the adults have hijacked the day. It was fun watching the college kids last night in Kent all dressed up and yes, it rained buckets.

    Like

    1. Norm: Halloween is being embraced more and more by my new paisanos down here. Good? Bad? I used to think bad, but now I really don’t care too much. Things change.

      Doesn’t look like it’s gonna rain, but the day is still young. Shouldn’t. The rainy season should be long gone.

      Like

  2. I’ve never been to the environs of Patzcuaro for the Day of the Dead, although I hope to make it someday, one way or another. They still sell stinky marigolds where I live. At least the merchants of Patzcuaro make out like bandits from the tourist trade. They will be rejoicing, bringing in the sheaves.

    Like

    1. Andres: Hard to believe you haven’t made it the 25 minutes up the autopista to see this event. Come on up. It’s fun. Well, if heavy traffic and crowds don’t put you off.

      Like

      1. While stationed in Germany I visited the ruins of Frankenstein’s castle near Darmstadt on Halloween/All Saints Day just for kicks. The villagers brought flowers to the graveyard, but only as a religious observance. It was very tame compared to Mexico. I am both fascinated and repelled by the Day of the Dead in Mexico with all of the skeletons.

        Like

    1. Croft: It’s like going to Germany frequently but never for Oktoberfest.

      Incredibly, my sister-in-law who has lived here all of her 50 years has never been to one of the cemeteries on the big night. Kind of like Parisians who have never gone up the Eiffel Tower, I guess.

      And my wife had never done it either till she married me, and we went the first time together in 2003, just to the neighborhood cemetery, which still was off the usual tourist route. Less so now.

      That first time was the best. Stunningly beautiful. It’s been interesting other times, but nothing like that first. Some years it’s been overrun with TV news crews. Once, the municipality had installed huge spotlights, which kinda breaks the mood, to put it mildly, and other times it’s been rainy and muddy. You never know what you’ll experience.

      Our neighborhood cemetery is just a 10-minute walk from home.

      Like

  3. Honduras doesn’t celebrate Halloween or the Day of the Dead. Our fall schedule is a month of civic holidays in September than a straight run for Christmas.

    Like

    1. Laurie: I could be mistaken (it happens), but I believe that the Day of the Dead is specifically Mexican so its not happening in Honduras is not a surprise.

      It’s Honduras’ loss.

      Come on up.

      Like

      1. I am thinking of going down farther. I want to take a long holiday in Costa Rica. We close our center for Christmas and New Year in Honduras. I may stretch my time away a bit farther than normal. But thanks for the offer of going northward.

        Like

  4. 2004 took a bus tour from Morelia. Rain and mud. On-board baño overflowed.

    Second bus tour I have ever taken. Regretted both.

    Last few years have hired a van for us and house guests. Start at 9 and home by midnight. Works well. Half of graves celebrating and rest setting up. Buses arrive later. We return with the spirit of the smell of burning candles in our clothes.

    Like

    1. Patzman: I’ve never taken a bus tour anywhere in my life, and I doubt I ever will. Same for cruise ships.

      The only Day of the Day doings at night that I have ever seen have been at the cemetery within walking distance of our house. We did not go last night, however, the first time we’ve missed it since we built the house in 2003.

      Like

      1. On the bus tour: Linda and I are going to give the bus a shot — first time for me. We have a three-month Latin trip in the docket, a fly-by-the-seat-of-our-pants trip. No car unless we rent one for side trips to the boondocks, buses to wherever is on the way. The banana republics are calling so no visit for coffee with Felipe this trip.

        And by the way, the polls were packed today at 7 AM. Looks like a big turnout in Ohio. I live in a Republican area (farm country). High turn out in my area is good for your guy.

        Like

        1. Norm: Thanks for the encouraging news on the Ohio vote. All’s well that ends well, and I am pretty confident that when we awake Wednesday morning, a brighter future will await America.

          As for preferring bananas to me, perhaps another day. I’m going nowhere.

          Like

Comments are closed.