Five zeros

We hit 100,000 on the visitor counter today.

That’s since July of last year when The Unseen Moon replaced The Zapata Tales.* Were it not for the counter, I would think only about ten people ever read this thing because almost everybody keeps mum.

I have read that is typical of blogs, so I don’t feel bad about it.

The Zapata Tales was about my life in Mexico. The Unseen Moon is more like the old Seinfeld  television show, about nothing in particular.

Except Seinfeld never got people steamed up, which I do now and then.

The two most visited days were when I wrote about my trip to Communist Cuba and when I tried to look rationally at what Todd Akin said. I was successful with the first and less so with the second, which one reader described as a “train wreck.”

In January, eight years will have passed since I began writing online. It’s been a lot more fun than I anticipated at the beginning.

I appreciate your business. Come again.

* * * *

* And The Bierce Account.

26 thoughts on “Five zeros”

  1. I will be 50 within a year. I have a half century of many regrets, too. Your post gave me hope that I can live a few more years with a better perspective and less pain. However, unlike you, I look forward to redemption and resurrection, not reincarnation. I really prefer to keep moving on in another dimension rather than repeat this process again, blindly.

    Like

    1. Laurie: I imagine you meant to leave your comment on the previous post, the one about regret. No matter. Here is fine.

      What is reincarnation if not a form of resurrection? You say toe-may-toe and I say toe-mah-toe.

      And reincarnation is not blind in the slightest. There is purpose to it. As with resurrection, it boils down to behaving oneself.

      Like

  2. I have several friends who cannot understand why I write without being paid for the effort. They cannot believe I write for the sheer joy of writing. Perhaps, we have found our own existential Cartesian center. I blog, therefore I am.

    Like

    1. Steve: I don’t think I would go so far as to say I find joy in it, but it’s quite fun. And if anybody wants to send me cash, my hands are open.

      Money always makes me joyful.

      Like

  3. Since this is the time of the year to reflect on what we are thankful for I would like to say I for one am thankful for the work that you, Steve, Laurie, Babs and others put into your blogs that keep me entertained, informed and inspired. I don’t always respond but I am here reading and thankful for what y’all do. Jan in Mississippi

    Like

      1. Congratulations. I’m also a long time follower of you and the above. All have some south of the border info and nice to get other views.

        Like

        1. Patzman: Other views are good, of course. I do try to keep the Mexico posts to a minimum here. Lots of other folks do that, and I did it too for a lengthy spell.

          Time for other topics.

          Like

      2. I guess I could have directed my comment to just you, but have a hard time commenting on Babs and Steve’s sites because of the verification thingy on Babs site and Steve’s site requires a password. I know they all comment here so was hoping they would see this. And yes you all are very different but equally charming! Jan

        Like

        1. Jan: Steve’s blog uses the Disqus comment system. If you take a few moments and open a Disqus account, which is free, I imagine the password requirement would vanish. Plus, lots of websites are adding the Disqus system because it’s really nice.

          Babs still uses the more aggravating comment system that comes with Blogger. She has both that garble ID requirement plus she then must approve every comment, which seems like overkill to me. One or the other, but both?

          Here on WordPress, the comments are simple. I like it.

          Like

  4. Ditto the above post. Here I sit in Kelowna BC, visiting friends. The sun is out, so much nicer than all the rain of the Lower Mainland of Vancouver. The house is quiet and I am reading my blogs. Happy tales to you.

    Like

    1. Ms. Mommy: I recall you mentioned when you first chimed in here that you had been a long-time lurker. I’m glad you’ve come out of the fog. Exchange is good. Whether you changed or The Moon inspired you, I do not know. Perhaps both. But I always appreciate your feedback, which is invariably sharp.

      Like

  5. I’ve been addicted to reading my whole life, averaging 2 to 3 books a week. When I arrived in Mexico I went into a serious withdrawal. Without the internet it would have been cold turkey. I am now a news-a-holic and travel all over the world online following international politics, health, and social issues. Your site is thought provoking and quite pleasurable to read. Keep up the good work.

    Like

    1. Andres: Thank you, sir. I too read a lot. I am almost a laughingstock to my wife’s relatives. Yes, the internet. Living down here would be an entirely different proposition without it. God bless high technology.

      Like

  6. I read, but don’t comment often. At least not in writing, hee-hee.

    No, seriously, different subject. I worked all afternoon trying to duplicate your bird house art. Gee whiz, what a disaster! Did you use painters tape to paint straight lines, or was it all free-hand? Did you use brushes or painter pens? My hands hurt!

    Like

    1. Becky: I used a ruler to make the straight lines. I used art brushes and acrylics. I do not recall my hands ever hurting, but it does require an insane degree of patience. Not so much the birdhouses. They are small. But the furniture! Yipes.

      Like

Comments are closed.