Back in time

No. 1

We took a long Sunday ride yesterday, kind of like I did regularly with my maternal grandmother ages ago on the red-clay roads of southwest Georgia.

But there are no pyramids in Georgia. And no red-clay roads here.

Along yesterday’s ride we passed the pyramids where I proposed, down on my knee as one should, to my child bride over a decade back. We had not been there in years even though they are only about 15 miles from home.

This is a prehistoric structure built by the natives in these parts, whom you might call Indians above the border, but these were not horse-mounted people who lived in teepees with bows and arrows to hunt buffalo.

They abound today, and you know them by the colorful pleated skirts of the women. The men look just like everybody else. And they speak their own tongue.

I got down on my knee that day, like in the movies, and proposed in the V between the two structures. She said yes, and things have gone great ever since.

We should visit more often. It’s a place of good fortune.

12 thoughts on “Back in time”

  1. We’ll be spending Dec. 21 on the upper plaza of a Maya temple ruin in Belize. If we go down that day/night, we will have feasted on cochinita pibil for our journey to the underworld. In any case, we’ll be full of cochinita pibil!

    Like

  2. I’ll be at Mixco Viejo for the Maya calender change. The buildings there look a bit like your local ones. The Viejo buildings were being used when the Spanish showed up, were yours?

    Like

          1. As was Viejo. The Spanish stormed the place with ropes and climbing gear because of its fortified location (the edges are so steep that I get nervous just walking up to the edge), the interesting thing is that the styles of building match yet they are a 1000 miles apart.

            And the bucket list gets longer…

            Like

  3. My Viking ancestors got to North America earlier than the Spanish and didn’t leave but a few rune stones along the way. Perhaps they were the tall, bearded white men of Aztec legend. At least they were a little more environmentally friendly to the landscape than the Spanish. Greenland was a bit warmer in those days. I suspect the Vikings were more respectful of the native religions and culture.

    Like

    1. Andres — I suspect my Scottish relatives would have a different view of your Viking family. The vikings had a rather nasty tendency to leave behind burning villages and Scots women who had been subjected to an involuntary DNA exchange. My blond hair is undoubtedly a result of one of those “environmentally friendly” social encounters.

      Not that they were much different from any tribe that encroaches on the borders of tribes that grabbed their land from other tribes. If the Aztecs had been as peaceable as some now claim, their tribal enemies would have not been so anxious in joining the Spanish tribe’s invasion.

      Felipe’s pyramids are one of my favorite stops when I get over to his part of the world. Not as magnificent as Tzintzuntzan, but they are on a very personal scale. I wish we had something similar in my part of Mexico

      Like

      1. Steve: My real last name is Scottish. You don’t see it on this side of the pond all that often, at least not with my spelling. Another spelling is more common. I enjoyed seeing it all over the place, on stores, etc., when I was in Scotland in the 1970s. I’m sure my people were always peaceable and respectful of the natural world. One’s own people always seem nicer than other folks’ people.

        Truth is, however, that we all came from nasty stock, and lots of us remain that way.

        Like

      2. Steve – The “Rus” (Viking tribes) began to organize in what is now the Ukraine, and also conquered and colonized what is now the UK and northern France in Normandy. I was only referring to their travels in North America. Their long boats were ideal to navigate the rivers of England, France and Russia.

        Like

Comments are closed.