The dismal 2012

sparklersTomorrow winds up The Unseen Moon’s first calendar year, so let’s take a look back at the highlights of this dismal 2012.

I say dismal because, in spite of all common sense to the contrary, the American people re-elected Barack Obama.

Yes, politics took center stage here in 2012. There were posts galore on why Obama had no business being president in the first place, much less re-elected. If I had to pick one for illustration, it would be 66 reasons to defeat Obama.

But enough of that. The American people have baked their cake, and now they must thrust their faces into the ongoing glop. I am happy I live elsewhere.

And politics have dropped into the background here.

* * * *

The post that scored 2012’s highest number of viewers, surpassing even the Cuba epic, was my take on Todd Akin’s unwise comments on rape during his election campaign. I cleverly titled that piece Dear Gloria Steinem.

One reader subsequently described that post as a “train wreck.” Perhaps.

There were a good number of comments that I labeled at the time — and I stick to that opinion — as hysterical. Mostly from women, of course.

It was clear that those who left opposing comments had not grasped what I wrote. They reacted as if I were defending rape, which I had not, of course.

When I pointed out this misreading repeatedly and asked for specific rebuttals to what I had actually written, not what they imagined I had written, no one did so or even tried. Tsk, tsk. They simply wanted to be offended, and that makes civil discussion impossible. It’s today’s left-wing world.

If you’re foaming at the mouth, you can’t say anything sensible.

I had to close comments on that post on the same day, the only time I’ve done that, due to the hysteria. Warning:  We will not resume it here today. The election is over, and the lesser of the two evils lost.

* * * *

Another highlight of 2012 was the post on our week-long anniversary trip to the communist dictatorship of Cuba. It was titled Belly of the beast. A second post on the trip was Havana hookers, etc.

The Cuba epic was the longest post I’ve ever written, either here or during the six-year hit run of The Zapata Tales, which is now offline.

Visiting Cuba, which I will not do again, was a fascinating experience and my first trip to a communist police state. It was not, however, my first dictatorship. That was Haiti, which I visited twice during the 1970s, the Duvalier despotism.

Right-wing dictators are less oppressive than their left-wing counterparts, so if you’re ever in doubt, hang a right at the first Red light.

The first Cuba post was serialized in a Texas weekly, which is published by a former Houston Chronicle associate, John Toth, a good guy in spite of his voting for Obama. But what can you expect from a left-wing media mogul?

* * * *

The theme of The Unseen Moon  is, of course, Fact, Fiction and Opinion Stirred in an Odd Pot.  Among my favorite fictions here is The old wolf, but that appeared in 2011. I mention it now for two reasons. I like it, and it was where the phrase The Unseen Moon  first popped into my head. Like magic.

Though the series called The Marbol Hotel  began in 2011, it ran well into 2012. I had fun writing that, but I think it may have run its course. Is the beautiful, blonde, heartless serial killer Kristanabel Wasoo gone for good? Dunno.

Will there be no more bloody roast beefs and dark ales?

The series now has its own separate residence.

Another fiction that makes me proud is The girl in the dark blue dress, which is a five-parter. The others are two, three, four and the shocking finale.

I am particularly fond of The broken staircase, so fond that it’s now the top item in The Pearls of Zapata. Perhaps the fetching, red-tressed midget named Vulpine will appear in these pages in the future. It’s hard to know.

* * * *

And with that, we wave goodbye to 2012. But what better can we expect from a year that has the cursed number 13 hanging from its hind end?

No matter. May the Goddess smile on us all next year. We need it.

And may she smite the Muslim Brotherhood to smithereens.

* * * *

(A tip of the sombrero to Mérida, México, resident Marc Olson, who gave me the idea to write this year-end roundup by doing his own version first.)

20 thoughts on “The dismal 2012”

  1. I always enjoy your writings. Thanks for allowing us to run your Cuban observations. It made for good reading, and we received great feedback.

    Like

      1. Political discourse has its pitfalls, and we have managed to keep it polite for the most part.

        The nice thing about prime numbers is their mnemonic value. They are handy in trying to remember passwords that are compiled for their complexity.

        Like

        1. Norm: Political discourse here is done politely, or it isn’t done at all. You behave fairly well. Kudos to you. Others, not so much. Some I’ve had to block, sadly.

          For complex passwords, I leave it all in the hands of LastPass, a great program. That means I don’t even have to know what words like mnemonic mean.

          Like

          1. When I was studying at being a teacher, there was a whole course on mnemonics, ways to make the students remember abstract things without hurting their heads. In the middle ages, they used the cathedral to put things that were to be remembered. Whole courses of study were placed in niches spread through the vast chamber to be used as memory aids. We were expected to have similar tricks for our wards. Of course, that was before great programs were developed.

            Like

  2. A true train wreck: The train was plowing through a blizzard, when it came to a deep valley, of course the bridge decided to fall in at the moment of crossing. It was in the day; they heated the train cars with coal, wooden cars with broken people and broken stoves, fire took those who survived the plunge. They are making a movie about it for PBS .

    One train wreck in many a snowy crossing, I’ll ride with you to the next station.

    Have a wonderful, healthy new year.

    Like

  3. We all deserve a medal for surviving 2012, a parody of Dickens’ — the best of times and the worst of times. It’s getting tougher to distinguish the lesser of two evils. The dictatorships in the ABC nations were no picnic, regardless of the political symbol.

    Like

    1. Andres: The ABC nations sent me to Google. I had never heard the term, or if I had, I had forgotten it. Dictatorships anywhere are no picnic. It is a constant source of consternation and amazement to me how the collectivists try to so hard to see good in the Cuban oppression. I know some of them personally.

      I read recently that younger Russians are now pining for the Good Old Days of Soviet communism, something they do not remember first-hand. It’s hard to maintain hope for humanity.

      Like

    1. Andean: Same to you, Señora Andean. It’s always a pleasure to hear from you. I just got a year-end report from WordPress that gave me all manner of statistics. You were either the No. 3 or No. 4 commenter here (I forget which at the moment) in 2012. I appreciate the feedback which, oddly, few readers ever do at all.

      Like

  4. The Unseen Moon is a site that I check daily in hopes of finding a new posting (my favorite topic is political correctness) and I’m amazed at your variety of subject matter and how often you post. I realize that you are a writer by trade and the words seem to flow easily for you. Still, it’s a lot of work to write funny, thoughtful, imaginative, and historically correct articles as often as you do. I just wanted to let you know how much I enjoy and appreciate your web site.

    Like

    1. Paul: Thank you very much. I wish I had a million commenters like you. As for being a writer by trade, I wasn’t. Perhaps I am splitting hairs, but I was an editor, not a writer, even though you have to know proper English to be an editor, which I do for the most part. However, I couldn’t diagram and
      label a sentence if my life depended on it. And I do not know a lot of big, fancy words, which is just as well because I think simplicity is best. Big, fancy words are avoided in newspapers, so I never got into the habit of using them.

      As for words flowing easily, they do, and it’s a source of endless amazement to me. Sometimes months or even years after I write something here (or The Zapata Tales before), I re-read it and am really surprised. It’s as if another person did it. I can indeed be quite funny, and I don’t know where that comes from either, and it’s so easy most of the time. It’s all a talent I was born with, obviously, and it’s effortless. One reads about the work required to write well. Pooh. I do not sweat over any of this, ever. And it’s a talent I was mostly unaware of till I turned 55 and quit working for a living.

      And, obviously, PC is one of my favorite topics. It is ruining Western Civilization, and so few know it. They will know it in time, but they likely will not connect the dots.

      Thanks again.

      (P.S. Don’t know why your comment was sent to moderation. It’s not your first comment. I think it’s because you changed the name, even though the email was the same.)

      Like

Comments are closed.