In the hospital

BedMy child bride left by bus yesterday morning, destination Querétaro, a city about three hours away.

She’s visiting a half-brother who’s been in the hospital a month. His first three weeks were in intensive care.

He has some sort of encephalitis, which is very bad news.

My wife is a worry wart on sunny days, so you can imagine the atmosphere hereabouts in the last month. The good news is that the brother seems to be improving. Very slowly, which is typical of the illness.

This brother, age 40, his wife and new baby, his mother, a sister and a brother also live in Querétaro. Three more siblings live in Morelia.

An oddity of public hospitals here is that you often are more in the care of your family than in the care of the hospital staff. So this has been hard on the relatives who live in Querétaro who have been spending lots of time at the bedside.

This is my wife’s second visit. A few days after learning about the illness, we drove to Querétaro and spent one night in a hotel.

They’re getting help from the Jehovah’s Witnesses, members of which are contributing their time watching over the patient.

My wife’s stepmother was shanghaied by Jehovah’s Witnesses about 25 years ago at a hospital after her husband died and she was vulnerable. She became one, and so did a fair number of her many offspring.

The patient and his wife, an indigenous woman from Oaxaca, are Jehovah’s Witnesses too.

My wife spent all of last night at the hospital, likely will do so again tonight, and probably will return home tomorrow, quite beat. She has a sad history with brothers. Two were murdered years back in unrelated events.

And now this.

21 thoughts on “In the hospital”

  1. Felipe, I am sorry. I too lost a brother a few years ago and it hurts very deeply. Having already lost two, she must be terrified for this one. I hope your brother-in-law recovers and your wife finds some peace.

    Like

    1. Ms. Merida: I am optimistic. The affliction, though very serious, usually is not fatal. Mostly, it’s a question of time, lots and lots of time. At the moment, he cannot breathe on his own, so he has mechanical help. I don’t think, however, that’s as bad as it sounds.

      Like

  2. Sad to hear, one of the negative issues of Mexico’s health-care system, but we must weigh the issue of the other side of the scale. NOB we would have all the additional staff, bloated staffing issues, attorneys just waiting for some minor fault to pounce upon to sue, whereas even NOB we had to have family members needing to overview minimal care, just in case. Somewhere we need to weigh in the balance.

    Hopefully, it will work out for the positive! Our thoughts and hopes go out for you and family.

    Like

    1. Tancho: Gracias. I absolutely prefer the health-care system down here by far. As I said, he’s in a public hospital, which can get a bit dicey, depending on where it is. It appears the one in Querétaro is above average. I am optimistic.

      Like

  3. Very sad about the brother, hope all goes well. Breathing by aid of a machine actually sounds quite serious. One of my brothers once had spinal encephilitis. He made a full recovery. Here’s to good thoughts for the brother, and a safe return for su esposa.

    Like

  4. I know a man who recently recovered from that affliction. About the same age and he is doing fine.

    I was worried “in the hospital” referred to your usually healthy, super-annuated self 🙂

    Like

    1. Carole: The doctors say his good physical condition before the affliction is a positive thing. He’s neither old nor young, also good.

      No, the patient is not me. I don’t recall being hospitalized since I was 19 years old. The Air Force hospitalized me when I had mononucleosis. You don’t normally get hospitalized for that, but if you’re in the military, you either have to go to your job or be hospitalized. There’s no middle ground. At least not when I was in.

      Like

Comments are closed.