Bounding from bed

JumpBounding out of bed is less an option these days. I blame it on the years.

My sister, who is 3.5 years older than I am, once told me that she began to really notice her age after 65.

I was 65 when she told me that. Now I’m 68, and I have found that she was quite correct. Or perhaps it was the power of suggestion.

Being 68 is not so old these days. But 100 years ago it was ancient. The life expectancy was 50 for American men in 1913. I’m glad those were not my times because my life only got good after  turning 50.

It would have been like dying at the dinner table just as the crème brûlée was being served by the butler. You crave that dessert.

I once bounded from bed most mornings, but not anymore. I work up to it. I lie there and let the body come slowly to life. It takes a bit.

And I look at the sunrise.

I can bound, but I don’t want to. The flesh rebels. You must not ignite the rockets till all systems are good to go, as they say.

My mother, who died at 90, spent about 30 minutes every morning during her final decade waking up her components. She would lie in bed, and do stretching exercises that had been recommended by a doctor.

Sometimes I would sit on a chair and talk to her.

But I’m nowhere near 90, and I’m primed in three or four minutes.

The crème brûlée is still on my plate.

8 thoughts on “Bounding from bed”

  1. Due to baby, whose appetite demanded that we get up throughout the night, we also laid lifeless for a few minutes each morning for nearly a year. Now he sleeps at night, as do we. And we can again bound from bed, as we hope to do so for many mornings to come (excluding postpartum years).

    Like

  2. Exempting the qualifications for advice that you have relayed previously, and duly taken note of, I think the Sis speaks with clarity about this subject. Only being of age gives one authority to understand. Power of Suggestion? Nah! Live it to believe it!

    Like

    1. Parker: I don’t recall any qualifications for advice recently given, but then there are lots of things I do not remember. As for my sister’s clarity, she does get it correct now and then. You are right in that one understands a lot when the years pile up. Sometimes not. My sister comes to mind there too. The not understanding.

      Like

  3. Señor Felipe! You are a young man, someday I will be your neighbour and we will go for a one hour walk in the morning at 7:00 AM. Followed by a healthy breakfast made by your child bride. There will be hot coffee, fresh juice, eggs, toast and sweat!!!! And we will enjoy it!

    Like

    1. Peter: I am young in relation to some people. My aunt is in her late 80s. My mother was, as stated, 90 when she sailed off into the blue. Bertrand Russell was 97 when he waved goodbye.

      You will be my neighbor? Oh, my.

      Like

  4. Each day is new to me with having osteo-arthritis in my knees. It came on so quickly after breaking my leg at age 60 . Such a sudden downturn in mobility. However, I try to be the Energizer battery and just keeps going!!!!!! You have a wonderful life and not everyone can say that.

    Cheers to you and your child bride.

    Like

    1. Shelagh: I am sorry to hear of the leg-breaking and subsequent arthritis. What lousy luck. I have never broken a bone in my life. Knock on wood.

      But your attitude sounds superlative, a great thing. Cheers to you too.

      Like

Comments are closed.