The clock-watcher

We all have our lunacies. Mine is time.

clockI wear my watch always, even when I sleep at night. I don’t need the watch because a backlit clock sits on my bedside stand displaying my progress through the dark night.

But I wear the watch anyway, just in case.

The only time, so to speak, that I do not wear my watch is in the shower. I could buy a waterproof watch, but my obsession stops a hair short of that.

This time fixation applies also to years. Ages captivate me, especially that of people. My child bride, on the other hand, likely could not tell you my age or hers either, for that matter. To me, that’s a mystifying way to live.

In my last home in Houston, a two-bedroom condo I rented on Braes Bayou, where I lived alone, I had a clock on the wall in every room, including the john. I don’t think I slept with my watch in those days, but I could be mistaken.

The time obsession is likely related to being well-organized. I am exceptionally well-organized, so much so that I’ve been the target of humor, some mean-spirited, some not. But I got the last laugh.

Most of the chuckles came from my coworkers. But they’re still toiling at their desks to pay debts. I have no debts, and haven’t had any in a very long time. That’s part of being organized, plus keeping your eye on the hour and year.

As I end this, it is 9:18 a.m. And all’s well.

22 thoughts on “The clock-watcher”

  1. This post reminded me of a poem by George Bilgere called ‘Going to Bed.’ Google it if you’ve a mind to.

    And another thing – being debt-free opens more doors than most folks realize.

    Like

    1. Loulou: I did read the poem, and was grateful for its brevity since I am not a poetry fan. Thanks for that.

      And yes, debt-free is a blessed state. I recommend it to one and all.

      And wear a good watch while you’re at it.

      Like

  2. Now I know what to get you for Christmas, a WWV synced clock, accurate to 0.0000023 at the National Bureau of Standards in Colorado.

    Like

  3. I thought you being a Mexican means your time is no longer on the gringo clock. I’m hoping to be more off the gringo clock soon.

    Like

  4. The longer I am in Honduras, the less I live by the clock. Except we demand punctuality of our young charges. They enter our program at exactly 1:15 pm and turn away latecomers at 1:25 pm. However, Hondurans as a whole are not punctual. And yes. I live debt free, having been more frugal than most of my family when it came to conserving a family inheritance. It’s nice to not stress about that now that I am quite near the half-century mark.

    Like

    1. Laurie: Hondurans as a whole are not punctual? Well, you show me where punctuality exists in any Latino land, and I’ll send you a fat check.

      Congrats on the frugal life. It pays off, so to speak.

      Like

  5. I tossed my watch when I moved south. OK. I know that sounds like one of those pretentious declarations mouthed by people who think of themselves as elite — such as, another phrase that I often state with moral superiority: “I don’t watch television.”

    Both are essentially lies. I have plenty of time pieces embedded in my electronic gear. Time enmeshes me.

    As for debt, my last one (the house mortgage) was paid off six years ago. From here on out, I have a cash and carry life. And as I get older, I suspect the emphasis will be on carry.

    Like

    1. Steve: I have little electronic gear, so my watch is essential. And I do watch television, but it’s mostly movies these days since I recently enlisted with Netflix, which I do love..

      As for your cash and carry, don’t try to pretend you’re anywhere near poor. I know better. You were a lawyer.

      Like

  6. Before I moved to Mexico I bought a Casio waterproof watch with a ten year battery. I’m doing my best to outlive the battery. I’ve worn a watch since I was seven, since my father was a watchmaker and jeweler. I feel naked without my watch on. I’m obsessed with both time and weather, and was delighted to find out the Spanish word for time also means weather.

    Like

    1. Andres: We have something in common. Actually, I’ve noticed we have a good number of things in common except a political worldview.

      A Casio with a ten-year battery. Never heard of that. I sport a common Citizen, run by motion. I cannot wear a battery watch because I kill them dead within about 24 hours. This is an odd phenomenon, and I am not the only person to exhibit it.

      Yes, tiempo means weather. There’s clima too.

      Like

      1. Off-topic and thread stealing, my brother can’t wear any type of watch. They all stop working, the electric ones never work again. Some type of magnetic thing, I guess.

        Like

        1. Kris: Not off-topic at all. I brought up this weird phenomenon. My maternal grandfather had the same problem as your brother, I vaguely remember. He could not wear any watch. They all stopped dead. I remember many years ago that Ann Landers, or maybe it was Dear Abby, mentioned this in her column and solemnly declared it an urban myth.

          It’s no myth, however.

          Like

  7. Time seems so relative to me. One hour in the dentist’s chair getting drilled seems the same as one month on a wonderful vacation.

    As far as a clock in the bathroom!?! How long did you plan on being in there? You are not alone. I once pet sat for a neighbor, and he had a large wall clock in his bathroom. I could never figure out why.

    Like

      1. I’ve heard claims that we spend as much time each year in the bathroom as we do on vacation. I would assume that applies to those not yet retired.

        Like

Comments are closed.