One fine day

This is Greece, not Mexico.

There’s nothing like the departure of nasty and the arrival of lovely, plus Tony Bennett singing Long  Ago and Far Away  from the living room, to raise one’s ánimo, which means mood in español.

We just suffered through a couple of uncharacteristically difficult days as a front passed over, a gift from the Gringos or perhaps the Canucks.

It can be hard to tell those two gangs apart.

But it did not freeze. It just rained a lot, and cold, which is odd for March in these parts. But today dawned blue, cool and lovely, so we’re going to celebrate by making Greek chicken in the crockpot for lunch tomorrow.

When I think of Greece, I think of my mother who died at 90 a few years back. She dreamed of visiting the Greek islands, but never did. She left the United States just twice, briefly, once to Canada and once to Mexico.

A visit to the supermarket is in order. I’ll also pick up the makings for caldo de res, a specialty of my child bride. That will be lunch the following day.

So we will be traveling in a manner over two days of dining. To Greece and then back to Mexico where today it is blue and cool and beautiful, and white egrets and black ravens fly through the mountains as I write this.

Thanks for listening.

18 thoughts on “One fine day”

  1. That’s Santorini in the pic, on the edge of the volcanic caldera that blew out eons ago.

    I made chicken pozole yesterday with real, dried white corn kernels. It was OK in my opinion but my husband said it was spot on. I prefer arroz con pollo when it’s cold.

    Like

    1. Carole: I don’t see that Republican anywhere in the photo, but I’ll take your word for it.

      My wife makes a mean green pozole, the color I prefer. Cold arroz con pollo?! Yipes. I like it hot.

      Like

  2. Steve Cotton made an outstanding Greek Salad. I may emulate him today.
    Yesterday evening, we had homemade French Onion Soup Au Gratin. Very nice on a cold, rainy night.

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

  3. The Don beat me to my comment. It appears we are both on culinary journeys to Greece.

    When I lived there, I was not a fan of Kalamata olives and feta. My tastes have improved. Maybe I should live there another year and truly enjoy myself.

    Like

  4. On our way to Crete we landed on Santorini. I asked my fellow passenger what that little dusty brown road was. The runway, he answered. Oh no, well, we landed safely, let people out, backed up to the very end of the runway and then gunned the engines to the max and released the brakes! We got liftoff just prior to falling into the sea. Man, what a takeoff. Favourite foods are the usual Greek dishes, but saganaki cheese and dolmades made with zucchini blossoms are out of this world. Raki was always a nice touch after a big lunch or dinner. Of all the places we have been Peter loved Crete the most. He still pines for it.

    Like

  5. As for combining “Gringos and Canucks”, young sir, I’ll have you know we are a hardy bunch, us Canuckians. The coolish weather we send you helps keep your saggy, almost Mexican hide nice and taut as you reach your elder years.

    You are quite welcome to slag our health care and our love affair with the Obama clan (I think Michelle is a peach), but don’t be messin with our weather factors, we’s a healthy bunch up here with our igloos and the mooses. Did I mention bears? We have bears, big bears. Got cougars too, they’re people eaters, be careful, we might send them next.

    Like

    1. Señor Peterson: Don’t think for a moment that I do not appreciate the cool weather you Canucks send our way because I certainly do. Plus, we get it without snowdrifts.

      And since you brought up Michelle, I have to tell you: She is no peach.

      Like

  6. Mother nature has been quite unpredictable this year. It’s still cold and snowy here. And in between, we had some beautiful, blue skyed, warmer days.

    Well, the good thing about reading two posts in one morning about good food was the encouragement to cook. An omelet, with feta, red onion and green olives was brunch. Tonight, beef brisket with yellow rice sounds about right for a cozy evening of warm food.

    !Anîmate chico!

    Like

    1. Andean: Unpredictable is right. We sailed right into March without a single overnight freeze which normally is common in winter. And then it froze two consecutive nights in the first week of March. Dang.

      Feta, red onions and olives. Ah!

      Like

  7. We had a week of unusually cool and wet weather in Honduras. I fixed Pasta e Fagioli, a wonderful Italian bean soup. One day it was very cool, so I turned on the oven, and I prepared oven-fried chicken. Alas, today the warm weather has returned. I won’t turn on the oven until June, I think.

    Like

  8. Prepare the chicken as if you are going to fry it on the cooktop. Add a coat of panko crumbs. Heat the skillet with butter at the bottom of pan (a couple of tbs) then add skinless chicken. Turn once. Tastes like fried chicken but much less grease and mess.

    For less fat, use thin boneless strips of chicken or pork, follow same as above, omit all butter, line pan with foil and bake. Tastes almost as good as fried chicken.

    I rarely do either one above as I like grilled meats. However both are healthy alternatives to frying conventionally and add a bit of novelty to my diet.

    Like

Comments are closed.