The pastries

A mil hojas cake.

My child bride has turned into a baking fanatic. It’s almost nonstop now at the Hacienda, and we trip over one another in the kitchen as I try, for instance, to make a nice salad for supper. Or a lunch of minestrone.

You would not believe the sticky pans and dishes this endeavor generates, and I have become the default dishwasher.

She makes a mountain of various pastries that she sells out of a huge sombrero-shaped basket on the downtown plaza once a week, but she also makes this cake you see above for her sister’s coffee shop.

I am happy she found this hobby. It generates a good bit of cash and, more importantly, it keeps her from jumping out of her skin.

She is not a low-key person. She’s like a Harley-Davidson with the throttle stuck wide open while I, on the other hand, am an idling Vespa.

18 thoughts on “The pastries”

    1. Steve: The other day I complained that she was making something for her sister or whatever, and we had no jalapeño cornbread. Half an hour later, there they were, and she was still working on the other thing. Freaking incredible.

      Like

  1. My closest friend in Honduras is like your wife, not so much in regard to cooking, but she always has lots of projects going on at the same time. I am like the idling Vespa. Or a turtle basking in the sun on a warm afternoon.

    Like

    1. Laurie: I’m not sure I quite understand people who can’t sit still. But I have come to accept it. Actually, it leaves me pretty much free to do whatever I want, which often is nothing much at all.

      Like

  2. The depicted cake has the look of a mille-feuille, a classic French pastry composed of many thin, crisp layers filled with a rich pastry creme lightened with whipped cream. They are laborious to make. Perhaps we gringos know it better as a “Napoleon”.

    My congratulations to Sra. Zapata for her skill and above all her patience. 😉

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

    1. Señor Cuevas: A closer look at the caption under the photo, admittedly too light, but I cannot make it darker, reveals that it’s indeed a mille-feuille, which is mil hojas in Spanish. And it is laborious to make, but she churns those babies out many times a week, but never more than one a day.

      Like

  3. Lucky guy, but you already knew that! I can just envision it now, a nice small pastry shop on the plaza sharing the space with her sister.

    I have a good friend who owns a bakery NOB and has put through several kids through college by making wedding cakes. There is a ton of money in those multi-level towers, especially by someone who likes what they do.

    A new profit center for the Zapata family.

    Like

    1. Tancho: She wants a pastry shop, and if her sister would rent her the small space next to the coffee shop, she would have one. Luckily for me, her sister is a crab, so that ain’t gonna happen, which is my preference. I would lose her entirely, I fear.

      Like

  4. I don’t know who bakes the pastries for La Surtidora but we’ve had some heavenly pasteles de tres leches there. The cake in your pic would be high on my list to eat with un cafecito.

    Like

    1. Carole: It’s quite possible that Surtidora, like many places here, including my sister-in-law, gets its pastries at CostCo in the state capital.

      CostCo makes great stuff.

      Next time you pass through here, I’ll try and have a fresh mil hojas waiting for you to enjoy a slice. Or two.

      Like

  5. Yum! Looks scrumptious. My wife is much the same – a fireball of energy – and much of it expended in the cocina as well. It is a wonder we keep our figures 😉

    Like

    1. Señor Calpyso: Indeed. I rarely eat the stuff. I attribute it to an iron will and steel disposition. She rarely eats it either. It does look quite tasty, however.

      One wonders, however. If our wives are such fireballs of energy, why did they marry old coots like us?

      Like

  6. An artist she is, your señora. What a wondful looking, and I’m sure tasting as well, “hojas cake.”

    We all have our personalities, enjoy hers and your day.

    Like

  7. There’s a song by Harry Belafonte – Shake, shake, shake, señora – that was in the movie Beetlejuice. All you have to do is change it from shake to bake.

    Like

Comments are closed.