Under the Sarape

Malcolm Lowry, a raving alcoholic who died prematurely, wrote a book titled Under the Volcano. Literary types have proclaimed it a masterpiece though, in fact, it is mostly incomprehensible.

sarapeJohn Huston made a movie out of it to boot. Those same literary sorts would label it a film.

I sleep under a wool sarape on chilly nights, and I think Under the Sarape  would make a fine title for a book, but an understandable one. Clarity and sobriety are always preferred.

It would also make an excellent title for a blog set in Mexico.*

Just this week we’ve begun sleeping with the bedroom window open because it’s starting to get a bit stuffy in the evenings. But by 4 a.m., it’s cold, and a cover is required. I toss the sarape over me. It’s kept at the foot of the bed.

It even has fringe on two sides.**

We’re in a transitional phase, weather-wise. A month from now, the night bedroom will start out stuffy, but it won’t be cold at 4 a.m. It will be pleasantly cool, and no sarape will be needed. We will sleep in PJs under a sheet and light blanket.

But the intersection of thoughts of the drunken Lowry and the sarape under which I snooze gelled in the Under the Sarape  idea. Remember that it’s mine, but you can use it for a reasonable monthly fee.

Under the Sombrero  is another fine idea, also mine, but you can have it for nothing if you are stone sober.  Under the Volcano  is taken.

* * * *

* Consider it copyrighted, amigos.

** I do not, however, sleep in a sombrero.

12 thoughts on “Under the Sarape”

  1. I have one of those blankets the viejito dancers wear. I haven’t weighed it but I’d bet the weight would be knocking on the door of 10 pounds. I know what I’ll take if there is ever a threat of being caught outside in a snowstorm for any length of time. I could fold up like a cocoon.

    Like

    1. Carole: Shortly after moving here, I too purchased a sarape that weighs a little shy of a ton. Finally, I sewed the head hole shut, and it’s serving quite well as a rug. A thick rug.

      The one I use on the bed is another one, not nearly so heavy.

      Like

  2. The weather in my neck of the woods is finally coming into spring, a pleasant season on the East coast, but transitional as you describe, ranging here from the 30’sF to 60F these days. So yes, an Ecuadorian alpaca blanket at the end of my bed does the trick. Very warm, no fringe, but a nice patterned burgundy color.

    Like

  3. I prefer the look and texture of the sarapes sold in San Cristóbal de las Casas compared to the ones I’ve seen in (your town), but they are only really needed on the mountaintops.

    Where I live only the cowboys, musicians and old folks wear a sombrero. Everyone else wears a gorra or cap with the logo of their favorite NBA, NFL or soccer team.

    Like

    1. Andres: I’ve never been to San Cristóbal, so I’ll have to take your word on it. And I don’t imagine that sarapes are usually needed in the tropical town in which you reside. Cooler, of course, where I am.

      Like

  4. That was good, Felipe.
    What would you charge me if I wanted to rent out “Under The Sarape” for a day? Or a night?

    I am not a member of the fringe element. Fringe tickles my face and disturbs my sleep.

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

  5. I once had a wool blanket from Mexico. Blue and white plaid with fringes. I loved it until something else tickled my fancy. Honduras, at least in the higher elevations is temperate, but I feel no need for wool. Cotton does the trick in these parts.

    Like

Comments are closed.