Dedicated to Daddy

Before
Before
During
During
After
After

My daddy, Emiliano, the generalissimo, rode atop his horse under a little roof like this at the gates of Hacienda de San Juan in the State of Morelos before he was shot dead in 1919 by Carranza’s pendejos.* Daddy was just 39.

Mama cried for years, and I miss him still.

I’ve long wanted a similar roof of clay tile over our own Hacienda’s entrance, and now I have it, thanks to a couple of sharp albañiles, which is what we call guys who build stuff below the Rio Bravo.

It took the fellows, two brothers, three days to complete the job, and the total cost, labor and materials, came to about $445. That’s U.S. bucks.

I wish Daddy could see the gate. He’d be very old now, but he’d likely rush through the gates with his pistols blazing. Wouldn’t fool Daddy twice.

* * * *

* Pendejo means sumbitch in Spanish.

20 thoughts on “Dedicated to Daddy”

  1. When is the dedication for your porte-cochère planned? I would like to be sure and not miss it, I am sure this will be the premier social event of this year!
    Glad to see you are doing projects, now you need to get that art studio with southern facing windows done so you can work on your art, so you can support yourself in the style becoming you.

    Like

    1. Tancho: Party plans to be announced. You’ll be the first to know, of course.

      May is a good month to do projects. It’s bone dry.

      My art days are behind me, never to be reborn.

      Like

  2. The dastardly dude Carranza got his upcommance a year later in May of 1920, while attempting to escape Mexico with his life on the road to Veracruz. The fickle finger of fate killed him deader than a door nail.

    Like

    1. Andres: Just about all the major leaders of the Revolution were killed by it. Gen. Huerta hightailed it to Europe and survived, if memory serves me. He’s about the only one. I could be wrong, but most of them went down, some quite late, like the pendejo Villa.

      Like

  3. What are you growing in that garden? Seven varieties of weed or weeds? Because yo’ daddy was a cracker from Florida, wasn’t he?

    Like

    1. The generalissimo was my daddy! Read the sidebar item titled Felipe.

      Of course, you likely are thinking of that other fellow (my alter ego’s old man), but he was a cracker from Georgia, not Florida.

      Like

    1. Steve: They could do worse, and have. I think my quirky personality keeps them away. The local Gringos used to do a home tour during the Day of the Dead festivities, but I think that’s kaput. I could be wrong, as always.

      Like

      1. DIY, at least in the planning and designing stage, is very wise, and humility is a wonderful trait to possess.

        Like

    1. Señor Sparks: The other option, of course, is cement. It would have taken longer to build, and it would not have looked as nice. And wood is less a problem here nearer the clouds.

      Like

Comments are closed.