Wacky world

nutty

Hardly a morning dawns that I don’t look toward the sunrise coming over the Sierra and give a gracious gracias  to the unseen Goddess that I don’t live in what has become of the once-great United States of America.

It’s a nation sadly engulfed in silliness, therapies, irrationality, historical ignorance, organic  grub, radicalism, red ink and self-obsessed people.

Now hear this: The Centers for Disease Control has declared that up to 20 percent of American youth may be mentally ill.

The most common problems are anxiety and depression. Perhaps for not getting an invitation to the prom. America spends, or so it is reported, about $247 billion yearly to diagnose and treat these “illnesses.”

More emotionally stable societies (like the one I blessedly live in) would see this alleged insanity as hormones and . . . kids growing up.

* * * *

(Art by Kevin Rooke.)

15 thoughts on “Wacky world”

  1. When I misbehaved in primary school the teacher slammed his ruler down on the table and yelled, “Randle, sit down and shut up”! Now kids get pills, counseling and visits to the shrink. The same teacher would end up fired and maybe even in jail. Progress!

    Like

  2. There are too many counselors on the public teat, so the dependance continues to escalate.

    What was once taken care of either in the classroom or at home, with a swift kick or slap to put someone in line, now has to be over-analyzed and understood.
    There are some kids that just need a slap to get their attention back to what is important. When that discipline stopped, the real disabilities started.

    I understand that attention-deficit disorder which is not treated with drugs was cured with a few slaps with a ruler, which the nuns that taught my class were experts at. After a slap or two, there were never any other problems, and drugs and understanding and compassion was not needed.

    We didn’t have ADD. We had kids that needed to keep their attention on what was demanded.

    Like

    1. Tancho: I don’t buy ADD or that bipolar business either. The therapy industry invents illnesses so they can pin a label on stuff they don’t understand.

      Like

      1. Your post — especially, your exchange with Tancho — reminds me of one of my favorite spoof songs from The Capitol Steps to the tune of “Windmills of Your Mind.” They call theirs “Take Ten Pills and You’re Fine.”

        “Son’s on Ritalin and Bextra
        We thought he had ADD
        But it turns out that the whole time
        He is just an SOB.”

        I could not have said it better myself. For some reason, the Portland OPB types, who love the anti-Bush jokes, never laugh at that line.

        Like

  3. My intro psych class said that 1 in 10 of the general population are bonkers. That was 1975. I’ve run across the 1 in 5 number a few times regarding folks that are only half bonkers. The good thing is that the number of real bonker types, the ones that might try to eat you or something along that line are very rare. I suspect it is more of the human condition than just being a US citizen. But who knows? You could be right.

    Like

    1. I think you missed the point, Norm. The point being that the CDC says 20 percent of U.S. adolescents are mentally ill, which is poppycock, and that $247 BILLION is spent annually to “treat” them.

      It’s total nonsense. All of it.

      As for my being right, I’m always right hereabouts. Sometimes I am wrong on other websites. But never here.

      Like

      1. I got your point and it is old news, it is not just the kids but the general population of humanity where one in five is a bit off their rock. Ask any teacher, policeman or civic leader and they will tell you the same. The course work I sat through almost 40 years ago said the same thing the government is saying today. The more things change the more it is the same.
        Men would come to me when I was doing union work complaining about someone they had to work with with a refrain that so and so was crazy. My response was , ” I agree, so do not expect rational behavior, it is the nature of crazy”. We had some great discourse on this subject, relating to just what the percentage of crazy people there were in our polity.
        As to treatment, your right there, it’s hard to fix crazy. I’m sure when I was a lad, I would have been in the 20% , I had a hair trigger and left a string of broken noses behind me in school. I let them walk away today, I aged out of it.

        Like

  4. Big Pharma is making a killing as they destroy the young, pushing speed and downers to little kids so they will “behave” in school. The schools encourage this because it means more money. The shrinks are thrilled because it means more money. Crazy is big business.

    Like

  5. My grandson Jake has ADD. It is an anxiety disorder of some sort. They’re researching the problem. They being my daughter, son-in-law and some research people. Jake’s cool, I like him a lot, he kinda tells you what is and what isn’t. One day he told my daughter he was not going to school anymore that year because he had learned enough for now and needed time to sort it all out, but he would go back to school next term to learn more if that was OK with everyone. It wasn’t.

    Jake lives in Jake World. He really dosn’t like a lot of people around him. He says it confuses him. He likes quiet. He likes alone time. He tries to fit in but can’t. Sometimes Jake does stupid stuff trying to be one of the boys as it were. It’s a concern for when he gets older because he can get talked into stuff. We’re trying for a special school for Jake, one where he can be accepted for who he is. Is he on drugs? I don’t think so, but he will be, I think. There is a problem. Will he grow out of it? Nobody knows, probably not. Where did it come from? Well, when he was just a toddler, he was in and out of the hospital a lot, much probing and prodding with his gizzards … made him anxious as to what was going to happen to him next. In the old days (your time and mine) Jake would have been probably whacked with a ruler, given detentions and have low grades. Wouldn’t have amounted to much. Just to mention, Jake’s a wizard with computers, anything with buttons, beepers and whatchamacallits. Makes me sit in wonder.

    Like

    1. Bob: I stick with my contention that there is no such thing as ADD or that bipolar business either. That’s not to say that Jake’s not a rare boy. Sounds like he is. Many of those traits of his you mention also apply to me.

      With luck he will grow out of much of this.

      Like

Comments are closed.