Hello, feet!

For most of my life, living in warm, sultry climes from New Orleans to San Juan and other hot spots in between, I was well acquainted with my feet because I was often sans socks, and I wore sandals.

Then I moved 7,200 feet into the sky, and it’s quite cool up here. I wear socks all the time. The only moments during which my feet and I renew our acquaintance are the few seconds after the shower and before I don clean socks.

It is during that brief time that I tend to foot hygiene. FYI.

sockI sleep in socks. I am always in socks. I couldn’t pick my feet out of a lineup no matter how much you paid me. We have drifted apart, gone our separate ways. We have different interests.

They might even have voted for Obama, the rascals.

But something odd has happened recently. We are in the waning days of the dry, “hot” season. I put hot in quotes because anyone in New Orleans would scoff at what we deem hot here atop the mountain.

In the late afternoon and early evening, my feet cry to be free. So I doff my socks for a few hours, and there they are. Friends from distant days, my feet.

But I know this re-acquaintance will be short-lived. We’ve been getting showers recently, not the full-blown, cooling dailies of the rainy season, but it won’t be long till my feet must be sent back into sock exile.

I will miss them.

* * * *

(Note: Yes, the photo is a sock. I spared you a shot of feet, which are almost always unsightly, except occasionally on a woman.)

16 thoughts on “Hello, feet!”

  1. I hate the sock. It always feels like it’s encroaching on my foot, invading the space between my toes, and wrinkling under my sole. Then when I pull it up to avoid the non-existent wrinkle, the sock is choking my toes.

    My feet were the happiest in Puerto Escondido when they only had to endure flip flops or Tevas. When I moved to your region, the sock became occasionally worn, and now, back in Canada, the feet are clothed for about eight months of the year. They love summer, when they get to see the world. Their moment in the sun has arrived for the year, and they are loving it!

    Like

  2. My feet live in a nudist colony. They are besocked only when I put on my long pants and go-to-town shoes on my trips to Manzanillo. But it is not the socks they resist. What they detest are shoes. Even my almost-naked Eccos. After wearing sandals for so long, my feet have returned to their natural ducky shape. And no shoe fits that racial profile. For happy feet, I will even tolerate the summer tropical heat in Melaque — where we think the citizens of New Orleans are sissies.

    Like

    1. Steve: Clearly, you have never lived in New Orleans. I vaguely recall your telling me that you’ve never even set foot there, so to speak.

      I have been in both Melaque and New Orleans.

      To paraphrase Texas Sen. Lloyd Bentsen: I know New Orleans. New Orleans was a friend of mine. Melaque is no New Orleans.

      There is no ocean breeze in New Orleans. Ever. It sits stranded next to a huge lake on one side and swamps on the others. Six months or more of the year, the heat is relentless, and it’s not just that. There’s the humidity. It’s like living in a sauna.

      New Orleans is not for sissies. Melaque is, which is one reason so many Canucks and misguided Oregonians hang out there.

      Like

  3. I, like Steve, only put on socks with shoes along with long pants when I leave the house to go to town. Because of this my shoes are getting tighter as time goes by. I seem to enjoy wearing sandals 90% of the time and use to be ridiculed in school for wearing them when I was a child. That may explain my interaction with other people.

    I only wear socks here between November and March, sometimes even to bed.

    Like

    1. Tancho: I am a big fan of sandals, but I have found them to be perilous on cobblestone streets, especially after a major swan dive here a few years ago, a dive that was directly related to the sandals on my feet. So, no more sandals. Pity.

      Like

      1. Have a look at Tevas. They are supportive enough that they can be used for climbing. Some of the copycat brands are good too, but Tevas are the real deal. Most comfortable thing I’ve ever had on my feet. There are even some of thtree-hugger types that wear them with socks in winter.

        Socks and sandals is not a style I applaud.

        Like

        1. Kris: I have high-end, very comfortable sandals. I forget the brand, and they’re downstairs at the moment. I don’t, however, find them intelligent on cobblestones. Maybe it’s just me.

          When I do wear sandals, which I do not anymore, I like socks with them. And I do get ridiculed for it. But I care not.

          Like

    1. Aw, Carole, pedicures are for girly men. But aside from that, there are two other reasons not to get a pedicure. 1. As mentioned, my feet are hidden 99 percent of the year. 2. I’m not sure why the feet would thank me because they have no complaints with life now. They are quite content.

      Like

        1. Oh, I have a few rough spots, sure, evidence of a life long-lived. But I balk at becoming a girly man to remove them, especially since they are no bother to me.

          Like

  4. I detest socks, of all kinds and colors. I have very wide feet, (EEE). This is why I have superior balance. The act of donning socks is a pain. I do wear them when the temps here in Detroit dip below 45 degrees. All socks voted for G.W. Bush!

    Like

    1. Jeepers, Francisco, those are some real plates you got down there. Of course, you are well balanced.

      As for Dubya, I was never much of a fan, none actually, but he sure is looking good in retrospect. I bet he wears socks all the time, kind of required with cowboy boots.

      Like

  5. In a random population sample of Basel city, 2,800 subjects aged 20-40 years were asked to complete a questionnaire evaluating the extent of cold extremities. Values of cold extremities were based on questionnaire-derived scores. The correlation of age, gender, and BMI to TDCE was analyzed using multiple regression analysis.

    Results
    A total of 1,001 women (72.3% response rate) and 809 men (60% response rate) returned a completed questionnaire. Statistical analyses revealed the following findings: Younger subjects suffered more intensely from cold extremities than the elderly, and women suffered more than men (particularly younger women). Slimmer subjects suffered significantly more often from cold extremities than subjects with higher BMIs.

    Conclusions
    Thermal discomfort with cold extremities (a relevant symptom of primary vascular dysregulation) occurs at highest intensity in younger, slimmer women and at lowest intensity in elderly, stouter men.

    Like

    1. Andres: I am, ahem, older, but sleek, not stout. I have noticed growing sensitivity to cold in my feet in recent years. Not hands though.

      This is one reason I always sport socks. Well, almost always.

      These stats you cite say younger people suffer most from cold extremities, but I have read (and personally experienced) that older people have that problem more often. Due to circulation problems.

      So, who knows?

      Like

Comments are closed.