Cold July

Okay, it’s not quite July, but it’s close.

I spent many of my years praying for a life in cooler climes, where I did not have to sweat eight months of the year. And my prayers were answered.

I just came inside after sweeping a lake off the downstairs terraza. The thermometer said 58 degrees, but it felt much cooler. The damp, no doubt.

Natalie/Anne
Smirker

It stormed last night while we were watching The Tudors on Netflix. We love Netflix. Natalie Dormer, the smirking actress who plays Anne Boleyn is about to die, and we’re glad for that.

Last night’s rain included hail, which shredded yard plants, but at least the lights did not go out. The previous night brought a similar storm, a monstrous blow, and the lights did go out.

We were watching Natalie Portman’s contrasting film portrayal* of Boleyn when we were plunged into darkness, but it did not last long, and soon we were again in the tumultuous court of Henry VIII, a real pendejo.**

This evening we will continue at court, being half through the television series. With luck, we’ll have no hail, no blackout, no terraza awash with water.

But it will be cool.

* * * *

* It’s a lousy movie, but the clothes are spectacular.

** This is a naughty word in Spanish.

12 thoughts on “Cold July”

  1. Michoacan is really cool in the good old summer time. Springtime is warmer than summer. In April and May my thermal comforter is too warm to use. After the summer solstice, it feels really comfy at night under the comforter. The summer rain is refreshing in the mountains. To obtain free air conditioning, simply open the window.

    Historically, I prefer the House of Tudor to the House of Windsor. In World War I they changed the name to Windsor, from the German Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, a family known for its insanity.

    Like

    1. Andres: That you ever sleep under a comforter in that town surprises me. It’s way too warm a city for me. I’m assuming the comforter is not goose down because you would cook.

      As for the Tudors and Windsors, you could put what I know about English royalty in a teacup, which is to say not much at all. My wife and I have read up a bit on Henry VIII and company due to the TV series, so we’re not quite as ignorant as before.

      Like

  2. I watched Breaking Bad on Netflix. Only recently, Honduras has access to Netflix. Breaking Bad is better than Henry and the girls. Try a few episodes. You will be hooked.

    Like

    1. Ms. Teguz: We have been hooked on Breaking Bad for a long time. We watched it every week on regular cable TV till the final season that was available in Mexico. It is on our Netflix too, but they are the seasons we have already seen. We’re waiting with much anticipation for another season on Netflix. Pray with us.

      Like

  3. Pendejo is a wonderful word. Flows so easily, sounds good, and nobody in Canada knows what it means, especially if they are one.

    Like

  4. The Tudors, eh? I would not take you for the trashy television sort. But I confess I watched it, as well. All of it.

    I persevered hoping the series would improve. It didn’t. And it certainly didn’t improve me.

    I am always surprised how television can take material that is replete with commentary on the human condition and veritably Shakespearean, and then slop it onto the screen framed with nothing but National Inquirer context.

    You may now take the talking stick.

    Like

  5. Cold, damp rain is just nasty. Especially when getting up in the morning. The best to do is a nice hot “cafecito.”

    I still prefer the heat of the tropics. Maybe because I am taken by the smell and sound of the ocean in the mornings, with long walks in the sand. It seems to be therapeutic.
    Of course, being an Andean I also appreciate the mountains. The view is like no other. Snowcapped or not, the sun plays wonderful pictures through the day. Mesmerizing. And if you haven’t lived it, it’s hard to explain.

    It’s one of those best-of-both-worlds experiences.

    Like

    1. Andean: After spending almost my entire life in southern heat, I’ve had it. Beaches are great for visits, but mountains are best for living. That’s my opinion.

      Like

  6. Oh, “pendejo.”

    The word gets thrown around quite frequently in some Latin countries, often in a joking manner to close friends and relatives.

    Like

Comments are closed.