Life without plan

Big Bird

I am utterly without a plan, and I don’t anticipate having a plan ever again.

Like a platonic Buddhist monk, or an aging hippie woman sitting on a hot rock near Santa Fe, I live in the present moment. My child bride is full of plans, but I have none, so we are in equilibrium, she and I, yin and yang.

When I abandoned my natal nation many years back, moving over the southern border, I had plans, and they were three.

1. Learn Spanish.

2. Find a bride.

3. With her help, buy property and build a home.

All were realized within three years, although No. 1 is an ongoing process.

These were simple plans, but they were big and important too. Since wrapping them up, I have no further plan in the portfolio because there is no portfolio.

Interestingly, I had no plan, on moving south, to become a Mexican citizen, but I have done that, and it was a smart move. Sometimes plans surprise you, leaping out of nowhere, depending on circumstances.

Arising from the king bed these mornings, I have chores, but no plans. Plans are larger than chores. Chores can be accomplished in one day, not plans.

Having no plan is liberating. I recommend it.

15 thoughts on “Life without plan”

    1. Andean: I suppose there are two levels to my notion of plan. A vacation plan is not what I am thinking of. I have a vacation plan at the moment. We will be in Puebla in about two weeks. Never been there.

      I favor vacation plans.

      Destiny takes care of itself.

      Like

  1. Your original plan, Felipe, was a foundation, which everything else is built on top of.

    I will liken him to a wise man, who built his house on a rock. The rain came down, the floods came, and the winds blew, and beat on that house; and it didn’t fall, for it was founded on the rock. Everyone who hears these words of mine, and doesn’t do them will be like a foolish man, who built his house on the sand. The rain came down, the floods came, and the winds blew, and beat on that house; and it fell — and great was its fall.

    — Matthew 7:24–27

    Like

Comments are closed.