A summer day

Saturday actually began in my mind on Friday night.

We stood at the dining room window in the dwindling moments of daylight, watching a bat fly in circles under the downstairs terraza roof.

When the light faded further, she flew out for a bug orgy.

Saturday morning started at 7:45 when we heard knocks at the back door, the steel portal that separates us from the cobblestones.

There’s no doorbell there.

It was the propane guys. Our tank was low, so they topped it off for 2,500 pesos, and we’re gassed for another five months or so.

At 10 a.m., Abel, the neighbor who cuts the grass, rang the bell at the front gate. I let him in. I came back inside. I heard the lawnmower start and, almost immediately, die. I went back outside. Something was amiss.

Abel left, and my child bride and I hoisted the mower into the Chevy-cito. When you remove the back seat, that car becomes a pickup truck.

It is a very sweet vehicle.

I drove to the repair shop down near the docks. The owner, a woman who’s a Jehovah’s Witness and who tried briefly to convert me once (What a waste of her time that was), called one of her guys to the rescue, and 20 minutes later I was headed back to the Hacienda with a fixed mower.

PineappleThe repair cost about five bucks, including a roll of Weedeater line. I tipped the repairman 10 pesos, which is about 85 cents. You can live cheaply here and fix stuff quick.

Abel lives just on the other side of the sex motel, so I braked to tell him he could come back, which he did, and cut the grass.

I had returned in time for Second Breakfast at 11.

My child bride had been busy all morning baking pastries. After showering and dressing, we were ready for lunch at 1:30.

We drove down the highway to a roasted chicken stand and shared half a hen, tortillas and something that is kinda like cole slaw, but Mexicans don’t really know cole slaw. They know tacos.

By 2:30 we were downtown on the main plaza for the weekly pastry sale out of a big wicker basket. My role is to sit with her, provide engaging company. It’s part of the marriage contract, and I do it well.

Around 4:30, her sister arrives to spell me, so I come home.

Which is where I am now. It’s raining out, and I am eating a bowl of pineapple chunks. At 7:30, I will return downtown to pick her up. She’ll have a fanny pack full of cash, and there will be a smile on her face.

A smiling wife is a wonderful thing.

10 thoughts on “A summer day”

  1. Love this type of blog entry. Now we just need some photos of the pastries & plaza.

    Espero que todo esta bien, Felipe!

    Like

  2. “something that is kinda like cole slaw, but Mexicans don’t really know cole slaw.”

    The kinda cole slaw at that place is utterly simple: shredded cabbage, a few shreds of onion, slices of carrot and a couple of spears of seeded pickled jalapeño. I’m not sure what the dressing is. Could be lime juice, more probably just vinegar. It’s nothing to get excited about, but it’s a good foil for the delicious, adobo dipped, charcoal broiled, orange juice drenched chicken. When I make slaw at home, I make a modified version of that at the roast chicken place.

    Thanks for giving me an idea for my next blog post.

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

    1. Señor Cuevas: That “slaw” is to fill the plate, of course, nothing more.

      Funny story for you:

      My sister-in-law once spotted a salad I was making at home. She said:

      “But all the vegetables are raw!”

      Like

  3. Even the new pope was critical of evangelical churches that provide services in jails and slums and often attract new followers with folksy promises of prosperity and other benefits. The Catholic Church in Brazil has been hemorrhaging millions of followers to other faiths. The same thing is true in Mexico.

    The pope was even more critical of his own church for letting this happen.

    Like

      1. I got talked into going to a local Jehovah Witness church, which gave a weekly service in English run by a couple of Canadians. My friend wanted to go to this service to help him learn English. Once was enough for me.

        Like

        1. Ahhhh, you were thinking about that brief reference I made to Jehovah’s Witnesses. Okay then. Carry on.

          As for your going to a service, I think you need your mind examined. You know they sometimes tie people up and never let them go.

          Like

Comments are closed.