Sixty degrees

Superior world

When I was a child living on my maternal grandparents’ farm in the red clay of south Georgia, which we did for six years, I had to take a nap after lunch.

In the summertime, it was quite warm, and someone would switch on a desk fan, the oscillating sort, to keep me nice and cool.

Later, as a young but full-grown man, living in New Orleans, I would steer my motorcycle the few short miles in summertime from my home on Prytania Street to the newspaper where I worked, if you can call that work, arriving at the office sweat-drenched even after the street “breeze” in my face.

It was a breeze from a blast furnace.

Years after that, in Houston, I had mostly given up motorcycles, preferring a car with air-conditioning, I suffered a bit less because Houston is fresher than New Orleans, but not by much. Sometimes, not at all.

In all that time, there were two life constants: Miserable, humid heat for much of the year and a dull landscape flat as an Aunt Jemima pancake, which are quite tasty, by the way, that specific brand, with true maple syrup.

Finally, no longer having to work for a living and carefree, I could go wherever I wished and do whatever I wanted, so I did.

It is now August, the Dog Days, that most miserable month of summer, but I don’t care. I wake up every morning, and it’s 60 degrees or less. I can stand on the upstairs terraza and watch the chill sunrise over the mountains.

The endless sweat and humdrum terrain have vanished.

Landing on my feet, I live in a glorious world.

14 thoughts on “Sixty degrees”

  1. The theme in your essay may be exactly the reason I am now in Melaque. It is so different from places I have lived the prior 60 years. But it may be just about time to try something new. I wonder how difficult it would be to obtain admittance to a scientific station in Antarctica?

    Like

  2. The record low in Tampa for August 6 was 69 degrees in 1922.
    The record high was 96 degrees in 1990.
    The price of electricity in Florida is five times higher than Mexico.

    It was temperatures like these that were the prime motivation for me to move to the mountains of Michoacan.

    Like

      1. Laurie: My last light bill was the peso equivalent of about 28 U.S. bucks. However, our bills come every two months, so that means just 14 dollars per month.

        And, of course, no AC is needed here where I am.

        Like

  3. I took a long, cool walk with my dog early this morning, grateful for the coolness of high climes in Central America. No sweat. My dog hardly needed a gulp of water but he did plunge into a cold stream for a moment or two, which is better than murky bayous of S. Louisiana. I am grateful to NOT be in the southeastern USA right now.

    Like

  4. As someone who lived for a few years in Houston, I ALWAYS chuckle when someone here complains that “it’s hot and humid.” Yeah, right, 86 degrees and 60% humidity … LOL. And it ALWAYS cools off at night.

    Lately it’s been perfect. Upper 70’s, low humidity, sunny. Can’t ask for better.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where winter is what merits complaints.

    Like

    1. Kim: I’m surprised to hear of those conditions in Boston in August. Congratulations, lucky fellow. I was also surprised to see you have a website, which looks stupendous, and I was surprised to learn there of some of the drastic changes in your life of late.

      And your new email address, which is what got your comment here in the moderation file. Won’t happen again.

      http://gringosuelto.wordpress.com/

      Like

      1. It’s been oddly cool here, almost pre-autumnal. Weird.

        The blog is just coming out, so I’ve not been spreading the word too much. But I’ve got a few more posts in mind, and I’m sure I’ll have other stuff to write about.

        Thanks for the kind words.

        Like

Comments are closed.