Shower scene

Where Felipe shaves.
Where Felipe shaves.

The upstairs bathroom isn’t very big, but its shower stall is about 50 percent larger than the norm, and the showerhead is higher than most because I had it installed up there.

My head is higher than the norm too.

An advantage of designing your own home, which we did a decade ago, is that you can make things fit you. All my life, shower stalls have not fit me. The showerheads were never high enough. And mirrors were too low.

Most homes are designed for midgets, as I see it.

Above is a shot of the sink. We bought it in the town of Dolores Hidalgo, which is one of two places in Mexico famous for ceramics. The other is Puebla.

With the exception of a tiny bit of green trim, the upstairs bathroom walls are entirely black and white tile like you see here. Everywhere. From floor to ceiling and inside the shower stall too.

A sharp observer will note the electric outlet. Not only is there no ground-fault circuit interrupter, the face plate is metal, enhancing the opportunity for self-electrocution. We Mexicans love living on the edge.

We like our electrical outlets like we like our women: hot and dangerous.

The toilet, off-camera to the right, is dark green, and the seat is wood.  The toilet in the downstairs bathroom was purchased in Dolores Hidalgo too, and it’s a painted desert scene, all over, inside and out.

But the upstairs green john was bought in a local hardware store.

As I said, this upstairs bathroom is very small. You can just about touch all walls while standing buck naked in the middle.

The shower stall has a skylight, a nice detail, and the only other aspects to this bathroom are a wood shelf above the john, a small table for reading material beside said john, and a clothing rack by the door.

The clothing rack rarely racks clothing. I use it to hang the day’s clean skivvies while I shower, just so you know. The shower’s water pressure is minimal because we don’t fuss much with high technology.

We like our technology like we like our sarapes: floppy.

During my morning showers, I prop open the small window so steam can escape, plus I can hear chickens, dogs and whatever music the neighbors are playing too loud. I bet you don’t hear chickens where you bathe.

I like the sound of chickens at dawn — and sunshine through the skylight.

21 thoughts on “Shower scene”

  1. Actually I DO hear chickens and roosters while I bathe.

    As I am shorter in stature I always have the opposite problems. The bathroom mirrors are always too high for me. Shower heads don’t usually pose a problem for me.

    We too find gravity works when it comes to showering, besides no pump to be constantly repairing.

    Our washroom fixtures are also dark green, it must have been the “in” colour 8 or 10 yrs. ago.

    Now you have more info. about my washroom than you ever wanted to know.

    Have a great day as I am.

    Like

    1. Brenda: We have things in common with the chickens. We differ in stature, however.

      The green trim we bought had less to do with being “in” than it had to do with its being one of my favorite colors.

      And enjoy the day to you too.

      Like

  2. I remodeled one of my bathrooms with Mexican tile and the “sunflower” design sink, which I purchased in the very scenic border town of Reynosa, Tamps.

    Like

  3. My morning serenade usually consists of roosters, donkeys, turkeys, and coyotes. All of which belong to my closest neighbor up the road from me (except the coyotes). I rather enjoy the animal sounds.

    Beautiful sink, I do love Mexican ceramics.

    Like

    1. Jackie: Donkeys? We call them burros down here, and I hear them on occasion too, not often. Never hear a turkey.

      Mexican ceramics are the cat’s pyjamas. We did not see much in the way of ceramics during our recent trip to Puebla, though we did a tour of a ceramics “factory,” which was interesting. Dolores Hidalgo is incredible. Stores and manufacturers, often in the same place, all over the place. Stunning stuff and cheap.

      Like

  4. I read a tale recently about the Puebla ceramics. Back in the pre-Allende days when the Spanish ruled the New Spain nest, the Manila Galleon would bring barrels of ceramics from China through Mexico on their way to Spain. The mercantile Spanish required the ceramics to go to Spain before returning it to Mexico for sale — with an appropriate monopoly markup. Because that is what colonies are for — forced markets.

    Mexicans, being the experts of improvisation they are, simply copied the designs and started making their own home-grown varieties of “china”. These are the “traditional” designs you can still find in places like Puebla. As the tale goes, a reporter went to Puebla and was surprised to find that a large portion of the ceramics sold there are now made in — China.

    Free markets eventually find their own level of justice. If I recall correctly, I gathered this little piece of trivia lint from 1491 — an incredibly interesting book.

    As for the sound of chickens while I bathe, I may be able to do you one better. This week I have been entertained during my morning ablutions with the sounds of mating crocodiles.

    Like

  5. I’m with you on building your own house, or remodeling in my case. My kitchen counters are 3″ higher than normal, because, like you, I am taller than normal.

    And when I shower, I hear Mexican music. It’s not from any Mexican neighbors, though. (There are none.) It’s what’s on my iPod for showering.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where there are probably more redheads than Mexicans.

    Like

  6. I have a big bathroom install going on right now. The shower area is getting a high showerhead with a bucket filler at knee high so there is less lifting. I’m using one inch square tumbled quartz tile for the exit area of the shower to try to gain a bit of natural traction for my not so steady later years. Linda has me under a deadline for this project, get it done before winter or no Latin touring this winter.

    Like

  7. We hear church Bells and roosters from one bathroom. Another has barking dogs and Mexican music. We will be in the Dolores Hildago area soon hunting for different treasures.

    Like

    1. Patzman: When I say stuff like “I bet you don’t hear chickens where you bathe,” it’s because most Moon readers do not, I do not think, live in Mexico, but above the Rio Bravo. Surely, most of us down here hear chickens and dogs every day.

      If you have never been to Dolores Hidalgo, you’re in for a real ceramics treat. If you have been there, you know that already.

      Like

  8. Mexican electrical outlets certainly may be “hot and dangerous”. In Nicaragua, and other Central American countries the shower-head usually contains an electric heater…most often with loose wires dangling about.

    Like

Comments are closed.