Door to October

October’s door is about to open.

Long ago, when I lived above the Rio Bravo, October was my favorite month. In large part because you could count on cooler weather, always a relief in those sweaty Confederate climes that I inhabited.

Likewise, October is good here too but not because it cools off because it doesn’t. It gets cooler in June, if you can believe it, when rain arrives.

October is sweet here because it’s when the rains end, and it stays cool anyway, for the most part. But October is not the best month here on the mountaintop. November is.

doorThat’s the month of perfection, something to keep in mind if you want to visit one day. November is cool, blue, sunny, fresh and green. And the people are smiling.

November holds risk above the Rio Bravo because it can grow cold, very cold. Before my mother died in 2009, we would sometimes go up for Thanksgiving. And occasionally it would be so cold we would be disinclined to take the post-meal walk around the neighborhood.

That was Atlanta. I started the post-meal walk around the neighborhood with my second ex-wife earlier in Houston or maybe it was New Orleans. It’s a good technique to settle a turkey-stuffed tummy.

Both with my second ex-wife and with my mother, Thanksgiving was enjoyed at a hotel buffet. No cooking or dishwashing. There are hotels in both New Orleans and Houston that put on spectacular Thanksgiving buffets.

Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday. No gifts to buy or cards to mail. Just show up on time, and stuff your face. Now that’s what I call living.

Tragically, there is no Thanksgiving in Mexico.

But autumn is here. You can feel it in the air, which remains cool but with a different whisper. The leaves fall off the tall trees in the Plaza Grande, and the light looks new. Children don’t consciously notice, but I do.

October gives one hope.

When I was a working stiff, on newspapers (remember them?), I would place a tiny pumpkin atop my computer monitor on the first day of every October, and it would sit there till Thanksgiving.

A small symbol of the season.

13 thoughts on “Door to October”

  1. When I lived in New Orleans, I told people that the city was only inhabitable in October and April. The rest of the year it was too hot or too damp and chilly. In Honduras, October is the rainiest month. The best time to come here is December or January, as the rains are gone, and the skies are blue. It’s downright cool at night. Why not start your own Thanksgiving tradition? Don’t need turkey. Just have a special night or luncheon and be thankful.

    Like

  2. Fall has always been my favorite time of the year. All my summer canning is done and it’s time to put the garden to bed. The maple trees and cottonwoods are beautiful in their fall colors. Night time temperatures are down in the 40s, great for sleeping.

    Thanksgiving is also my favorite holiday. It’s sharing a good meal with friends and family without all the fuss of presents. I love cooking Thanksgiving dinner. The smell of the turkey cooking brings back many wonderful memories. For my husband it means football all day.

    Like

    1. Jackie: I wish we could be at your house on Thanksgiving, but that would entail crossing the border.

      Your husband sounds like a normal guy. Football all day. I have not watched a football game from start to finish since about 1959 when I dropped out of the high school marching band.

      Like

  3. You and your lovely wife would be welcome.
    There’s only one other day that means more to my husband, Super Bowl Sunday.

    Like

  4. I think September is my favorite month, as it’s still warm, but not hot. And it’s dry here, which is a nice break from the otherwise incessant precipitation.

    I’m hoping to head south in October for an adventure in my truck, though a few impediments have shown up here. We’ll see what happens.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where we find the idea of Atlanta too cold for a walk in November to be somewhat amusing.

    Like

  5. In the Tampa area we celebrated both Halloween and Guavaween in October. It was always was fun to take my kids trick or treating. I often headed to Atlanta for Thanksgiving to visit my brother and his family. His Icelandic wife is a great cook. Spring and fall are always the best months in Mexico.

    Like

  6. One of Meaque’s great pleasures is that I get to celebrate two Thanksgivings — Canadian and American. And I am a dinner guest at the table of our tiny year-round expatriate community.

    Like

  7. The autumn weather in this neck of the woods has been superb. Blue skies, warm days, 70s, and cool nights in the 50s.

    I have cooked a huge Thanksgiving meal at my home for the last 25 or so years (got away with a very few here and there). It somehow became a tradition for ME to cook. Really, I enjoy it, but am thankful for those odd years that I didn’t have to and am looking forward to more. 🙂 But I don’t see that happening anytime soon.

    Like

    1. Andean: Your current weather sounds like what we are enjoying here on the mountaintop. As for Thanksgiving, try a spendid hotel buffet this year. You’ll love it. Got to choose the hotel carefully, however.

      Like

Comments are closed.