The movie star

Movie star

Being foggy in the head, I don’t recall if I’ve ever posted this shot from my Hollywood days. If I have, bear with me.

I’m still getting to know my new Hewlett-Packard computer, and this is related. Today, I’m playing with a free photo app called Fotor.

The guy in the photo is me. I was an extra in a movie titled Octoroon, filmed in New Orleans around 1970. I was 26 or so, and it was a walk-on part. They didn’t let me say a word, but I was in the opening scene.

For years I’ve thought I would have made a good actor. Had I not worked 30  years of evenings in the newspaper business, I would have done community theater, but the two schedules were ever in conflict.

Here’s another photo and, again, I don’t recall if I’ve shown this one. It was taken a decade after the first shot. A French friend and I were sitting in the rooftop restaurant of the Torre Latinoamericana in Mexico City.

I weighed a beefy 225 pounds, but now I’m rail thin. Times change.

Gilly y yo

14 thoughts on “The movie star”

  1. It’s never too late. There is an active gringo community theatre group in Pátzcuaro. I’m sure they would embrace your thespian talents.

    Like

  2. Way down yonder in New Orleans
    In the land of the dreamy scenes
    Mutton chops and a beardless chin
    OMG he’s really thin.

    Like

Comments are closed.