The lazy boy

Wall

Routines change. While I once spent time in the hammock on the upstairs terraza, I now have a new routine, one that happened on its own.

The urge builds till about noon. I have previously wiped the glass-top table and web chairs on the yard patio, a morning chore, so all is ready by midday.

Having completed my internet chores, our morning plaza walk for exercise, a nice warm shower, cereal and vitamins at 11, that is when I do it.

I walk out to the yard patio casual-like, as if I have no grand purpose. I tote the Kindle, a little reading time, I tell myself. I sit and I read.

But not for long. Doze is what I mostly do, and it’s easy these October days. The green yard envelops me. The flowers bewitch me. The cool air caresses my aging flesh. I don’t last long. It’s better than a park bench.

There was a moment yesterday that said it all. A good photographer with a fancy camera would have seized that moment and captured it.

paradise2Just a few feet from my nose, a hummingbird decided to sit atop a bird of paradise bloom, a lovely combo.

Luckily, I was not dozing. My eyes were open, and I told myself: What a great spot to live. How sweet not to have a job.

I am a lazy boy, and I like it.

* * * *

(Note: The wall in the photo sits in the yard. The ivy grows thicker and greener by the year. Ask the monkey and the swan.)

21 thoughts on “The lazy boy”

  1. I too cannot stay awake when I am in a comfortable spot reading, so I forget the book and take my camera out to the patio where I spend a lot of time during the warm weather. I don’t have any beautiful walls covered with ivy or birds of paradise, but I do have hummingbirds and other critters around here, along with my “mock” tropical garden area, and I take lots of pics of those. Unfortunately, our nights are getting cooler as each day passes and the leaves are starting to fall. 😦 I am trying to figure out exactly where I am going to put all of my plants (inside the house) before a freeze sneaks up on us.

    Like

    1. Cat: The first couple of years here I used to move plants off the downstairs terraza into the house during winter. Then I discovered it was not necessary. Lots of work saved. Nothing bad happens to them out there even though it does freeze in winter.

      Where do you live?

      Like

      1. Alas, the freezes we have here in Kansas City would cause a lot of bad things to happen to my palm trees, bugambilia plants and assorted hibiscus. I would go south in a heartbeat, but my better half, who is from Mexico City would not. 😦

        Like

  2. One of my favorite flowers — bird of paradise. My hermana always has them in my room when I visit.

    “Routines change.” I have been noticing that, and in a positive note.

    Gee, I always liked that monkey on that wall, it’s disappearing in all the ivy.

    Like

    1. Andean: The bird of paradise is a beautiful flower. Usually, they bloom in Springtime here. I think they are confused right now, it being Fall and all.

      I’ll keep the monkey visible with clippers. He is my favorite monkey.

      Like

  3. I’m not much of a man of routine. I lurch from project to project. Right now, my truck is (still!) taking up an inordinate amount of my time, though my faith in his reliability is climbing. A/C still needs to be sorted, particularly if we expect to cross Texas and emerge alive.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where our hands are getting VERY dry from all this automotive work and heavy-duty wash-up afterwards.

    Like

    1. Kim: Crossing Texas without AC is no problem. You just have to time it right.

      My wife and I drove from here to Atlanta in 2003 in our little Chevy, which is a clone of the old Geo Metro. It has no AC or much of anything else save a motor, seats and steering wheel. We went in early March and returned in late March. It got a little stuffy, to put it mildly, during just one day of the return leg. Would have been better to go in February.

      I don’t recall the month that you plan to travel.

      Like

      1. After living in the land of near-eternal ice and snow since ’95, I’m rather less acclimated to the Texas climate than I was when I lived there. Though I’m not yet to the point of complaining that it’s “hot and humid” when the thermometer reads 85 and there’s 70% humidity, I’m not the toughie I used to be either.

        I’m thinking of driving down in the next few weeks, repairs and other projects willing.

        Kim G

        Like

  4. There is more refreshment and stimulation in a nap, even of the briefest, than in all the alcohol ever distilled. Ovid

    Taking a healthy nap is one of the greatest joys of retirement.

    Like

Comments are closed.