Thump in the night

Stuck as I am this morning between Halloween and the Day of the Dead, one’s thoughts easily wander toward the end of time.

DeathBeing only months shy of 70 gives a guy an altered attitude. While a bit unsettling on one end, it’s very interesting on another.

Through all of one’s adult life, it’s known that it will end one day, but it’s a vague perception. That finale is up thataway. You really don’t dwell on it much. It’s an intellectual concept, not raw meat that bleeds.

The future is always there, plenty of distance to live your dreams.

And then it changes. Not overnight. It’s a gradual switch that you slide into. The future begins to fade, and life becomes more immediate, more about today.

On one level, it’s a good thing. The Buddhists say to live in the moment, and you begin to do that without effort. But you know the thump in the night will come.

* * * *

(Tip of the sombrero to Ray Clifton for bringing this to mind.)

26 thoughts on “Thump in the night”

  1. I keep waiting for the feeling you describe just because I feel I ought to feel it. I don’t and I don’t think about it. Maybe you have too much time to think 🙂 Felipe.

    You and I are separated by only a few months in the grand old year of 1944.

    Like

  2. Seventy is the new 55. We were once known as war babies and we’re too old to be called yuppies. We knew the United States when it was at its prime – at its apex. We were blessed to experience that, even if that causes some psychic pain to see how far down it has declined. We are blessed to be able to be retired now and have the wisdom to be retired in Mexico. Everyday is a gift.

    Like

    1. Andres: You are more optimistic than I am. Yes, we did know the United States at its prime, and now we are seeing its fall. Sad, but at least we’re not directly in the middle of it, or even on its once-hallowed soil.

      Like

      1. They have not disclosed why Tom Clancy died, however Lou Reed died of complications from a recent liver transplant. Not all artists die young. Pablo Picasso died at the age of 91.

        Like

  3. I will hit 70 a tad before you. I have thought about the eventual end. I am a bit slower than I once was. I see my grandkids doing new things. There is a new order out there. We were a generation different as were our parents. Each one had its own highlights and downfalls. Each believes theirs was better. In truth, I think they are just different, I don’t understand much of the new ways of doing things. Maybe I’m not supposed to, and I’m okay with that. I have outlived many of my classmates from school and if I can keep the motorcycle upside right, I’ll outlive a few more. And yes, Carole, 44 was a great year.

    Like

    1. Bob: I have no grandkids, and never will have. My kin have always been few which, in retrospect, I consider a good thing for this world. That would be my Gringo kin. My Mexican kin are many, but that’s typical.

      You are right in that generations simply are different. Sometimes the difference is a positive move. Sometimes not.

      Please keep the motorcycle upright. Getting a bit long in the tooth for that activity, ain’t you, boy?

      Like

  4. Going to have to start collecting pesos to build a statue of Felipe on the big plaza, so that your memory will live on.

    Come on, amigo, you have at least another 3 or 4 months before hitting your stride. From what they say, 70 is the new 60, or some gibberish like that.

    Like

      1. Pigeons poop on statues, rethink the think. As for motorcycles, I will admit I go slower and see much more. I have some years remaining. Then a trike, I think, kind of hard to fall off one of those, or maybe one with a sidecar, great for grandkids and pooches.

        Like

  5. We have the same subject on our minds these days. I woke up this morning with my heart trying to do a syncopated rumba. And then my lungs decided to join in on the reprise. When the moment comes, it will most likely be stealthy like that. I am ready to board the carriage when it arrives. Until then, I will let my feet take care of the altered rhythms.

    Like

    1. Take care there, Steve. Even though you’re a bit younger than I am, I’d wager that all my numbers are better than yours. Well, not the age number, but the weight, cholesterol, blood pressure, those kinds of numbers, yes.

      You’ll likely die of what doctors call UHP, which is Unnecessary Heat Prostration.

      Like

    1. Ray: Very nice. A wonderful writer you are. I am catching up and reading your posts.
      Thanks for the link, Felipe.

      Like

  6. I had a quadruple by-pass at 71 (no heart attack), then brand new eyes due to cataract surgery and the bionic
    man moves on. Played a hard-hitting gig last night with a bunch of twenty-somethings. No complaints. You’re younger than you think.

    Like

Comments are closed.