Golden Evening

Garden patio

There had been a little rain, and the day was ending, and I was washing dishes.

It was yesterday.

There is a window directly over the kitchen sink, planned that way, and looking out that window with wet hands and suds or not, this is what you see, assuming the window is open because the glass is opaque.

The glass is opaque because my child bride doesn’t want to look at this while washing dishes, something she does infrequently (it’s my job), even though I like this scene, especially at dusk. If I’m lucky (and I often am), there will be a Golden Evening.

A Golden Evening occurs when a particular set of light and other factors comes together at the same few moments to create a special atmosphere that is quite lovely.

I got one yesterday. While washing dishes. Orange and green walls accentuate the phenomenon. The photo does it no justice. My camera is low-end.

No matter. It’s an excuse to show the Garden Patio, which I have shown only once, I think, during its construction last year. Of course, it was not “furnished” then.

Looking through this window a decade back showed only grass and that water tank, plus the orange property wall. We’ve since constructed the green wall to separate and hide this area and the tile roof to keep gardening gear dry.

The paint was fresh years ago. Now it has a patina.

Like me. Once fresh, now sporting a patina.

11 thoughts on “Golden Evening”

    1. John: I am the dishwasher here. I do it well and fast. My wife, on the other hand, drags the chore out so long that it approaches lunacy. That, more than anything, is why I do it. It’s a double-hole sink. First, she dumps about 10 gallons of soap on everything and slooowly scrubs each piece. After each piece is scrubbed on one side of the sink, it is transferred to the other side where it awaits the same treatment all over again. And then it goes back over to the first side for rinsing. It takes her forever to wash dishes.

      So I do it. I do most meal preparation too. She lives the life of Reilly.

      If I had Steve Cotton’s camera and skill, I coulda taken a gooder picture.

      Like

  1. I think your pic looks awesome especially if you look at it full screen.

    Your wife sounds like my hubby. It IS lunacy watching how long it takes him to wash dishes! ‘)

    Like

    1. Cat: Your hubby is Mexican, so this does not surprise me. What I have marveled at for years is the extreme methods they use to clean things, anything, all things. They will clean things until the things are on the point of dissolving or breaking. Strange (to me) cultural trait.

      Like

      1. If eggs have been on a dish out comes the extra soap and lime juice. I just get out of the way of my Mexican wife and dry.
        Some rain tonight! Fireplace nice.

        Like

        1. Patzman: You have inadvertently touched on a vital element of dishwashing. Be they eggs or anything else, it is important not to let the food dry on the plate because if it dries, you’re in a whole different world of dishwashing. I think this is why my wife has the excessive habit she has. She was raised with about half a million siblings, and I doubt the dishes were washed quickly.

          I wash dishes immediately, and if you do that, it’s not much more difficult than hosing them down with water, tho I do use soap too.

          But if those babies have dry food on them, it’s almost chisel time.

          Yep, we did get lotta rain last night. Good thing it did not come down to that extent the previous night. In any event, Jeez, it’s time to quit till next June! This is ridiculous.

          Like

  2. Us gringos are noted for our efficiency and impatience. Electrical dishwashers in Mexico are as rare as hens’ teeth and tradition trumps efficiency nearly every time. Mexican males have no difficulty accepting the traditional gender roles and perhaps fear that their women will become as independent and as equal as the gringas, plus many Mexican women can be quite territorial in their kitchens. Your motives are pure and practical, but somewhat revolutionary.

    My first wife was such a lousy cook, I had to do all the cooking to avoid heartburn, gastric distress and malnutrition.

    Like

    1. Andres: I have no difficulty accepting traditional gender roles either. I favor them, actually.

      And yes, my motives, as they are in all things, are pure and practical. It’s nice that you noticed. As for being revolutionary here, of course. My wife’s sisters marvel at me. And they want one just like me. Sadly, I must explain over and over to them that the mold was broken after I was made and shipped south over the Rio Bravo.

      Like

  3. My Honduran friends wash dishes with vigor and vim, too. Maybe it’s because they use soap and cold water, whereas we were once accustomed to hot water and liquid detergent. I don’t know. Laurie

    PS. I have declared a truce on my Unseen Moon boycott. You have some redeeming qualities, and I miss your writings on tranquil subjects.

    Like

Comments are closed.