Nights with grapes

I just measured my blood pressure and pulse: 101/60, and pulse of 69, which is a good score for the old goat that I am. Probably better than yours.

I have one of those electronic gizmos that you strap around your wrist to measure pressure and pulse. I bought it in the late ’90s to use when I ingested ecstasy, which I did five or six times. Ecstasy is like amphetamines. It increases your pulse, a lot.

Here’s what I did, and I always did it alone. I would have liked company, but none worthwhile was available at that time. I was flying solo. At night I would set the stage, putting out a big bowl of green grapes and a pitcher of water in the living room.

grapesEcstasy dehydrates you, so one must take care. I took care with grapes and water, and during the 3- to 4-hour flying time I would also measure my pulse and blood pressure.

You do not lose your mind with ecstasy as you certainly can, temporarily, with LSD, psilocybin, peyote, etc. You remain aware of the world around you, which is why you can safely do it alone.

Take it from ole Felipe: Don’t do those other products alone.

It would be dark, and I would light candles. Not eating for about five hours in advance is advisable. I would put disks on the music machine, usually starting out with Deuter’s Land of Enchantment. It’s good to be enchanted.

Somewhere during the evening I would play Kitaro’s Light of the Spirit, which is one of my favorite tunes of all time. Music is a major factor when taking any mind-altering substance. Light of the Spirit, combined with ecstasy, will knock your socks off.

Having set the stage with green seedless grapes, pitcher of water, blood-pressure device, lit candles, I would take 125 mg of powder, sit on the sofa, cross my legs and wait until it came, and it would always come, and I loved it. You get a feel for God.

I have not had a Night with Grapes since the late 1990s, and I never will again.

* * * *

(Kitaro’s Light of the Spirit.)

21 thoughts on “Nights with grapes”

  1. Interesting post. How did you end up doing this the first time? Why no suitable company? I guess you didn’t feel like going to a rave under the influence, then?

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, MA
    Where we think it’s ridiculous how much energy is expended trying to keep people from these kinds of experiences.

    Like

    1. Kim: I did it, along with stronger materials, in the late 1990s, often with the supervision and assistance of a psychologist. I was trying to get my head straight.

      Raves indeed. Mind-altering substances can be used in a number of ways and for many reasons, some good, some bad. MDMA, or ecstasy, was being used by lots of therapists who found it very helpful with some patients before it, like so many other things, was put on the illegal list. The name ecstasy was invented by street dealers. Many, myself included, say a more appropriate name would have been empathy.

      Like

  2. I wonder how many people have grapes, water and a blood pressure cuff readily available when they do drugs. Seems like a lot of trouble to me. I would rather sit back with a glass of Bordeaux and be done with it.

    Like

    1. Connie: Many people use it for strictly recreational purposes, and it can be used that way. Mostly is used that way. I imagine most do not take the trouble to set out grapes and water pitchers, and to bother with monitoring their vital signs. But it was wise to do that. A lot of trouble? Nah.

      Bordeaux does not provide a comparable experience. Not even close.

      Like

  3. And here I thought I was the only person that enjoyed both of these artists.
    I used to put on Deuter on the turntable, turn all the lights off, and lie down on the carpeted floor, enjoying the music. That was about 20 years ago. Time to try it again one of these nights. Gotta find the turntable first. On second thought, it’s just easier to down load the music onto the iPhone. (Only difference was I didn’t have a supplier of good drugs.)

    Like

    1. Tancho: I really like Deuter’s music, but the only Kitaro piece I can listen to is Light of the Spirit. Kitaro’s other stuff leaves me cold. Tidbit: Kitaro scored the 1981 movie Chariots of Fire.

      Like

        1. Loulou: Thanks to you, I have now, via YouTube. But it too, like just about everything of Kitaro’s, I find a bit monotonous and rambling. Just not my cup of tea. Others, obviously, feel otherwise.

          I imagine, however, that with a good dose of ecstasy, I would like it indeed.

          Here’s the work in question:

          Like

      1. The music of Chariots of Fire was by Vangelis not Kitaro, I’m a big fan of both of their work with a good collection of a lot of their stuff as well as other great new age composer artists

        Like

  4. I like Bach and Beethoven and some rock n roll played on a synthesizer, but I’m not too fond of new age music. I believe it is a crime against humanity to outlaw mind altering substances. They can be very efficacious for many mental health problems, including alcoholism. Prohibition prevents much needed research. They are probably outlawed due to opposition by the pharmaceutical industry, which has a legal monopoly on substances for mental health. There are many groups profiting from prohibition.

    Like

    1. Andres: I don’t think the pharmaceutical industry has anything to do with it. The “war on drugs” came out of the puritanical element of the American culture. Precisely like the ole Prohibition against alcohol.

      Like

  5. I once stripped out the white threads from inside a banana peel, rolled it into a cigarette with regular tobacco, and lit up. It made me cough.

    No ecstasy there.

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

Comments are closed.