Being appreciative

graciasYesterday, of course, was Thanksgiving above the Rio Bravo.

Thanksgiving is not noticed in Mexico, but I am thankful anyway.

For these things:

1. I live in an up-and-coming country, not in a collapsing one.

2. I am still alive, which is more than Lord Byron can say.

3. I married three times and got the best one at last.

4. My wife is young and lovely.

5. I am not rich, but not poor either. Wouldn’t like poverty.

6. I have no job and don’t need one. Obama is paying our way.

7. I live in a big house painted red.

8. My daughter seems happy.

9. I am healthy and pretty for an old dude.

10. I have all my hair.

There are more, but that will do for today.

7 thoughts on “Being appreciative”

  1. 1. I am thankful that I have productive activity to avoid so that I can make lists like this.
    2. I am thankful that I no longer have to practice law.
    3. Felipe’s 1, 2, and 5.
    4. Felipe’s 6, modified by eliminating the last sentence.
    5. Felipe’s 10, as modified by the thrill of having mine newly dyed in colores de fantasia.
    6. I love where I live – my house, my garden, my neighborhood, my city, my state, my country.
    7. The world’s most perfect Doberman lets me share living quarters.
    8. My library and shoe closet are ample, with books yet unread and shoes unworn.
    9. I’m healthy and happy.
    10. Because I’m good enough, I’m smart enough, and, doggone it, people like me!

    Like

  2. So you succumbed to the gringo holiday after all! LOL…

    I had a lovely Thanksgiving dinner, though it was in no way traditional. The food was so-so, but the conversation and company were fantastic.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    DF, México
    Where there are too many defrosted and overcooked shrimp inhabiting restaurant plates.

    Like

      1. While in Puerto Vallarta (where the shrimp are wonderful), F and I were making jokes along the line that we could have many a dish like shrimp a la shrimp. There, everything has shrimp in it.

        Like

Comments are closed.