Solstice greetings

To my politically correct amigos:

solsticePlease accept with no obligation, implied or implicit, my best wishes for an environmentally conscious, socially responsible, low-stress, non-addictive, gender-neutral celebration of the winter solstice holiday, practiced within the most enjoyable traditions of the religious persuasion of your choice, or secular practices of your choice, with respect for the religious/secular persuasion and/or traditions of others, or their choice not to practice religious or secular traditions at all.

I also wish you a fiscally successful, personally fulfilling and medically uncomplicated recognition of the onset of the generally accepted calendar year 2014, but not without due respect for the calendars of choice of other cultures whose contributions to society have helped make America great. Not to imply that America is necessarily greater than Canada or any other countries nor the only “America” in the Western Hemisphere. Also, this wish is made without regard to the race, creed, color, age, physical ability, religious faith or sexual preference of the wishes.

To my normal amigos:

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year.

* * * *

(Note 1: I don’t know who wrote the above. Wasn’t me. A tip of the sombrero goes out to Bob in Canada who emailed it to me. Ironically, Bob is an ObamaCare fan. Of course, that is easy when you live in Canada.)

(Note 2: This would be genuinely funny if PC zealots were not literally destroying Western culture, which is far superior to other cultures.)

29 thoughts on “Solstice greetings”

  1. Lol, had me going on that one, señor!

    Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year to you Americans down south as well!

    Peace and love,
    Mark (and Suzie)

    Like

    1. Mark: Not quite sure how I had you going, but Merry Christmas and a profitable New Year to you too. And Suzie. Bring her on down.

      Yes, we Mexicans are Americans too, of course, but we don’t mention it unless we want to rile you.

      Like

  2. Upon reading the post, I thought you really lost your marbles in a very PC way … till I got to the nice ending.

    Yeah, I would love to bring Suzie down if ya’ll would stop choppin’ heads off down there 🙂
    I know. I know. It’s all between the cartels, but the publicity is hard to overcome.

    Blessings, amigo mio!

    Like

    1. Mark: Now don’t you get on the dangerous-Mexico soapbox, young man. This place is no more perilous than it was a decade ago when you spent your too-brief time here … in peace. Don’t let the hysterical and under-informed U.S. news media steal your good sense.

      Yes, it is principally dust-ups between the narcos and cops that win headlines. BIG headlines. But those events are rare. While the other 99 percent of Mexico moves along from day to day in peace. If I’ve said it once I’ve said it ten times, you are far less likely to be a victim of violence here than most anywhere in the United States.

      Living in your country these days, especially in a big city, is what would worry me. Down here? We’re mellow. And safe.

      It can get noisy though. Firecrackers, skyrockets, fiestas.

      Like

  3. Why not give the liberal bashing a little bit of a break? Your posts often start out funny, but all too often they quickly descend into diatribe… I have read writing from you that is sensitive and insightful… How about a rerun of a few Zapata Tales? Come on Felipe… it’s Christmas.

    With appreciation for the witty sweet side that I suspect you can still muster… Peace and love from Joanna in Merida

    Like

    1. Joanna: Asking me to give the liberal bashing a break is akin to asking the ACLU to give a break to small, Christian businesses who don’t want to participate in gay weddings. It’s like asking the student body at most American universities these days to let someone who voted Republican give a speech without being shouted down like a Jew at a Nazi rally. It’s like asking a mullah in Saudi Arabia to let women get driver’s licenses or walk on the sidewalk without a male chaperone. It’s like asking Raul Castro or Kim Jong-un to let their people live free. It’s like asking ObamaCare not to require Catholic hospitals to provide abortion services. It’s like asking Obama to learn compromise and be a president of all the citizens.

      Which is to say, it ain’t gonna happen.

      The Zapata Tales was a different animal. It had its run, and I grew bored with it. Some of the better stuff, which you like (I appreciate that), is still available on the Pearls of Zapata.

      http://zapatapearls.wordpress.com/

      Now, about this diatribe thing.

      Merriam-Webster defines Diatribe:

      “An angry and usually long speech or piece of writing that strongly criticizes someone or something.”

      Or

      “A bitter and abusive speech or piece of writing.”

      There is no “anger” in the post. But there is satire. It is, as are most all Moon posts, relatively brief. I like to keep things brief so as not to have readers nod off. So, “usually long” does not apply either.

      There is strong criticism implied, of course, and clearly stated in the Note at the bottom.

      Let’s move on to “bitter.” Bitterness is implied to the perceptive reader, but it is not clearly stated. And it is not abusive either. At least to my mind.

      So I think I can safely state that the post, which I only copied from elsewhere, is not a diatribe.

      I have been accused on a number of occasions of “ranting,” but a visit to the dictionary proved that mistaken too. Careless folks confused polemic for rant, but they are not twins.

      * * * *

      I take umbrage at the collectivists’ kidnapping of the nice words “liberal” and “progressive.” They are, however, masks for a (often) well-meaning but (always) enormously misguided, misinformed, ham-fisted utopian political philosophy that, if allowed to run wild, poses a severe threat to liberty and true progress.

      That political philosophy is currently running quite berserk in Western Europe and the English-speaking world. It is very dangerous. It is no joke.

      And this is one of the themes of The Unseen Moon, just one but a big one, pointing out the perils and how they manifest themselves. I enjoy doing my little bit.

      And I think it is sensitive and insightful, if I do say so myself. I am sensitive about freedom, and I like to think I provide at times insights into cultural threats.

      It’s about maintaining “peace and love” all year, not just during Christmas. Peace and love are mostly missing in the collectivist societies run by the likes of Castro and Kim Jong-un.

      Just two examples of societies born from collectivist ideals. You may think that political correctness and its Speech Police bully boys are not related to the tyrannies I mention. I beg to differ. It’s just a question of scale.

      And time.

      But I hope you have a great Christmas and profitable 2014.

      Like

        1. PS: Alas, much of my response would just bounce off the head of anyone who does not keep up with current events and more distant history too. And that’s most people, especially collectivists.

          Like

  4. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to both you and your wife. From Peter’s wife!

    On a rather sad note about violence we just had a kid in New Westminster attacked randomly by a 16-year-old on 17 Dec. He died on Dec. 20 of his injuries, the day of his 19th birthday. This time of the year tragedy is even harder to bear. So I will keep on wishing for more peace on earth, like Croft posted with his John Lennon song.

    Like

  5. Merry Christmas to you, as well!
    From Alabama, where we had a high of 72 degrees on the first day of Winter, but after a couple of days of pouring rain, a cold front will bring us up to 50 on Christmas day.

    Like

    1. Becky: Sounds pretty good. I wish someone could drop me and my wife down into a home with a nice rural Southern family on Christmas Day, just the one day, mind you. It would be nice. I could feel like a child again. My wife would love it.

      But we will be here. She’s heading to the capital city tomorrow to stay up most of the night with a bunch of her ne’er-do-well kin, and I will be here in quiet and solitude. I will pick her up the following day, and she will be stunned from lack of sleep, swear she will never do that again, but she will.

      Like

      1. Oh, I do wish that fly-in was a possibility! You could enjoy turkey and dressing with giblet gravy, ham, separate casseroles of sweet potato, corn, and spinach, broccoli salad, cranberry sauce, yeast rolls, and probably olives and other relishes. And for dessert, pecan pie, cherry cream cheese pie, Nutella oatmeal cookies, divinity, and some yet-to-be-named cake! Looking forward to Wednesday! (just dreading the extra pounds!)

        Like

  6. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year. May your fingers whisk gently on the keyboard, bestowing your wisdom and knowledge along with that special wit you have been blessed with.

    Thank you for your contribution attempting to balance out the daily nonsense of liberal crap.

    Like

  7. Well, no one has replied with a “Feliz Navidad.” So allow me to be the first herein. I’ll save the new year greeting for a more appropriate time. Big up for the post, in any case!

    Like

  8. And a curmudgeonly “Merry Christmas” to you too. May 2014 be filled with liberal outrageousness so you have plenty to write about.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    San Francisco, CA
    Where we think the problems with Western Societies are primarily fiscal, and not social.

    Like

    1. Kim: You wouldn’t know how to be curmudgeonly if there was cash in it. As for 2014 being filled with “liberal” outrageousness, you can count on it. The collectivists are ever dreaming up new schemes for oppression. And you may think problems are primarily fiscal and not social, but I think it’s the other way around. The social problems are causing the fiscal problems. The chicken came before the egg. Obama was born before he became obsessed with redistributing income.

      It is 7 a.m. as I write this. It’s still mostly dark out. My child bride is in the nearby state capital, presumably asleep on a floor mat, after a long evening of cackling and gossiping with her ne-er-do-well kin.

      I am here in tranquility, if you don’t count the occasional firecracker from down on the nearby plaza, explosions lit by local lunatics.

      I hope Santa was generous with you. He ignored me entirely and not for the first time. Well, if you don’t count the endless gift of living where I live and with whom I live.

      Like

Comments are closed.