Winterizing

Sunlight from a window shines on my face one cold morning

Yesterday had that feel. Maybe it was due to being post-Christmas.

It’s time to winterize.

I started by culling. My scarf pile was too high. Ditto the watch cap collection.

I have slimmed down to just five scarves. Three are wide, and one of those is a scarlet Christian Dior! I have had it for decades. A second wide is black-and-white wool my child bride knitted. I’m wearing it in the photo. The third wide she also knitted, acrylic.

The watch cap collection now numbers four. I tossed three others. Various defects.

I favor watch caps, but my wife dislikes them. No matter. My favoring, in this instance, outweighs her dislike. I think watch caps give me a Jack London look.

Plus, they can be warm and comfy. My favorite is the one in the photo. It’s also on my head at this moment as I type. All are solid dark colors except one that’s multicolored. Jack London would have sniffed at the multicolored.

And then there are sweaters. My child bride has helped there too. My favorite is a black turtleneck she knitted years ago. It has an Aztec skull on the chest, beautifully done.

I didn’t cull sweaters yesterday because the sweaters were culled in past years. In addition to the black, wool turtleneck, I have a red acrylic my child bride knitted, a cotton Eddie Bauer from years back, a wool white-and-black, store-bought, that I rarely wear because it’s tough to get on and off. Too bad because it’s nice otherwise.

And then there’s the hand-woven green wool I bought in Galway, Ireland, in 1977. Still looks great and fits fine after all these years. Clothes-wise, I’m ready.

No culling needed for pants. They are always jeans. There are other coats and jackets, but they stay the course from year to year.

There’s the issue of heat. We have no central heat, of course. We have two fireplaces that get used less every year. We have two portable propane heaters downstairs and one upstairs. They work pretty well if you sit near them.

The basic protection against winter cold here is simply to bundle up in warm clothing and sleep under goose down. My best house coat is a big, thick, red-plaid Abercrombie and Fitch number that I call my Dope Coat.

I call it that because when I swallowed psilocybin and LSD in the late 1990s, I would put it on to keep warm. Entheogens can give you a chill. Maybe you did not know that.

But I’m winterized now. Sweaters fluffed. Watch caps and scarves at the ready. Down comforter as always. And the Dope Coat.

Most people think living in Mexico means heat, but that’s not always true. We live 7,200 feet high in the mountains, and it frequently freezes overnight in winter.

Then it warms up in the afternoon, becoming quite lovely.

* * * *

(Note: Culled items went into a plastic bag, and will be gifted to the “underprivileged.”)

24 thoughts on “Winterizing”

  1. I see that you use the phrase, “house coat” for a dressing gown or bathrobe. I had until know believed it is a phrase unique to my wife’s Midwestern family, but I was mistaken.

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

    1. Don Cuevas: You are thinking of housecoat, one word, and it does mean what you think. However, when I wrote house coat, two words, I was only referring to a coat that I wear almost exclusively at home. I rarely don it to go out. It’s a normal coat, not a housecoat.

      Like

    2. It is commonly a housecoat in Canada too.

      Nowadays some folk wear pajamas, housecoats and slippers in public, but I think the practise is (description omitted for sensitive eyes).

      Like

      1. Kris: Well, if that don’t beat all. I did not know of this new style. It has not extended to Mexico. Our nearest similar thing would be low-hanging pants with the underwear prominently displayed farther north. I too fail to see its appeal.

        Like

  2. Every Christmas I purchase a CASHMERE sweater, they’re soft, very high-end and make me look spiffy. It’s hard to make a fireplug look spiffy. I even feel spiffy. I wanted a white one, searched everywhere for one. They can’t be got.

    I wear tuques in the winter, they’re much like a watch cap. I have several, especially great under my motorcycle helmet. Jeans are a staple. I have some that are going-out jeans, some are at-home jeans, and some are work-around-the-yard jeans. Your taste in legwear is to be admired. I shun housecoats, maybe when I get a little older, I will have an appreciation. I wear T-shirts a lot, have way too many. They get culled every year. Mostly they’re motorcycle ones and they’re given to homeless guys. They can look macho in their Harley Tees.

    Like

    1. Señor Peterson: A new cashmere sweater yearly!? My, my.

      I had never heard the word tuque before, so I looked it up. Then I found photos. Looks like a watch cap to me, but they must be thinner if you can wear them under a helmet. As for your shunning housecoats, I assume you mean the one-word version, not the two-word. I also shun the one-word version. Don’t really shun them, but I don’t wear them.

      I have lots of T-shirts, but they’re relatively useless around here except for bed wear in the warmer months.

      Stay comfy.

      Like

  3. We saw some very attractive, soft and cuddly blankets, with the Calvin Klein label, today at Costco. The king bed size runs $499 pesos and those for queen beds, $429 pesos. Very tempting, but we are still getting good use from some L.L. Bean blankets we brought here 8 years ago.

    When we lived for 6 months at a vacation/weekend retreat fraccionamiento, up the mountain in the direction of Tancho’s casa, we had to use sleeping bags as well as Capilene underwear to survive the winter nights.
    Down here in the valley, this cold is merely uncomfortable.

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

    1. Señor Cuevas: If you have a goose-down comforter, you got it made in winter. You really don’t need anything else except two sheets. But it has to be real down. Lots of comforters are sold with various other fillings, and they simply are thick blankets, working to varying degrees of efficiency. Down comforters are like electric blankets without electricity.

      However, like sheet thread count, there are down comforters and there are down comforters. Best to spend some money, get something high-end, and you will sleep cozy for years and years. In case you have not guessed, I love them.

      Note to others: fraccionamiento means residential development, compound, etc. Señor Cuevas often has “moments” in which he wanders off into foreign words. Kinda odd. But here at The Moon, we never send you off to Google translator. It’s the Queen’s English all the way.

      Like

  4. Winterizing only now? I started winterizing in October. Up north it mainly now consists of putting sealant over all the gaps in the windows that won’t get opened again until June. But we also remove air conditioners from the windows and put them in the basement, rake leaves, and in prior years we’d often put more insulation in the attic. Now, there’s two layers of insulation in most parts of the attic, a 3″ layer under the floorboards, and one 8″ layer above. The next step is to build some platforms to support all of our atticky things such as empty boxes that once contained consumer electronics, Holiday decorations (not just Xmas), and other assorted flotsam that we can’t bear to part with. Then we’ll be able to extend the 8″ insulation a bit more and continue our longstanding fight against Old Man Winter.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Redding, CA
    Where there’s not much winter to fight. It’s now 70° and sunny.

    Like

    1. Kim: Lordy, that sounds like a real pain, living where you live. I have never lived (if you don’t count tech school in the Air Force in Illinois) where it snows.

      And here now, I don’t even have an attic. Or a basement.

      Like

      1. Every year I marvel at how much the prior owners must have spent on heat every winter. The house is SO much better winterized than it has ever been.

        Like

Comments are closed.