Playing offense

A READER recently emailed that I had written something “offensive.” I smiled and tsk-tsked to myself. But I was not surprised because I knew her to be a member of the Left.

Folks getting “offended” is epidemic and has been for a few decades now. Of course, getting offended is nothing new, but what is new is how it is used these days and how often. And it is used almost exclusively by Collectivists, the PC people.

It is the milder form of calling you a racist, sexist, etc., those words tossed out when an unacceptable opinion is heard. Conservatives know that being offended — used in the traditional sense — is part of the human experience.

DuelingMostly, you shrug it off. If it’s grave enough, a punch in the nose might follow. In the old days, a duel beneath the mossy oaks.

But conservatives don’t get offended often because we are not thin-skinned. We don’t doubt ourselves. Collectivists are hyper-sensitive, and their shrieking is how they attempt to suppress unacceptable opinions, and it often is successful, sadly.

Pay attention. The next time you hear someone mention they are offended or that something is offensive, it will be a left-winger saying it, 99 times out of 100.

If they had to face a duel, 99.9 percent would quit saying it immediately.

45 thoughts on “Playing offense”

  1. I don’t think I have ever received the “offensive” card. But I do get the occasional “You made me cry.” And not in a good sense.

    To the best of my memory, nothing anyone has ever said to me has made me cry since I was maybe three or so. I consider insults tossed my way to be merely mistaken; I do not have enough hubris to be offended.

    Like

    1. Steve: You don’t get the “I’m offended” business because you are an outwardly nicer person than I am. And more diplomatic.

      I too consider insults tossed my way to be merely mistaken. We share that trait, along with the hubris.

      Yesterday, after I wrote this piece, I was thinking about how I am offend-proof. I never feel offended. Or so I thought. Yesterday my wife and I were in a shopping mall in the capital city. We stopped at the door of a restaurant and, out of curiosity, asked to see the menu, which was provided. We both stood there a couple of seconds looking at it when the waiter asked if I needed one in English. My inner reaction, and it was kept inside me, was not nice at all. Later I realized that one thing that does offend me a lot is when the locals address me in English. It’s a perfectly natural thing on their part, and they are just trying to be helpful and/or practice their English, but it really grates on me. It shouldn’t, but it does. I have worked long and hard to learn Spanish pretty well, and I don’t appreciate being, even inadvertently, grouped with that majority of Gringos who live here years and never bother to learn to converse in Spanish. (I will not name names.)

      So, that offends me. But, as I said, I keep it to myself.

      Like

      1. I’m in agreement with you re: English menus, or being addressed in English here in Mexico. I’ll make an exception for social situations, where being addressed in English is just a friendly overture.

        Saludos,
        Don Cuevas

        Like

    1. Tancho: And I would favor, really, the return of the Medieval stocks, that form of punishment where folks have their head and hands locked into wooden holes in a public spot for some hours or days.

      There are many relatively minor crimes, committed mostly by the young, for which the stocks would be perfect and effective. Painting graffiti, for example. But let’s not restrict it to that. I love the stocks. And there are other forms of public shaming.

      Like

  2. I came across your blog from steve the mexpatriate. It is superb. I have to agree with your take on “offended”. The left is intolerant and they use “offended” to attempt to intimidate. In fact the left has only two cards to play: the race card and the class envy card. Any “offended” statement is just a veiled attempt to call you racist. I am a Cuban refugee to the US who saw the same thing evolve in Cuba. Castro constantly hit on two themes: class envy and the race card (he told the black folks that it was unfair that they couldn’t swim in whitey’s swimmimg pools). The irony is that the leadership of the Communist party of Cuba is overwhelmingly composed of white guys in a country which is about 50% black. The left seems to have a terminal gulit trip about slavery. I refuse to buy in to this self loathing.

    Like

    1. Wesmouch: Superb, you say! I appreciate that.

      I agree totally with all you write. Have you seen the blog written by a young woman in Havana?

      http://tinyurl.com/k85yo99

      It is sad and revealing. My wife and I spent a week in Havana two years ago. Went out of curiosity. Will never return. I stay flabbergasted and angered by the significant number of Gringos who speak well of the despotic Castro regime.

      Like

  3. It seems people who are easily offended are also incredible arrogant.
    Bringing back duels might be a good idea. I for one am locked and loaded.
    Stocks would be a great attitude adjustment for rude and unruly teenagers.

    Like

    1. Jackie: I have been advocating a return of the stocks for many years, but nobody pays any attention to me. For some offenses, it would be an absolutely perfect punishment.

      Like

  4. Along with the stocks, passersby should be allowed to pay a fee to throw some substance such as sour milk, chocolate syrup, etc., at the offender. Nothing harmful, just nasty.

    Include that as punishment for vandalism, cyber-bullying, and just about any other crime people do anonymously.

    The practice of not identifying juvenile offenders just makes it too easy for them. Second offence, their parents get it too.

    Like

  5. I have always wondered why some people feel personally offended just because they do not agree with something you have said?

    This is off subject Señor Zapata, but I saw a sticker on a car today that I thought you’d get a kick out of! 😉 It wasn’t very big, but very easy to read and simply said, “Nobama.”

    Like

    1. Cat: The PC people, folks who live entirely on the left (there are no conservative PC people though some mouth it out of necessity to survive) insist that everyone side with them. If you don’t, you are evil.

      Great bumper sticker. Brief and to the point. And the good news is that Barry’s poll numbers get worse daily. Most of the nation is now against him.

      Like

  6. Pulling the comments back around to the topic at hand, I imagine that a resurrection of the stocks would be deemed quite offensive by that segment of the population who seem eternally offended. I, on the other hand, would find it hilarious … and just.

    Like

  7. Unless there is someone else who emailed you about your “Epiphany in Merida” post, I have to assume that the “left winger” you’re referring to in today’s post is me. Call me whatever you want; I sent you my opinions by email because I thought our exchange would remain between us. You felt the need to go public… I shall follow suit: See my post today

    Like

    1. You’re a hoot, Joanna. You outed yourself! I would not have. I did not even refer to the post about Mérida. There was absolutely no reference to you whatsoever. And you are certainly are not the first person to say I have offended them, nor will you be the last. Your email simply inspired me to write about the topic of how “being offended” is so widespread these days. Yes, you were an inspiration! I thank you.

      Like

    2. P.P.S: The more I think about this the better it gets. Not only have you added humor here by outing yourself and getting irked at me (!) about it, you are — you say — giving free publicity to The Unseen Moon on your good blog to boot. All of this has true value, and I feel that I owe you.

      Send me your address there in Mérida, and I’ll drop a check in the mail. I think 500 pesos would be fair.

      Like

  8. Hey amigo, I’m late to the game on this subject. I hope you are still responding.

    I just challenged a real, not imagined, friend on her anti-2nd amendment stand on gun control. I was summarily booted off her friend list, but not before she said I could take my “murderous agenda” and stick it where the sun don’t shine!

    I wonder, liberal-conservative, I am neither, more libertarian leaning. But, as people, not labels, what compels some people to be so angry when you challenge their beliefs with facts, not emotions? What say you, señor?

    Like

    1. Mark: I think extremists on both ends of the political spectrum tend to explode when you disagree with them. Stalin and Hitler were not very different. Not a pretty trait.

      As for your “friend” who kicked you off the friend list (I assume you mean Facebook), that is similar to something that happened to me a few years back, before I abandoned FB. My former boss on the Houston newspaper, the same fellow who hired me in 1985, a great guy with whom I had always gotten along with very well, did the same to me when I repeatedly voiced support for strict border controls. This happened a few years after I retired and moved to Mexico. He is an openly gay Latino, and the only PC person I have ever heard admit he was a PC person. Most say they don’t even know what PC is, laughably.

      Sad situation. I always liked him a lot. Still do.

      Like

  9. Ayn Rand may have said it best. There are two answers to every question. One is right, one is evil but the middle is pure evil

    Like

  10. Felipe, I will say that your blog is superior to Joanna’s. You allow posts that do not agree with your views. Joanna, like most Progressives, cannot stand any thought that contradicts hers so she deletes the posts. The left is very narrow minded.

    Like

    1. Wesmouch, I would not say my website is superior to Joanna’s. We simply are very different. She is a good writer. The things she writes about are not my things, and vice versa. When you say I allow posts that do not agree with me, you are, of course, referring to comments. Only I write the posts. I not only allow contrary comments, I like them. There are two exceptions: When people are rude, and when folks drone on and on and on, trying to prove me wrong. I don’t get much of the former, strangely. I think I have frightened them into silence long ago. Nor the latter. I did have one fellow who tended to drone on too much, and I told him that I would have to put him on permanent moderation. Not blocked, just moderated. He never commented again. His choice.

      Progressives indeed. I very much lament the fact that left-wingers have co-opted nice words like progressive and liberal. Much of “progressive” thought is actually regressive. I prefer the more accurate terms of left-winger and collectivist.

      Like

  11. Well, my comments to that blog have been deleted, too. And those were written prior to checking the updated comments on this blog. And I was even polite, vouching for your character, suggesting that those promoting tolerance practice it, and calling for all to put on their Big Girl/Boy pants.

    Like

  12. Dang, I missed you, Son. While you were away, I cruised the internet, listened to Michele Bachmann, Mizz Coulter, Mr Bill Maher and a litany of others on the wrongs of America. You have a bunch of wingnuts north of the Rio. Well, not you personally. But then, we have Mayor Ford of Toronto, our crack-smoking, alcoholic, neer-do-well up here in Canuckville doing his part to claim infamy.

    Now you have returned, kicking up the dust like the good Old Rooster you are. You were missed. And, Mrs. Pant Suits is going to win. I’d put a peso or two on that. Better order the immigration papers, there might be a rush.

    Like

    1. Señor Peterson: We do indeed have a bunch of wingnuts above the Rio Bravo. As for your Mayor Ford, I like the guy. Seems the voters do too.

      Mrs. Pant Suits has absolutely no chance whatsoever of being president. She is going down in flames, caught up in the utter failure of the Barry Administration. She hooked her car to the wrong train.

      Like

      1. Sir, don’t blow off Ms. Pant Suits quite yet. As I recall, you predicted a landslide victory for Mr. Romney not that long ago.

        Like

        1. Charles: I did predict that, and had there been common sense loose in the land, I would have been correct.

          However, history is against Hillary. Just once, or perhaps it was twice, in American history has a president who’s completed two terms been followed by a president of the same party. That, combined with Barry’s (and, by association, Hillary’s) plummeting reputation, does not bode well for another Democratic president to immediately follow, Hillary or otherwise. Thank God, I say.

          Like

  13. Emotional abuse is regularly provoking a negative reaction and them blaming your target for being upset. For example, disparaging someone’s character and then berating them for being offended. There is a line between abuse and being amusingly outrageous.

    Like

Comments are closed.