Good and bad

Paradise birds

SPRING IS UPON us, and it’s the first time in all my time here, which is to say the entire century so far, plus one year, that we have passed through a winter without one overnight freeze.

Normally, overnight freezes are common hereabouts in winter, and I tend to favor them. It keeps more Gringos from moving to our Colonial town. We have enough Gringos already, somewhere in the neighborhood of 300, I hear tell. When I arrived, there were about 40. The trend is troubling.

Nobody in their right mind wants another San Miguel where waiters speak to you in English, price-gouging goes through the roof, and you can’t leave your house untended due to the line of burglars waiting around the corner. Nor do we want Gringos walking about dressed like artists, smiling insipidly all the time.

Just the thought of it makes me shiver.

On the other hand, a freeze-free winter encourages the plants. Birds of Paradise normally don’t bloom in March at the Hacienda, but we’ve got a bunch outside right now. The monster bougainvillea is berserk, and that aloe vera gets beefier every year.

Wall

Walking from the bedroom to the kitchen this morning, light from the big dining room window shone onto this living room wall, so I snapped a shot. It’s sorta dark, but I’m no pro and don’t pretend to be. The bamboo-framed oil painting on the right was purchased in Havana two years ago.

Cuba is a nasty place. Don’t go there. Mexico is a great place. Come visit. Then go home. If you do decide to settle here, which is not a bad idea, believe me, go to San Miguel, please. You won’t even have to learn Spanish. The waiters already speak your tongue. So do the burglars, one supposes.

25 thoughts on “Good and bad”

  1. Quote: “You won’t even have to learn English”. Did you mean Spanish?
    The Bird of Paradise is gorgeous, love those flowers. I also like your claro/oscuro shot, very artistic :).

    Like

    1. Brenda: Of course, I meant Spanish. Thanks for the correction. I have fixed it.

      And you like that photo?! Didn’t seem artistic to me. Seemed like I need a better camera. Glad you see it differently.

      Like

      1. I like the play of the light and shadows. I spend a lot of time looking at that kind of stuff.
        Hmm, is it just the gringos who dress like artists who have the insipid smiles or just gringos in general?

        Like

  2. I do my part by telling people of how bad the crime is here. The Narco incidents that happen daily and the constant fear and oppression we live under here. And don’t forget the horrible smog we have that looms over the valley from all the industrial factories in the (state capital) that flow down towards (our town). Then add that with the excessively high altitude which makes you sick and constantly gasping for oxygen. The beach with its mild and perfect climate or SMA would be the better choice.

    Like

  3. If you’re wondering where all the freeze went, it went to Houston, San Antonio and New Orleans. 🙂

    Like

    1. Carole: It’s all that global warming Al Gore tells us about — or something like that. But freezes above the Rio Bravo are manageable because you have the central air and AC. Comfort at the spin of the dial. We don’t have that here. We live as they lived in the olden days.

      Like

      1. According to the Canadian philosopher and songwriter Leonard Cohen:
        Everybody knows that the dice are loaded, everybody rolls with their fingers crossed… Everybody knows that the boat is leaking, everybody knows that the captain lied. Everybody got this broken feeling, like their father or their dog just died.

        The same is true for global warming. Everybody knows the government and the UN lies.

        Like

  4. If the Gringos get too thick, you could move to Zacatecas. It’s beautiful, cheap, and there appear to be NO gringos, save this odd tourist who will soon be gone.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Zacatecas, ZAC
    Where we think it’d be fun to live for a spell, and then wonder what it would be like after that.

    Like

    1. I think Zacatecas would be a nice place to live. I visited once. I like saying the name, mainly. One would hope the locals have named their children accordingly, such as Zaccheus, Zechariah, etc.

      Like

    2. Kim: Zacatecas has long been, from what I have read (and seen during my one trip there), pretty much free of Gringos. Who knows why? Seems ideal, and the proximity to the border would be good for those who can’t stay away from home very long.

      Like

      1. Zacatecas is a fine city. We have been there twice. However, its altitude is ~8000 feet above sea level (the second highest city in Mexico other than Toluca.). The winters are very cold. They make our Tierra Bendita seem like a temperate haven. Also, as far as I know, Zacatecas has no Costco or Sam’s Club. They takes it out of the running for a place to live as far as we are concerned.

        (I just did some fact checking on my statements about the lack of Costco or Sam’s in Zacatecas. The nearest Costco is in Aguascalientes, several hours drive to the south. There IS a Sam’s Club in Zac. but the web site is not very friendly and doesn’t clearly state where it’s located.)

        Saludos,
        Don Cuevas

        Like

        1. I should add that Zacatecas is not that close to the border. It’s 755 miles to El Paso, by way of Chihuahua and Ciudad Júarez. Laredo. TX is closer, however; only 424 miles.

          DC

          Like

        2. Don Cuevas: I have read that Zacatecas is quite cold in winter, quite hot in summer. Kim G. cited some weather stats about it on his blog recently claiming otherwise. I’m sticking with what I read because I cannot think of any other good reason that Gringos tend to shun it. It’s a very nice place. No Costco would be a drawback too.

          Like

  5. I have been so taken with Kim’s description of Zacatecas, I may put it on the list as a possible place for the tribe to settle. It certainly would not be a training wheels site. Instead, I will get them up your way. But not on this trip, it appears. Too many projects have wended their way into my life.

    Like

  6. It’s been “colder than a witches tit” here in Alabama this winter. It even got below freezing a couple of mornings last week. They say it killed most of the peach crop for this year. Boo!

    Like

Comments are closed.