Dawn of June

Loro

JUNE DEBUTED this morning blue and cool. This follows quite a few days of gray and cool. This morning’s style is preferred.

This photo is, of course, somewhat similar to that of two days ago, but so what? I shifted to the left, so you get part of the monster bougainvillea. And those three pointy trees in the background that are in the neighbor’s yard across the street. He is a nice man who runs a small clothing store downtown, and his hair is silver like mine. My age too. How about that?

Often, when I gaze upon my garden, I think of my second ex-wife. She is a plant fanatic, a trained horticulturalist, and she works hard in her yard there in Houston. It looks nice (Thanks, Google Earth), but it’s nothing like this. And I put such little effort into it.

Plant, stand back, rain. Voilá.

It’s just not fair.

It’s such a lovely day that we two will motor out into the countryside for lunch at a place called The Tiger.

I often read news stories online about how one can plan and survive retirement financially in these difficult Obama times. Occasionally, I leave a comment that it’s simple. Just sell your junk. Pack your bags. Fly to Mexico.

I get responses like: That’s nuts. You’ll get murdered.  And similar silliness.

Ha!

8 thoughts on “Dawn of June”

  1. Oh, how I wish. Put the Canada place on the market last week. It’s a knockout location there as a seasonal vacay home so I hope it sells pretty quickly this year!!!!!!!!! 🙂

    Like

    1. Carole: Either I never knew or I’m having a senior moment. The Canada place?

      In any event, I hope it sells quickly too. Then you can sell all your stuff, pack your bags and get on a plane to Guadalajara. Bring your hubby though.

      Like

      1. Southeastern Ontario about three hours west of Ottawa. Owned for 15 years but a 4,000-mile round trip is getting a bit much. It’s in perfect shape right this minute and if I could transport it magically closer, it would stay in the family. On 10 acres of lakefront property, privacy all around. And safe (to date) from home intrusions.

        Like

  2. Little do they know… But then, do we really want those terrified gringos here anyway? Scared people at best are no fun to be around, at worst can be pretty scary themselves.

    Like

    1. Bliss: I write this sort of thing here mostly for fun. I do, however, leave those comments on retirement stories I see online. I know nobody is going to take my advice.

      As for Gringos being here, they can seal the border from our side as far as I am concerned. And sending about 90 percent of the Gringos here now back to the United States will be a great idea too. You, of course, would be in the 10 percent who can stay.

      Like

  3. It’s funny, despite having lots of experience traveling around Mexico in F’s car and by bus, I was rather nervous to cross the border. Five thousand Mexican miles later, I’m wondering what all the fuss is about. Sure, stuff can happen, but it’s pretty unlikely. Especially once you get a couple hundred miles south of the border.

    From my visit a week ago, it’s pretty clear that you are having a miserable, fear-filled retirement, LOL.

    Keep living “la vida loca.” We’re all rooting for you.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Boston, Ma
    Where we drove all around Mexico including the dreaded Michoacán and lived to blog the tale.

    Like

    1. Kim: Your initial gut reaction is a good example of what the hysterical media above the border is doing to us, especially in the tourism department, which is very important.

      One is safer down here than in much, perhaps most, of the United States these days. Of that, I am convinced.

      Like

Comments are closed.