Figs in copper

figs
Figs cooking in copper pot.

MEXICANS ARE famous for being able to do most practical things easily and quickly. My child bride endlessly amazes me with her fast and practical solutions to about any problem, problems that would cause me to toss up my hands and go sprawl out for a nice siesta.

figs2
Then “canned” in bottles.

The other night she came home with lots of green figs in a plastic bag. She asked if we had a big aluminum pot. The answer was no. So she went to the living room and emptied a copper pot purchased years ago to hold ocote, a fire-starting wood. It was sitting by the fireplace.

She washed it real good. She sliced each fig a bit, and started the process, which began in the evening and continued on into the following day. She had never done this before. She found the process online.

A few years ago, after perfecting her pastry skills, she decided to bake bread, something that has a reputation of being tricky if you do it from scratch, especially your first time. She did it perfectly.

She wants this fig supply for her muffins. As I write this (last night) they are sitting on the kitchen counter exactly as you see in the second photo. They will be good. Trust me.

Mexicans are handy people.

10 thoughts on “Figs in copper”

  1. Useta think there was not a good reason to eat figs. That was when we had a huge tree in the yard of my childhood home. Lots of wasps liked them, though. Now that my tastes have matured and I like them they are ungodly expensive to buy fresh at the grocery store. They are a nice component of a snack tray with cheese and grapes.

    Like

    1. Carole: I, along with my parents and sister, lived with my maternal grandparents until I was 6, and then we visited often after that. Granny had a big fig bush outside the kitchen window. She and Willie the Maid used to “put up” figs every year. I was never a fan. When we bought the property here where we now live, there was a big fig tree. It was removed, however, about a year later to build a second carport.

      Figs can be pricey here too. My sister-in-law bought a big bag from some country dweller a few days back, and she shared with my wife. Fig is a fun word to say, at least.

      Like

  2. Some of your gringo neighbors have several fig trees. When that grand house was owned by others, I occasionally reaped the benefits of those trees.

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

  3. I had big plans for figs. Planted a fig bush at the farm last year, but two nights of temperatures in the teens lead to its early demise.

    Like you, I remember the fig bush in the yard of my childhood. My grandmother made “fig preserves” every year, which were mighty good on a hot biscuit.

    Like

    1. Ray: I imagine figs were pretty common in the South in the olden days. Maybe still are. I would not know. I bet they were less popular in other parts of the country, however.

      Like

Comments are closed.