Fettucchine and sugar donuts

grub

BIANNUAL CHECKUP yesterday. All numbers were good. There were only three numbers: cholesterol, blood sugar and triglycerides. That’s the July test. In December I add a poop test and sometimes a chest X-ray and cholesterol breakdown. They invariably show me in top form. Knock on wood.

I did what I always do. No coffee or edge of toast at dawn to have the virgin tummy and blood stream. At 7:45, I drive the 15 minutes downtown to the laboratory that opens at 8. It’s really just a branch of the lab, a collection point on a cobblestone street, and it’s manned by a nice young woman, a girl really, in white.

Before taking my $21, she tells me that if I wait two days, there will be a sale, and it will only run me about half. But I’m already there, so I pay the full enchilada. Most Mexicans would have departed and returned two days later. I am more cavalier with cash. And lazy.

No appointment was necessary, of course. No doctor had to refer me. I just showed up, and the results were ready at 1:30 that afternoon. Quick, efficient, painless and intelligent.

I usually watch what I eat which is, of course, the reason my numbers are always good. But yesterday’s report merited a reward. For lunch, I ate fettuchine at a restaurant, plenty of cheese. Later, I gobbled not one, but two, sugar donuts from a bakery. Sometimes you gotta cut loose and howl.

* * * *

July Fourth. It’s just another day in Mexico. Some of the Gringos celebrate, but those are the folks who never make the transition to Mexico. Their bodies are here (at times), but their hearts and minds stay above the Rio Bravo.

There will be no weenies or hamburgers over charcoal at the Hacienda. Instead, my child bride has cooked up a big pot of caldo de res. This morning we took our plaza power walk. At 9 o’clock, it was 60 cool degrees.

Mountain life is lovely.

* * * *

Barry’s descent continues, which is always excellent news. A recent poll conducted by Quinnipiac University (one of the nation’s best, according to U.S. News and World Report) shows than a sizable hunk of America considers Barry the worst president since World War II. Well, duh.

The ineffectual, divisive, wooden “community organizer” parked in the Oval Office polled worse than Dubya, the peanut farmer and Tricky Dick. In a bit over two years, way too long, we’ll be rid of him. He must be a dreadful embarrassment to the bona fide blacks and clueless whites who voted for him en masse due to his skin tone.

No matter, I guess. The fettucchine was great and the sugar donuts were a delight.

32 thoughts on “Fettucchine and sugar donuts”

  1. If the Americans or Canadians get together and have some traditional foods from their country on holidays from that country, I don’t think it means they haven’t fully moved to Mexico. When I lived in the US, I would often cook some Mexican dish on Cinco de Mayo or Day of the Dead. Now don’t start in on the real background of Cinco de Mayo. Back then I didn’t know it wasn’t the true independence day for Mexico. I would set the table with my Mexican dishes and decorative stuff. Those days were times when I thought a lot about the Mexico that I traveled in and loved. I felt like I was remembering a country and people who were important to me. I’m not having burgers and hotdogs today nor am I having traditional Mexican food. I will have a shrimp, rice noodle, cilantro…kind of Thai recipe. I’ve never even been to Thailand much less lived there. So what does that mean? LOL

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Aahh, Fettuccine Alfredo has to be one of my favorite pasta dishes. Unfortunately, the local places here don’t have a clue on how to make it properly. I’ve tried it at a few places and have finally accepted that I can make it much better than any local joint, so I stopped kidding myself and wasting money on my search. I only make it once or twice a year since it is such a heavy, unhealthy, delicious dish. After all, I want my blood tests to be as decent as yours, even though my blood pressure comes from your amigo in the oval office.

    Like

    1. Tancho: Although the pasta in the photo is fettuccine Alfredo, that’s not what I ordered at the restaurant. It was simply fettuccine with cheese and veggies. Quite tasty.

      “My amigo” in the Oval Office. Ha!

      Like

  3. Patzcuaro is emerging from its position as a food desert to a garden of treats. La Sra. de Zapata may have started the trend with her Saturday temptations. This week I came across those doughnuts you touted, and you were absolutely right. They make Krispy Kremes look like week-old Winchell’s.

    And then there was the matter of finding organic, lean duck at the natural foods place on the corner.

    None of which has anything to do with the Estadounidense 4th.

    Like

    1. Ms. Shoes: So you found the donuts. They are available there only during weekdays, not weekends. Dunno why. Actually, I would not rate them better than the original Krispy Kreme, just different. I love them both. I do not like duck though.

      Like

    2. When I stopped at our favorite carnicería this morning for some of the ingrdients to make albóndigas al chipotle, the butcher’s son told me that they now have fresh, young lamb. Only $110 pesos a kilo. I wasn’t ready to cook lamb, but it’s good to know it may be available again.

      Saludos,
      Don Cuevas

      Like

      1. I got a rack of lamb from them a couple of weeks ago, and it was nice and tender. He says they get it on Tuesdays.

        Like

        1. I’m there! Well, I mean that I will make it a point to go over there on Tuesdays to stock up on lamb. That’s a whole lot cheaper than the uncertified, antibiotic-free, free-range lamb who probably had a lot of little lamb friends frolicking in politically correct, probably even Portlandesque, lamb clans that I bought in San Miguel.

          Liked by 1 person

  4. You and I have similar results at the same age. Not sure why mine are good, as I did a fair amount of abuse to this 70-year-old body in the past. While I do eat and drink better as I get older (and do exercise), I can’t resist a large plate of chicken fettuccine every once in a while (the chicken makes it healthy). Krispy Kreme donuts are also great.

    Like

    1. Mike: Chicken fettuccine sounds good. I don’t think the pasta is so bad. It’s the cheese and anything else fatty that you set atop it. Kinda like baked taters. The tater is okay, but when you dump sour cream, butter, etc., you’ve gone off the deep end.

      Which reminds me that the first time I ever ate sour cream on a baked tater, I was in the Air Force in California. Must have been 19 years old. I was in a restaurant with a sergeant friend of mine. We ordered baked taters, and the waitress asked if we wanted sour cream on it. Being the Georgia country bumpkin I was at that time, I had never heard of such a thing. Sour cream?! Sounded disgusting, but the sarge recommended it, and I ordered it. Been a fan ever since.

      My cholesterol level was just two points over the “normal” range, which is okay with me. It’s been a bit higher. For the past couple of years, I have taken niacin every morning. I like the buzz it gives me, plus it’s claimed to be good at reducing cholesterol levels. Just recently, however, the Mexican government has said I cannot have it shipped south from the United States. I have never seen it in Mexico.

      Mike, are you Mike 2 or a third Mike? I know Mike 1 is nowhere near 70. No matter. All Mikes are welcomed.

      Like

      1. I think I am Mike M, but who cares. Love loaded bake potatoes. Have one every two weeks at my favorite eatery.

        Like

    1. Peter: I am appalled. My mother once fed my sister and me, without telling us beforehand, our pet bunny Rusty there on the farm in Georgia. I might have led a productive life had that not happened. It twisted me.

      Like

      1. I once served bunny for Easter dinner. I was not very popular. How dare I serve Thumper at Easter! Teehee.

        Like

        1. Señor Mystic: I was born in Atlanta, but my parents and my sister and I moved very soon after I was born to my maternal grandparents’ farm in southwest Georgia where we stayed until I was 7. We then moved to Jacksonville, Florida, where I stayed till I graduated from high school. I landed in New Orleans when I was 20 and stayed there for most of the next 18 years. I consider it home more than anywhere else.

          I moved to Texas when I was 39, left when I was 55. I came to Mexico 14 years ago. All of which makes me 39 years old.

          Like

  5. I read a report that the average American eats 63 doughnuts per year. Dang, I’m sure I only eat about 5 per year, so I want to know this: who’s eating the rest of my doughnuts?!

    Like

    1. Back in the ’70s, Sra.Cuevas and I would sometimes stop by the Mr. Donut shop in Springfield, MO, on our way home from a caving trip. We’d get a box of a dozen assorted donuts and split the lot between us. Maybe that in part explains our current girth.

      Saludos,
      Don Cuevas

      Like

  6. I keep my Spartan Mexican diet as unrefined as possible, yet I still cheat by consuming a couple of donuts every month. I guess we all succumb to guilty pleasures every once in awhile. I am still looking for a local source for lamb.

    Like

  7. Other expats in Honduras gathered on the Fourth for a party. I happened to be in town that morning, so I visited briefly, but left before the festivities. It just seemed unseemly to make a fuss on a workday for ordinary Hondurans. I did enjoy the mangos I picked up on the way home, though. My cholesterol is a bit higher than I want it to be, but I succumbed to temptation yesterday and had fried chicken with Honduran friends. They love Popeye’s down here.

    Like

Comments are closed.