Mexican delights

morning

THIS SUNNY, cool morning we returned from our 20-minute walk around the neighborhood plaza. Birds were singing. The sun was shining. The air was like Baby Bear’s porridge, just right.

Walking back, my child bride detoured to the little general store on the corner near the Hacienda. She purchased butter for her pastries. I continued on, leaving the gate door unlocked for her return.

I sat on the porch, removed the walking boots that I bought years back at Academy sporting goods in San Antonio and put on my blue, house Crocs. I also have older, brown, yard Crocs.

In the kitchen I poured a glass of fresh orange juice. I returned to the porch, looking at what you see above. My child bride returned, went into the kitchen and came back with a grapefruit, which she rips apart with her hands, kinda like a hyena on a dead wildebeest. But it looks ladylike.

We will lunch today on beans and roasted chicken. The beans are already in the kitchen. I will head out later to buy the roasted chicken at my favorite spot on the ring road. Beans and chicken are our Wednesday tradition. You get a hen and a half on Wednesday for the price of one. Leftover chicken goes into evening salads.

Can’t beat it. None of it.

25 thoughts on “Mexican delights”

    1. Mike: It certainly is, and I’ve been at it a long time. It never fails to amaze me that there are so many folks, it appears, mostly men, who feel adrift on doing it. Don’t know what to do with themselves. Often, they just just up and drop dead. Sad.

      Like

    1. Come on down, Mike. The townhouse awaits you.

      I wouldn’t call the yard impeccable, but it’s real nice. I used to do it all by myself, but gradually I have toned that down. Somebody else mows it now. I still tend to details if they are small. If it’s a big detail, I hire someone. I have posted this photo many times, from one angle or the other, so it may be getting old. No matter. It’s what I see when I sit on the downstairs terraza, and it’s great.

      Like

  1. I have slipped into my 70th year a tad ahead of you again, I always seen to go first it seems. It’s ok, the sun is shining, there’s a cool breeze and the lawn needs mowing, it can wait. Retirement for me is a state of flux, just about a year now, it’s defiantly a different lifestyle. It will take some getting used to. I have worked since I was about 5 yrs old, I was a farm boy, cows had to be hand milked. I still have forearms like Popeye. House looks great bye the way.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ms. Shoes: I have not eaten okra in so many years, I am not sure I would recognize one if I laid eyes upon it. Anyway, except for breaded and deep-fried, which makes it pretty good, okra is quite similar to cooked nopal, which is to say like something that slips out of your nose when you’ve got a dreadful head cold.

      Like

  2. Hola Señor Zapata. I am not sure, but I think my identity has changed, so I wanted to let you know that I am the same person as “Cat.” 😉

    Anyway, your Wednesday tradition sounds heavenly and your morning view is very beautiful and peaceful!

    P.S. I wouldn’t murder the bats either and am getting a “kick” out of los tres bandidos who are raiding my bird feeder every night! As you would say, “They are a hoot!” and I am hoping to get pictures of them tonight! 🙂

    Like

    1. Cat: Not just Wednesday, but pretty much every day is heavenly in these parts. That’s what I think. By the tres bandidos, do you mean bats? They would be fond of the sugar water, I imagine. Good luck with the photos.

      Like

      1. Actually, I meant raccoons. This is the 3rd summer I have had a trio of bandidos raiding the bird feeder at night. I have been bringing the bird food in in the evening, so they are only getting a few scraps, but they love to hang around and play in the birdbath and carry the small rubber stingray around that is in one of them. No pictures yet. Can’t seem to stay awake late enough to catch them.

        Like

    1. Yep, whatever you type in the name slot is how you are named. What changed, I imagine, was your email address. That would explain your comments going to the moderation pile, which I only noticed this morning.

      Like

    1. Peter: My wife makes them, and she just wings it. There is nothing written down. Years back, I made some great beans from a recipe in Carl Franz’s People’s Guide to Mexico.

      Like

      1. About the only thing that beans lack is a lobbying group to promote their advantages. Items I often add to a pot of beans include sliced sausage, chicken or pork, sweet potatoes, squash, onions, avocado, broccoli, cauliflower and chile.

        Like

    1. Gracias, Andean. I am inordinately fond of the house and perhaps overdo some shots like a proud mama with her newborn baby photos, although the Hacienda is almost an adolescent, hardly a newborn.

      Like

Comments are closed.