Peaches and the slow life

peaches
These are the actual peaches on the Hacienda tree.

THIS DAY dawned perfectly — cool, almost completely blue above, and stunning sunshine. This being the rainy season, we often do not dawn sunny, but today we did.

You’ve heard of slow cooking. Well, one of us (not the other) lives a slow life here at the Hacienda. This means nothing much gets done most days, and life tastes better for it. Some people thrive on activity. I am married to one of those people. Others thrive on the slow life. That’s the one she is married to.

But let’s move on to peaches. The peach tree in the yard is loaded. They are starting to drop on the grass, which I do not appreciate because it requires action, the antithesis of the slow life. If anyone in the area wants to pass by the Hacienda, you may have as many peaches as you can tote. Free.

I have a ladder. No charge for its use.

Have to contact me first because we do not answer the bell if we’re not expecting someone. Since the front gate is almost a block from the house, you can see how knee-jerk responding to a doorbell is also the antithesis of the slow life. Be warned, however, that these are not nice Georgia peaches.

To me, they are crappy peaches. They are to nice Georgia peaches what my bananas are to a fine crop from a banana republic. Poor excuses. But they are free. My child bride eats them and declares them passable. She has also eaten grasshopper tacos. Just so you know. Maybe you could make a peach pie.

There is also a pear tree, which is full, and the pears are pretty good. Take a few. The sour orange bush is loaded, and sour oranges serve some purpose, I am told. Take a few of them too.

Now pardon me. It’s time for a nap.

16 thoughts on “Peaches and the slow life”

  1. I have a Seville orange tree. For so many years, I threatened to cut it down, just because it took up space. Each year, I’d give it a respite, because my mother had planted it with the idea of making orange marmalade, which I deplore.Then I discovered I could juice them all up, freeze the juice, and use it for cochinita pibil. And it doesn’t make a bad agua, fortified with stevia.

    Like

    1. Ms. Shoes: We had two pear trees. One was very badly located, so I had it removed last year. Would prefer to zap the peach, but my wife likes it. No accounting for taste and, of course, she’s not the one who has to scoop up rotting peaches from the grass.

      She does make cochinita pibil now and then. Yum.

      Like

    2. Several years ago, I made several batches of Seville Orange Marmalade. It was a helluva lot of work, although the results were good. Unless you are one who likes to stand over a kettle of simmering orange rinds in syrup for an hour or two, I don’t recommend it.

      Saludos,
      Don Cuevas

      Like

  2. Apples and peaches are quite puny in Mexico. If you want to grow a quality plant you need quality seeds. It is better to stick with guayabas/guavas. They make excellent jelly and candy.

    Like

    1. Andrés: Some, not many, of the apples that fall on our grass from the neighbors’ tree are pretty good-sized, and they taste fairly good too. The peaches, on the other hand, are quite miserable, which is why I will give them away for free. Perhaps they would be good pig food.

      Like

  3. New photo at the top? Really nice of the plaza grande. Settle a bet for me. What time of day and what month?
    Gracias

    Like

    1. Patzman: Winter, either January or February, and very early morning. Hope you won the bet. By the way, that photo is one of three or four that automatically alternate in that spot. So, right now, you may be looking at something different, but the plaza will return.

      Like

  4. But she has also eaten grasshopper tacos. LOL… I should not have taken a sip of coffee before reading that line. I nearly sprayed the keyboard.

    Saludos,

    Kim G
    Tehuacán, Puebla
    Where Edgar’s house has some highly-anticipated papayas ripening in the garden.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.