A dog named Guts

Guts
This is Guts.

HE’S A GENTLEMAN, a scholar, a football player and a pooch. He goes by Guts.

He’s a gentleman because he doesn’t jump up on your leg. When he is outside my sister-in-law’s business, he only goes to the open entrance, no farther. He stops there and waits, one paw on the stoop.

He’s a scholar because he’s clearly intelligent, which is also why he’s a gentleman. Perhaps his formal schooling is deficient, making him not technically a scholar, but if you want smart, then Guts is your guy.

He’s a football player. Actually, it’s soccer because he lives in Mexico, but it’s not called soccer but football or rather futbol  in Spanish. Guts plays second fiddle on a two-man team.

The star player is my nephew who is 11. The two play on the sidewalk late in the evenings after the business has closed for the night. Guts is really into the game, playing with his paws, not technically kosher, of course.

Guts is a street fellow and needs a bath. You may wonder where he got the name of Guts. The daughter of one of my sister-in-law’s employees named him that. Actually, his name is Tripas, a Spanish word that means, well, Guts. It also means Intestines, but I favor Guts, don’t you?

It has more style.

Guts has guts because it requires guts to live on the street in Mexico and remain somewhat clean, especially when in your heart you’re a gentleman, a scholar and a football player.

Guts, a little guy, is also an optimist with a sunny disposition. I like him.

19 thoughts on “A dog named Guts”

  1. Nice…brought an early morning smile to my face…thanks for sharing Guts with us. There are way too many more like him here in Mexico…in addition to being gentlemen and scholars, they are also very street smart out of necessity…I do like the name Tripas better than the translation however!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Charles: Dogs are abused far too much in this nation, usually by simple neglect. However, Guts gets along quite well. They may not bathe him (yet) or let him into the house (two ornery cats already there, mousers) but he does have his food and water plates on the sidewalk.

      You like Tripas better than Guts, of course, because you don’t have the lifelong gut reaction to the word Tripas. You do for Guts. Me too.

      Like

  2. Reading the first part of your post I was trying to think of the Spanish word for guts. You saved me from having to look it up. I have a white friend that loves tripas. Don’t think she thinks of it as eating guts.

    Like

    1. Bev: Yes, people eat tripas, and it does sound better with that word. But it’s guts. No getting around that fact. I don’t eat them. I don’t eat sweetbreads either. Now there’s a classic case of verbal cover-up.

      Like

  3. Although I have now given up eating menudo, I was a somewhat regular customer at Menudería Tere’s, where Tere always insisted on including a pata (hoof) in my bowl.It makes great nibbling after you have slurped up your soup.

    Menudo is really all about the condiments: chile de árbol, orégano, salsa macha, chile perón. Ouch! There’s the problem. My aging innards can no longer tolerate the pungent chiles and salsas.

    Saludos,
    Don Cuevas

    Like

  4. Cute little dog, and it is sad how little respect animals get down here. There is nothing quite like having a pet dog or cat to bond with. At the shelter I use to be involved with NOB, we use to provide dogs and cats to the elderly in rest homes for companionship. You would not believe how important they were to the moral for those patients. It was rewarding to participate in that program. Guts deserves a bath one day, just for being loyal to the location and for posing for your camera.

    Like

    1. Tancho: Though Guts could surely benefit from a shower, he’s not nearly so grubby as some street dogs. As for old folks (you and me, bub) benefiting from pets, that has been long and often noted. It’s a good thing. I would have a dog were it not for the many inconveniences it entails. For true dog lovers, the inconveniences are worth it. I have never reached that point.

      Were I to have a dog, it would be a standard poodle, the big ones.

      Like

    1. Ms. Shoes: The Hacienda needs dog poop scattered about the yard like I need a third ear.

      And, as mentioned in a previous comment, even if I were to get a dog, it would not be a little mutt like Guts or some dumb doberman. It would be a tall, proud, smart, standard poodle.

      Okay, okay, Menudencia, I like it. Not bad at all.

      Like

    1. Carole: I have never had a dog in my life, not even as a child (if you don’t count a cocker spaniel my father brought home one late night while loaded with whiskey after a poker game. When he sobered up the next morning, he realized his error, and a few days later the dog “ran away”).

      But I have often read very good things about standard poodles. They are very bright. They do not shed at all. And they are not yappy like the smaller poodles.

      Like

    1. Ms. Shoes: What the canine kingdom gives you? Like dead rats and iguanas laid at your feet inside the house? No, I imagine I will continue a pooch-free life. As for the name Menudencia, though very imaginative, and I like it, it’s almost in the same league as estadounidense for being impossible to pronounce. I would prefer something like Spot.

      Like

  5. I recommend a couple of big, black mutts along with an electric fence. As for the poop issue, that should be taken care of by the guy that does your gardening.

    Also, beware of street dogs. If nobody owns them, nobody vaccinates them.

    Just my opinion.

    Like

    1. Señor Gill: Since you recommend black mutts for guard duty, I can only put on my NDP (New Democratic Party) cap and accuse you of abominable racism!

      Electric fence? Nah. We’ve seen no need for that even though we have about the snazziest house in the entire neighborhood. Only one other likely exceeds us. We count on the presence of the 24-hour sex motel next door to provide the illusion of security. There is always someone there.

      As for the yard-mowing guy picking up dog poop, keep in mind that he comes just once a week, and dogs poop daily, and more than once daily, I suspect. And then there is the issue of daily rains for five straight months. That would keep the poop piles soft and steaming permanently, I suspect.

      I do beware of street dogs. Fear not, and vaccinations have nothing to do with it.

      Like

Comments are closed.