Getting arty

WomanONE OF OUR favorite local artists, a man named Cordero, often sells his work Sundays in the main plaza downtown. We bought this piece yesterday, and I like it very much, the style, the colors, the theme.

It’s a woman indigenous to this area with the clothes they wear. Note the pleated skirt, a dead giveaway of her people.

She’s holding a collection of clay figures, the type often seen in these parts. The themes are wonderful, from demons to devils to old men sitting atop wagons or school buses.

The piece is leaning against a painted table in our living room, so you get an idea of its considerable size.

 

 

street

 

The woman is painted on wood. Cordero doesn’t seem too interested in canvas. Sometimes he paints watercolors, and the style is quite different. We have one of his watercolors, a local street scene, on paper hanging in the bedroom. That’s it to the left.

We’ll be dropping off the work at the top at a frame shop this afternoon. Getting things framed here costs a tiny fraction of what frame shops charge above the Rio Bravo.

It’s just one of millions of reasons why living in Mexico is superior to living in the United States these days, but let’s not rub that in right now.

We have two other works of Cordero, both painted on wood, in the Hacienda. One is a beautifully exotic rendition of a pink datura flower and its leaves. The other is a green jungle scene with two stone masks, the face of one is Cordero himself.

In Mexico, you don’t have to be a millionaire to buy original artwork. Being a cheapskate, I like that.

13 thoughts on “Getting arty”

  1. Love that picture. It’s one right up my alley! We have a gallery of Mexican folk art pics, some folk scenes on masonite, some paisajes on varied types of wood, all professionally framed. Frames are worth much more than the art work. I often wonder what they’d go for, money wise, in an estate sale. Mixed with the Mexican art is a variety of the same type of art and colors from the Caribbean, including Cuba, and Central America. Many Maya baskets made of what they call jippy jappa and tie-tie straw. Ceramics, alebrijes and wool rugs from the Oxaca region and a few Lupita ceramic dolls from right down in the San Antonio market. I wanted to buy one of the canvas portraits by the Argentine artist who lives in Patz but it was too big for the space. All wall space is pretty well occupied and I will have to tie my hands when we visit in November because I love all of it. Add the Texas bluebonnet canvases and my husband’s medieval prints and antique maps in other parts of the house and we’re ’bout full up.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Nice painting, I love to visit the Sunday shows in the plaza, but have to restrain myself from buying anymore artwork. Each wall in the house already has some, so it may be time to start rotating them. The neat thing is that there is so much talent around here and the prices are pretty reasonable.
    I like the bottom left of the painting where she is holding a little dog and being embraced by the devil…

    Like

    1. Tancho: There is lots of talent here. Another fellow I favor is Arturo Solis, and I have some of his artwork too. Some he just gave to me.

      That little touch at the bottom left of the painting is an attention-grabber. Nice detail.

      Like

  3. You obviously have good taste in art. There was a time, back in the other century, when every gringo house had at least a few Zalce lithographs, and the real prize was an artist’s proof. He sold them for far less than you paid for your painting. The artist of the hour is Mizraim Cardenas, a Zalce protege, and we treasure his P de A lithographs, too.

    Like

    1. Ms. Shoes: Being a country bumpkin, I have no idea who any of those folks you mention are. My art taste, like my taste in women and doughnuts, is one of those “I know what I like” situations. And how do you know that artist proofs of Zalce’s lithographs sold for far less than I paid for my piece since I did not mention what I paid?

      Like

Comments are closed.