Voter-identification baloney

THE VOTER ID hubbub is heating up again due to the upcoming U.S. midterm elections.

This may be about the most boneheaded conflict imaginable. The worn-out phrase “no-brainer” would be hard pressed to find a more comfortable home. Who can logically argue that demonstrating that you are a legal citizen should not be a requirement for voting? Answer: The Democratic Party.

Or, as I prefer to dub it, the NDP, the New Democratic Party, due to its radical departure from classic liberal values.

voteHow anyone can voice the opinion that one must not be required to prove citizenship to vote without breaking out in howling laughter is beyond me. Yet, that is the official position of the NDP.

Why? Because many who favor the NDP notion of the perpetual Christmas stocking are poor, uneducated, in the country illegally, and so on. That the illegals cannot prove citizenship is obvious. That the poor and uneducated cannot is because, usually, they cannot get up the gumption to get an official ID.

And the NDP hasn’t enough carpools to round them up like cattle nationwide so they can get that ID.

Here’s how it works in Mexico, a land where the poor and uneducated are not in short supply: You go to an office of the election agency under your own steam with your birth certificate and proof of residence. You get photographed and issued a voter ID on the spot. It is not complicated. Most people do it.

It also doubles as a national ID for other purposes. I have one. It’s quite handy. Is there even one other nation aside from the United States where you can vote without proving citizenship? I doubt it.

Effectively proving you are a citizen would make mail-in voting difficult or impossible. So be it.  It would make my absentee voting from south of the Rio Bravo impossible, but it’s a hit I’m willing to take. You cannot vote by mail in Mexico. On election day, we head to a nearby polling place. It’s as it should be.

That no proof of citizenship is required to vote in many parts of the United States is another tragic indication of the ongoing unraveling of a once-great nation. Another is the deliberate lack of border control.

Let us salute the NDP.

25 thoughts on “Voter-identification baloney”

  1. Voter ID is still not enough. I have a hard time accepting that some uneducated poor person who wants some of my money has a say in how much of it I must give him.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Carlos: I also think that more than proof of citizenship should be required. I favor a reasonable written exam that covers basic civic issues plus other things like where is Canada? Where is Mexico? Can you divide 100 by 5, etc.? Also, a high school diploma should be required. I do not favor universal suffrage. And I do not favor urging people to vote. If you have to be urged, the voting booth is the last place I want you.

      Like

  2. I am with you on this issue. I believe there are three states (Washington. Oregon, & Colorado) where all voting is by mail. Ballots are sent to “registered” voters. The only verification is your signature. Talk about fraud possibilities (elderly, nursing home patients, illiterate people, etc.). As has been pointed out by others, in many cases you can not cash a check, use a credit card, visit a doctor’s office without showing a photo ID. We are unraveling in many ways.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Ms. Shoes: I had done a cursory Google search using a different phrase and came up with nothing. Looking at that link, I see you cannot vote in Argentine national elections without being a citizen, just in some local elections and you have to demonstrate knowledge of the issues there. I started, like you, to go down that long list and wearied of it. But I read enough to see that some nations had allowed it and had reversed themselves. And some allowed it in some elections and not in others. Some required that you prove that you have lived there for some specific time, which is to say some proof of something was required. You must have lived in Malawi for seven years and must be able to prove it. Again, something must be proven.

      As I scan that list, I see nothing resembling the carefree, everybody-come-in attitude toward voting that the NDP wants to implement in the United States. To the party’s own benefit, of course.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Not only do we need a national voter ID law, we need a national ID card that corresponds to a fingerprint file and a biometric data file. People should have to give a fingerprint when voting. That will stop the fraud.

    But once we have a one-party state, who cares who votes for who or what? We will get what those in control want us to have.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have no problem with voter IDs and proof of citizenship, however I am opposed to a biometric national ID, unless it is a national passport that permits you to travel anywhere.

    Voting rights were a big deal in the 1950s and 1960s when they were abused. The 1965 Voting Rights Act, closely followed the language of the 15th amendment, and applied a nationwide prohibition against the denial or abridgment of the right to vote based on literacy tests. Voting rights efforts today are a scam to allow anyone to vote.

    Like

    1. Andrés: I favor a literacy test, a civics test, perhaps even an IQ test. Probably would be a good idea to have a minimum voting age of 30.

      Of course, I’m really not too keen on voting at all, but it’s the lesser evil. My ideal government is the enlightened monarchy. Only hitch with that is that it’s impossible to know if it will be enlightened for more than one generation. Ah, there’s the rub.

      Like

      1. In colonial days and in the early 19th century, only white, male landowners had the right to vote. After the Civil War, The intent of the 14th Amendment was to protect all rights. Like the 13th and 15th Amendments, the 14th Amendment was mainly ratified for freedom for former slaves.
        The 15th Amendment removed race qualifications for voting. The 14th Amendment did not guarantee this right because the states still had their own governing rights when it came to voting. Basically, citizenship alone didn’t give you the right to vote. That is why the 15th Amendment was ratified.

        Like

  5. As it is now, voter rolls cannot be effectively purged. That means that someone could vote en lieu as a person who died or moved to Florida or Mexico for years. Some of your registrations probably will be voted by Democrat proxies in the next election. We need a system to stop voter fraud.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Today there is a link on the Drudge Report to Project Veritas’ undercover investigation of voter fraud in Colorado. It is shocking how many believe they can commit fraud with impunity. The voter registration drive in this expat enclave where I live is run by the Democrats Abroad group that is supposedly working to register “everyone” – a real non-partisan event. As if anyone believes that. Every opinion piece this group writes for the local expat advertising rag is pure vitriol and hatred for any and all things traditional (mom (and dad), baseball, apple pie, the constitution). I wouldn’t trust them with my voter registration. They are congenitally amoral and feel intellectually superior because they commit fraud in support of a higher purpose. Destroying the country.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Well said, as always, Bonnie. Don’t you fear for your life over there? No? Same for me over here where the collectivist-clear thinker ratio is about what it is over there. Clear thinkers outnumbered. Actually, I signed on with that group of yours a few years ago, and received some useful info on absentee voting which I took advantage of to vote contrary to what they would have liked. I haven’t heard anything from them of late, however.

      Like

    2. I imagine I’ll be hearing from them when the presidential election draws near. I use my real name with them and a different email address. They no doubt believe they are helping a kindred spirit.

      Like

  7. I write an online restaurant guide for this area and recently reviewed a nice little restaurant that uses its profits to fund projects that train single, indigent mothers in skills to help them become self sufficient. The food is quite good and the atmosphere very pleasant, and I said as much while also disclosing that the profits are used to fund a worthy cause. I think training women in skills they need to support themselves and their children is a worthy cause, I don’t care who is running the program.

    I got an angry comment from one of the old cacklers who sits on her computer, critiquing every comment on every expat forum, warning people away because the restaurant is run by “churches” that may promote their values.

    There is a group here that is so full of hatred that they attack any opinion or project that involves conservatives or people or faith. Someone who would deny poor women assistance because it comes from “churches” fits pretty closely with my definition of evil.

    We plan to check out Guanajuato next week, our first visit. I love this area, but I have read that Guanajuato has fewer expats, which actually appeals to me. At least there will be a smaller concentration of evil.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Bonnie: “Old cacklers.” I love that.

      Of course, Guanajuato has fewer Gringos. At least per square foot. Where you are is ground zero for Gringos, rivaled only by San Miguel. Guanajuato is nice. Quite hilly. Streets go willy-nilly and the underground highway, for me at least, is a nightmare. I really do not like driving in Guanajuato at all, but it likely is just because I am not sufficiently familiar with it. Been there three or four times. It’s a very pretty place. European-esque. And there are always the mummies.

      Move over to my town. You would immediately improve the place.

      Like

  8. We all know that the fight against voter ID is because it will harm the Democrat vote fraud efforts. Just like voting machines where you vote Republican and a Democrat vote comes out. There is good reason I refer to the Democrats as the evil party. Alas, the Stupid party does not seem to serve as a good counterbalance to evil.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wesmouch: Evil versus Stupid. I like that. There is certainly enough stupidity on the Republican side. They get outmaneuvered and outsmarted on a regular basis. I attribute this to their being basically nicer people. It is where Christians hang out more often than they hang out on the other side of the party line. Of course, Christians often do not practice what they preach, but at least they do profess a moral code, which is more than the other side normally does.

      I have long noted that NDP (New Democrat Party) followers are fond of calling Republicans evil. Literally. I find this ironic. On the other hand, your typical Republican does not consider the NDP people evil. They are considered wrong-headed and misguided. If you scan comments on, for instance, Huffpost you will see the GOP called evil quite often.

      I see the most evil in the NDP. The most hardcore cases, the real left-wingers, are the same sort of folks who ship opposite opinions — and those who hold them — to the gulags.

      Like

  9. Well, so far we have been visited three times by “ballot harvesters” that collect ballots and supposedly mail or turn them in. They go door to door collecting them. I didn’t think such a thing would be legal, but I guess it is. They seem to be getting away with it.
    Considering that most of my neighbors have immigrated to this country in an informal manner, they seem to have a tidy sum of ballots.
    This election isn’t about ideas and plans for the future, it is about stealing the vote.

    Like

  10. http://www.azcentral.com/story/dougmaceachern/2014/10/24/ballot-arizona-activists-harvesters/17795659/
    Now I see that society is so divided on issues. My Anglo friends feel put upon by illegal immigrants, but my undocumented neighbors feel they have a right to vote and use the social welfare system. I asked them “do you pay taxes?” and they reply that they do, every time they buy something. But that is local sales taxes; these people have no idea of the Hell the IRS can and will put people through.
    This will not end well.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.