Weekend wrap-up

IT’S BEEN a long time since the last Odds & Ends post:

1. I’ve abandoned my Facebook page. As so many people ahead of me have noticed, it’s a real time-waster. It’s the second time I have abandoned it, but I think it will stick this go-around. Perhaps now I’ll use my Twitter account more (under my real name), but I need to learn to be pithy.

2. I’ve started an album in my SlickPic website that will be devoted to almost daily photos of the storefront construction here at the Hacienda. When we built the Hacienda’s residence back in 2002-2003, I took scads of digital photos. One day, after it was all done, my hard drive committed suicide. Everything was lost.

odds__endsYes, I should have backed it up somewhere. In some areas, I am an ignoramus.

Mexican construction is very interesting and — in many respects — quite different than how it’s done north of the Rio Bravo. I was fascinated by the process, especially the use of tree trunks to hold up the ceilings until the cement dries. Of course, there are no crawl spaces or even basements, nor empty spaces in the walls where you can blow insulation. It’s solid brick and concrete.

3. You may have heard of the conflict in the state of Guerrero where a bunch of radical students (almost an oxymoron here) met up with a bunch of men with guns, some in police uniforms. There was gunfire, a few deaths on the students’ side, and 43 of the students were hauled off somewhere, presumably dead now.

It’s hard to pick the good guys because there aren’t any. The state of Guerrero has long had a particularly severe corruption problem, and that includes — obviously — part of the police.

But the students have long had a sour reputation too. They are called Normalistas, due to the type of school they attend, which are named Normal Schools, and they turn out uniformly left-wing teachers.

The student teachers are given to blocking highways and streets. (Pick your radical issue.) Generally, they have made an horrendous nuisance of themselves all over the nation for years. To get an idea of the “education” they receive, see this YouTube video. Note Karl Marx, Che Guevara and lots of raised fists.

This is particularly true in my neck of the Mexican woods, so I am not sympathetic. At times, when a gang of these youngsters want to go en masse somewhere to stir up trouble, they simply stop buses on the highways, kick the passengers out, and off they go, free bus ride. Cops usually no nothing.

Since thuggish President Gustavo Diáz Ordaz ordered  the Tlatelolco Massacre in 1968, which severely backfired on his administration, students have been given mostly free rein all over Mexico. They have become as most children become without parental discipline: spoiled brats. Spankings are long overdue.

Think billy clubs and tear gas because these are older children, far past puberty.

Perhaps some judiciously applied billy clubs and tear gas years ago would have prevented what has happened in the state of Guerrero. I think so. In the meantime, God knows where those 43 kids are.

4. It’s Saturday, which means we’ll be downtown this afternoon selling my wife’s pastries out of the wicker basket. There are some new items on the menu, especially quiche with caramelized onions. Two weeks ago, we sold out completely — about 40 items — in 30 minutes. Last week, all was gone in 40 minutes.

So, don’t show up late. That’s my advice.

17 thoughts on “Weekend wrap-up”

  1. Billy clubs and tear gas are probably fine if the authorities would even use them to disperse blockades. But firing squads seem a bit extreme. The students and teachers are blockading roads because the authorities are allowing it. Freedom of assembly is a guaranteed right but not at the expense of depriving others of the freedom of movement.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. At the Independence Day desfile, across the street from where we were sitting to view the parade, about 8 obviously North American women came out of the Inn where they are staying and held up handwritten signs with “43” on them. They were holding these up as the parade of – mostly – preschool and elementary students marched by. It made me angry that these pudgy, pasty, privileged old American women would intrude on something that is none of their business. If they want to protest, they should go to Ferguson, Missouri (except it is safer to protest here and the weather is better). And the inappropriateness of “protesting” to these innocent little children made me want to wring their necks. Maybe I will have to move after all – this is high season and I can barely tolerate the tourists, AND, I am afraid I will be mistaken for one of them by the locals.

      Like

      1. Those elders are flirting with deportation. See Article 9 of the Constitution of 1917 which prohibits foreigners from involvement in Mexican politics. The jurisprudence indicates the President can deport without cause. ¡Qué estupido!

        Like

  2. Sold out in 40 minutes only means one thing. The price is too low. Time to raise it a peso or two.
    The only positive thing I have ever experienced is when the Normalistas take over a caseta or two. Otherwise, they are a pain in the butt.

    My opinion is that if they steal a bus, they should be treated as criminals — end of subject.

    What is the target date for the storefront? A nice gentleman’s bar would be a good tenant, close to the motel, close to the road, perfect. On second thought, perhaps not.

    Like

    1. Tancho: Her prices are relatively low, or “economical,” as the locals say. But she wants to sell everything every Saturday and thinks that if she raises prices that may not happen so often. Normally, she sells everything before the usual coming-home time about 7:30. If one or two items are left over, I usually buy them and eat them or, more often, give them away. But she sells everything most of the time. The two concurrent, recent weekends in which all was sold in, first, 30 minutes and then 40 minutes was a stroke of good fortune. It’s happened only once before in the 3-4 years she’s been at it.

      To me, the Normalistas are a pain in the butt even when they take over toll booths. It runs counter to the notion of a civil society.

      The honcho said the storefront will take 4-6 weeks, so that means six weeks if we’re lucky. A gentlemen’s bar? No, but sex shop would be a good idea … maybe. We just today thought of a store that sells “ropa de paca.” You know what that is? Used clothing bought in bulk from the United States. There are lots of middle men who deal in that. It can be quite profitable, I hear.

      What we likely will do with the storefront in the foreseeable future is absolutely nothing.

      Like

  3. The 43 Guerrero college students were guilty of gross stupidity for committing suicide with the help from the Guerreros Unidos cartel. Acapulco is the world’s second most violent city with a murder rate of 142 killings per 100,000 residents.

    The only thing that seems to work against the cartels are the autodefensas. Giving guns to the people for self-defense scares the government in Mexico City more than the bloodthirsty cartels. Maybe that will change.

    Like

  4. I really don’t know what to think about all of this, but my better half, who is from México City, does not agree with what you all are saying about the issue in Ayotzinapa.

    I, on the other hand, am from and live in Missouri, and all I can say about the Ferguson issue is, “It’s black and white.” Not a handful, but almost all protesters are rioting, looting, setting things on fire and making a mess of their own town. There have been several arrests every night for over a week as they wait for the decision of the Grand Jury and some of those people who have been arrested are from Chicago, New York etc. The government has brought in the National Guard, the Department of Homeland Security and who knows what other organization? The town people are boarding up their businesses, workers have barricaded police headquarters and other government buildings and people are saying they feel like they are preparing for a hurricane. This is when I think billy clubs and tear gas because these are older children (many who are armed), far past puberty who are causing the uproar, not only in Ferguson, but in other areas of the country as well.

    Like

    1. Cat: I don’t see much connection between the foolishness in Ferguson and the foolishness that occurred in Ayotzinapa. I do see a need for tear gas and billy clubs against both the Normalistas and black rioters in the United States. Some people only start to see clearly after a baton has landed upside their noggins.

      It can be quite eye-opening, I imagine.

      Like

  5. Sorry you are no longer on Facebook, although I have thought about abandoning mine as well. I do not do Twitter, so I will continue to follow you here.

    Like

    1. Connie: Facebook may eventually cause the downfall of Western Civilization. It is such a colossal waste of time. I have, as noted, now abandoned it twice. If I crank it up again, please tell someone to shoot me.

      I’ve had a Twitter account for three years under my real name. It is pretty much a time-waster too. Luckily, I have not been sucked into it much due to not being particularly pithy, and you gotta be pithy, and not understanding well what all those @ and # signs are about. And I don’t want anybody to explain them to me either, please. The Moon posts do go there automatically, however.

      Like

  6. You are a riot! I pretty much agree with everything you just said. Actually, most of my friends that I actually see and speak with are not even on Facebook. So, there you go.

    We can always keep up via email.

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.