Night oxygen

starsOFTEN I AWAKE, usually temporarily, about 5 a.m. or so.

If I’m on my side, I turn to face up. If sufficiently awake, I take a deep breath. No matter the month, the air will be cool to cold at 5 a.m. And the air is remarkable, nice.

There is no central air at the Hacienda, of course. It’s pure mountain air. It is clean. There is no heavy industry here or anywhere hereabouts. Virtually none down the mountain at the capital city either. The air here is how the Goddess made it. It smells real good.

Here is another thing:  We see stars. I never saw stars in Houston, of course. Not a prayer. I remember decades back at my grandmother’s farm in Georgia, I would stand in the yard nights and oh-so-many stars. You don’t get that in big cities. Too much light competition and pollution.

If you’re out in the Hacienda yard on a cloudless night, there are stars from horizon to horizon. You spot dippers big and small. The moon is as it should be, from a sliver to full, depending on its druthers.

In Georgia, fireflies were common. They’re rather rare here, but sometimes you see them too. But it’s the air that’s particularly striking, its clarity, coolness and good smell.

15 thoughts on “Night oxygen”

  1. I woke up early before 6AM on October 8th to see the full moon and it had disappeared. I searched the sky where it should be located and discovered a faint red circle around the total lunar eclipse. The morning mountain air is quite invigorating. However, where I live it usually warms up to 70 degrees by noon, 52 weeks a year.

    Like

    1. Andrés: Where you live, I cannot imagine it ever freezes, a plus for you. However, the considerably warmer climate, though you’re not that far from me, would make your area impossible for me on a year-round basis. I have put sweating behind me forever except for our occasional jaunts to the beach.

      Like

  2. We fully appreciated our week in your neighborhood last week for those reasons among others. It’s also a reason we own a summer house in Canada 🙂

    Like

    1. Señor Mystic: Thanks for passing by. Grandma’s farm was in southwest Georgia, 500 acres between Sylvester and Albany, closer to Sylvester. It’s still there, just not ours anymore.

      Like

  3. Hi, Felipe,

    Your description of the stars made me think of nights in Bali, the countryside in Cuba and the mountains while on backpacking trips. Nothing like being out where there is no electricity (or little).

    Still enjoying life in Japan. Going to a resort in the mountains in Malaysia over the holidays — I hope to get some good views of the stars there. I’ll think of you when I do.

    Happy Thanksgiving!

    Tersa in Nagoya

    Like

    1. Teresa: Malaysia, eh? You fortunate woman. Send me a postcard because it’s the closest I’ll ever get to Malaysia. And Happy Thanksgiving to you too, although there’s no Thanksgiving in Mexico except where Gringos recreate it. I am not among their number.

      Like

Comments are closed.