Mardi Gras Mexicano

carnival

I LIVED 18 YEARS in New Orleans, which is a lot of Mardi Gras beads, raw oysters and Dixie beer.

Fact is that I’ve seen enough of Mardi Gras. I’m weary of it, but here I am living in the most Carnival-crazy neighborhood of my Mexican mountaintop town.

We don’t have parades that rival the Krewes of Louisiana, of course, but gangs of kids and grownups dress up and move through the streets, sometimes accompanied by trombones and tubas. And, of course, explosions because Mexicans never overlook an opportunity to light a fuse.

And there are huge concerts on the plaza a block and a half away. Every year there’s a concert Saturday night, Sunday night, Monday night, Tuesday night and one year, sacrilegiously, on Ash Wednesday night too. They just could not put a brake to it. They were too jazzed up.

I opened our front gate this morning to let a plumber in, and I found not just the plumber but this group of boys passing by. I had them pose for a photo, so I could share with you.

I am a sharing sort of fellow.

12 thoughts on “Mardi Gras Mexicano”

  1. Looks like some of the ghouls we see around here on Halloween. Don’t ya just love the way the Mexican niños are always ready to pose for a pic? 😉

    Thanks for sharing the photo! 🙂 Do you have it in color?

    Like

    1. Cat: This was the first time I had ever asked a bunch of kids to pose, and you are right. They were posing in a nanosecond. They also asked for money after I snapped it. Had there been one or two, I might have slipped them a bit, but there were way too many, so I begged off.

      Yes, I do have it in color, but everybody does color, so I did B&W just to be contrary.

      Like

  2. I will never have enough oysters, especially if they are char-broiled. I tired of Mardi Gras a long time ago. However, there’s always next year. I think I may go to the Krewe d’Etat next year which has not been commercialized. It looks like fun. They make fun of everybody with very cleverly constructed floats and signs.

    Like

    1. Laurie: I had truly wearied of Carnival by the time I left New Orleans. I do not miss it. It was always best — for me at least — when boozed up anyway. And I don’t do that anymore. And I too will never tire of oysters, but I have abandoned raw ones. I just don’t trust them anymore. Kind of moot because I don’t see oysters in my part of Mexico anyway. One of many culinary items I have lost due to moving to where I have moved. Alas.

      The Krewe d’Etat? Never heard of them, but then I left N.O. over 30 years ago.

      Like

      1. Raw oysters, and a couple of cooked oyster dishes are on the menu at my favorite seafood place. I never eat them, either. (I have had the Pata de Mula, little inky black molluscs at that restaurant. They came on a seafood salad.)

        I was very ill for weeks after eating a raw oyster cocktail in Tuxpan, Veracruz, in 1980. The opening night performance, shall I say, was epic. I admit, there may have been other factors involved in that illness.
        Saludos,
        Don Cuevas

        Like

        1. Don Cuevas: It’ll be the proverbial cool day in Hell when I eat another raw oyster. I’ve never been sickened by one, and I intend to maintain that clean record. Pity because I did love downing those yucky little slimy suckers back in the olden days, accompanied by Dixie beer.

          Like

  3. In San Pedro, Belize, they take to attacking each other with various colors (washable hopefully) and it’s a terrible mess. Best to stay behind locked doors.

    Like

      1. Judy: Beats me. I know nothing of the Hindi festival, but I’ll take your word for it. The Hindi festival would have to be quite noisy, however. We had to sleep yet again with our silicone earplugs last night.

        Like

Comments are closed.